PDA

View Full Version : freeview



bigjasonmannor
01-07-2009, 05:17 PM
Who likes freeview

Gobe1
01-07-2009, 05:23 PM
No, they suck cause i live in New Plymouth, and we dont have enough population to get Freeview HD.
Other than that they are ok, so 50/50 from me

EDIT: i liked C4 tho and i do miss it now i dont have Freeview, I dont want to start another debate but it urks me they cant get Prime on there, maybe one day

wratterus
01-07-2009, 05:25 PM
No, they suck cause i live in New Plymouth, and we dont have enough population to get Freeview HD.
Other than that they are ok, so 50/50 from me

Same in Nelson. However the DVB-S is great, way better quality than Sky on the same channels.

CYaBro
01-07-2009, 05:38 PM
Same in Nelson. However the DVB-S is great, way better quality than Sky on the same channels.

Same here in Whangarei/Northland.
Use the DVB-S option and it is tons better than analogue TV and quite a bit better than standard Sky Digital as well.

nofam
01-07-2009, 05:49 PM
Have Freeview HD and it's mint - would never go back to SD tv now.

:D

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2009, 05:56 PM
Its good on this, since it was cheap ($99 USB tuner). Stuffed if I'm spending over $200 for terrestrial, or $199 + for the dish as well, for satellite. The mini aerial for this is better than the outside aerial !

pine-o-cleen
01-07-2009, 05:58 PM
As a side note to this thread, I tuned in a Topfield STB for a client last week and managed to get 2 aussie channels. Channel 10 and 'Darwin TV'.

bigjasonmannor
01-07-2009, 06:00 PM
Its good on this, since it was cheap ($99 USB tuner). Stuffed if I'm spending over $200 for terrestrial, or $199 + the dish for satellite. The mini aerial for this is better than the outside aerial !

Hey what place did you get that $99 USB tv tuner, cos I wanna get one

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2009, 06:10 PM
Mt Eden / 10 mins walk from where I live

stu161204
01-07-2009, 06:15 PM
Freeview is Good :), Can get HD, The only thing is itís hard to tell whatís true HD & what is upscale HD :illogical (And its sucks that TVNZ is only 720p, while tv3 is 1080i :stare:)

We just got a satellite, and weíve just been getting that all set-up under our media centre computer, so we can get terrestrial & satellite :D


As a side note to this thread, I tuned in a Topfield STB for a client last week and managed to get 2 aussie channels. Channel 10 and 'Darwin TV'.

Though the satellite you can find a lot of the aussie channels, but you wont get any picture.

davidmmac
01-07-2009, 07:14 PM
I like freeview :).

I was watching a replay of Wimbledon last night on TVNZ Sports Extra (now thats something you don't get on Sky ;)).

Pros: Great picture/HD, EPG, works easily enough on a PC :).

Cons: My EPG takes a while (about 3-5 secounds) to load each channel, No Prime :(.

ubergeek85
01-07-2009, 07:17 PM
Cons: My EPG takes a while (about 3-5 secounds) to load each channel

Yeah, that's MHEG5. They should run the EIT epg alongside for more than now/next.

pine-o-cleen
01-07-2009, 07:26 PM
...

Though the satellite you can find a lot of the aussie channels, but you wont get any picture.

I beg to differ! 2 channels coming through as clear as a bell.

Blam
01-07-2009, 07:42 PM
Freeview is Good :), Can get HD, The only thing is itís hard to tell whatís true HD & what is upscale HD :illogical (And its sucks that TVNZ is only 720p, while tv3 is 1080i :stare:)


720p essentially looks the same as 1080i.

Trev
01-07-2009, 07:46 PM
720p essentially looks the same as 1080i.
Yes I can't see any difference. Use to watch all the NZ channels on Sky but now that I have Freeview HD I don't anymore, except Prime as most of you know why.
:)

davidmmac
01-07-2009, 07:55 PM
I beg to differ! 2 channels coming through as clear as a bell.

Was it a DVB-T or DVB-S STB?

Blam
01-07-2009, 08:03 PM
Yes I can't see any difference. Use to watch all the NZ channels on Sky but now that I have Freeview HD I don't anymore, except Prime as most of you know why.
:)

I'm not going to go into a massive rant explaining the differences between progressive and interlaced, but you can only see the difference between 720p and 1080i when you're watching sports or fast paced scenes. In 1080i the image will have visual artifacts and ghosting.

davidmmac
01-07-2009, 08:26 PM
I'm not going to go into a massive rant explaining the differences between progressive and interlaced, but you can only see the difference between 720p and 1080i when you're watching sports or fast paced scenes. In 1080i the image will have visual artifacts and ghosting.

