PDA

View Full Version : Vodafone Crap



Roger Hunt
09-07-2009, 10:11 PM
When I am on this site and go from page to page the server resets and drops me off the internet.I use Vodafone mobile connect.Its full wireless and slow as. Sometimes when updating Windows Defender or AVG it dumps me as well but usually its when on Firefox or Thunderbird. Vodafone's answer is to offer to cancel my contract without me having to pay the $500 finishing fee. This is not how to fix problems so can anyone help me with some real answers. Vodafone did offer me a better modem if I resign with them for another 2 years and there's 2 problems with that 1 I should already have the best they can do for me and 2 I have terminal Hodgkin's and don't have 2 years left to give anyone. Help please and don't be offended if I take some time to answer as with my connection its a bit hit and miss getting on line.

Speedy Gonzales
09-07-2009, 10:43 PM
Well get rid of both of those for a start. Theyre both hopeless. Thats probably why its wireless. Wireless isnt exactly the most reliable way to connect to the net. So you use mobile wireless and connect using wireless for a desktop / laptop as well? Why youre using AVG and WD?

Roger Hunt
09-07-2009, 10:51 PM
Where I live or should I say how I live dictates my connection. I live in a caravan and use a laptop for everything. Watching movies mainly but do use email and web searching spend a lot of time on forums like after dawn and dvd videosoft etc. This problem has got worse in the last 3 months.I use a Merlin xu870 express card to connect with

Speedy Gonzales
09-07-2009, 11:16 PM
You could try another aerial?? It may make the connection better. It looks like it can flashed with firmware. Is it up to date?

Roger Hunt
10-07-2009, 02:00 PM
latest software and firmware signal meter says excellent. Some time I can get to two or three pages open (not at the same time)on this site before being dumped. I get the error message "you have lost your connection to the internet the server was reset while negotiating a page,Try again" I then have to exit Vodafone and start again.Any ideas on anything I can do or do I need to wait for Vodafone to fix it. Have done a route trace and the server in Riddiford Street Newtown is the one that keeps dumping me.

Speedy Gonzales
10-07-2009, 02:03 PM
Do you use this in or outside the caravan?? If in, try using it outside, see if it makes a diff

Chilling_Silence
10-07-2009, 02:12 PM
Things have got progressively worse the last 2-3 months, but overall it wasnt too bad when using my iPhone to tether with the laptop whilst away on the recent honeymoon. Yes, it does drop off a lot more than it should though.

Basically you're receiving a sub-standard service, so provided you've done all you can to rectify the situation with the provider, you *should* be able to cancel and not pay the disconnection fees, claiming you're covered under the consumer gaurantees act and stuff like that ...

Roger Hunt
10-07-2009, 02:12 PM
sorry just got dumped again same outside as in have had strange stuff going on only been like this for about 3 months removed short cut arrows from desktop and my games explorer stopped working. Vista service pack 2 when installed stopped my search function from working on all pages. I removed both programs but I had run the cleanup tool that came with sp2 maybe something was in there that I needed as about 20 gig went with it.

Roger Hunt
10-07-2009, 02:16 PM
chilling silence tried to go to the link on the bottom of your post said "page not found"

Chilling_Silence
10-07-2009, 02:36 PM
Try setting your DNS Servers on the 3G connection to:
208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

Chilling_Silence
10-07-2009, 02:36 PM
Try setting your DNS Servers on the 3G connection to:
208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220

Roger Hunt
10-07-2009, 02:41 PM
I saw that in PC World a couple of months ago tried it then will try it again see if it helps. Ta

Chilling_Silence
10-07-2009, 02:47 PM
This link may help: https://www.opendns.com/start/device/windows-vista

Roger Hunt
10-07-2009, 03:41 PM
when I try to reset my DNS to that it changes back to the Vodafone crap tried 3 times now even checked with the article on Windows Secrets to see if I was doing it ok. seams I was but no joy

Roger Hunt
10-07-2009, 04:12 PM
I have to stop trying now or my computer is going to end up splattered up the wall. Last time it cost me a new hard drive and operating system and I didn't chuck it then but I feel like it now.

pctek
10-07-2009, 06:36 PM
I use Vodafone mobile connect.Its full wireless and slow as. Sometimes when updating Windows Defender or AVG it dumps me as well but usually its when on Firefox or Thunderbird.

Vodafone's answer is to offer to cancel my contract without me having to pay the $500 finishing fee.

Hmm. I 'd take their offer of escaping.
How about using Woosh or something instead?

The other thing I'd dump is Windows Defender, its as useless as Nortons. Worse even, Nortons at least pretends.
Get Spybot and Malware Bytes and scan for spyware. That won't help the situation either if you only have AVG and nothing else.

Roger Hunt
10-07-2009, 08:20 PM
I have AVG8.5, Malwarebytes Anti-malware,Windows Defender,
F Secure Blacklight,and use Trend Micro Housecall 65. I have also used with Spy-bot and Avira Antivir. The only thing found was a crack found by Trend Micro and I knew it was there.Still unable to change my DNS to 208.67.222.222 and 208.67.220.220

mikebartnz
11-07-2009, 02:42 PM
Try setting your DNS Servers on the 3G connection to:
208.67.222.222
208.67.220.220
Marriage given you the DT's chill.:clap

Chilling_Silence
11-07-2009, 02:49 PM
DT's?

mikebartnz
11-07-2009, 07:07 PM
DT's?
You posted twice. The DT's are the shakes you may get after a hard night on the plonk.

Sue
12-07-2009, 10:06 AM
It may be an idea to check out Telecom XT Mobile broadband, bit more expensive than Vodafone but you can use prepay with it. The Telecom outlets let you try before you buy. I have just changed from Vodafone 3Gb mobile to Telecom XT 3Gb. (Mobile home)

A new Black Vodafone vodem Should work better than the card as the card cannot pick up the new Vodafone 3G extended.
Best..