Theres an article here (http://techdigs.net/content/view/53/42/)on what the difference is for those who are interested :).

pine-o-cleen
01-07-2009, 10:07 PM
Was it a DVB-T or DVB-S STB?
DVB-S.

AvonBill
01-07-2009, 11:38 PM
Just finished watching Prisonbreak on 40" of series 6 Samsung full HD 100Hz goodness; it looked just fantastic. I never thought for a moment before I had it, that broadcast television could look so good. Bring on the blue ray player (at a reasonable price).

tut
05-07-2009, 11:41 AM
Freeview is great compared the reception I had before but oh the repeats.
Surprised no one else has mentioned this.

In some cases it is good to be able to catch programs one missed but over all I feel that there are just too many. The second decoder I bought of Trademe for $95 seems to pick up more channels especially radio and I use the record fucntion to a flashdrive regularly.

pine-o-cleen
05-07-2009, 02:42 PM
Freeview is great compared the reception I had before but oh the repeats.
Surprised no one else has mentioned this.

In some cases it is good to be able to catch programs one missed but over all I feel that there are just too many. The second decoder I bought of Trademe for $95 seems to pick up more channels especially radio and I use the record fucntion to a flashdrive regularly.
Repeats? Are you talking about TV3 Plus One? If you are then, this is the point! It repeats everything one hour behind.

tut
05-07-2009, 05:01 PM
No, I think the TV3 one hour behind is good. I am talking about Stratos, Cue and TV7 mainly.
But all the others are guilty too. I guess you would have to watch a fair bit of TV to notice. At this time I am, not through choice though.

Speedy Gonzales
05-07-2009, 05:08 PM
Well I dont get the 1st 2 here in Auckland. Havent really watched TV7 that much to notice

Metla
05-07-2009, 05:31 PM
Reception, picture and audio quality is sweet. Good to get the music channel.

Overall though the content is just utter rubbish right across the lot of them.

robbyp
05-07-2009, 06:30 PM
Freeview is great compared the reception I had before but oh the repeats.
Surprised no one else has mentioned this.

In some cases it is good to be able to catch programs one missed but over all I feel that there are just too many. The second decoder I bought of Trademe for $95 seems to pick up more channels especially radio and I use the record fucntion to a flashdrive regularly.

What model did you get that records it to a flash drive?

Blam
05-07-2009, 06:42 PM
Probably the Digistar 811U

Just bought one on TM, waiting for it to arrive

tut
05-07-2009, 07:16 PM
What model did you get that records it to a flash drive?

DIGISTAR DSS--811U.

Records to external hard drive too.

Bought off Trademe.

Blam
05-07-2009, 07:24 PM
Does it do live pause?

Misty
05-07-2009, 07:55 PM
Mrs Misty loves it ... ..and I am glad that we have it. No regrets. We would not use Sky enough to justify having it. We have good books too, to read, fairly frequently.

My guess is that it depends a bit on your age as to whether you would like Freeview.
Misty :D :D

pine-o-cleen
05-07-2009, 08:41 PM
I'd love to have Sky, but it's seriously overpriced. There's no way I'm paying that to watch TV.

gary67
05-07-2009, 08:58 PM
Does it do live pause?

Don't be daft it's a dirt cheap freeview box you can pause the recorded stuff during playback only

Blam
05-07-2009, 09:08 PM
Well if it can record then live pause is the same thing really, just implemented in a different way if you think about it.

Metla
05-07-2009, 09:14 PM
Does it do live pause?

Yep, Its got time shift recording.

Blam
05-07-2009, 09:47 PM
Yep, Its got time shift recording.

Wicked:D

Metla
05-07-2009, 09:51 PM
Mine locks up when you try that feature.

And just tonight its failed to detect any usb devices.:banana

Blam
05-07-2009, 10:06 PM
firmware update?

Strommer
06-07-2009, 09:54 AM
Theres an article here (http://techdigs.net/content/view/53/42/)on what the difference is for those who are interested :).

"The problem with 1080i is that despite having more total lines, it generally doesn't look as good as 720p. This is especially true for high-motion video such as sports."

Really? Hope so, since 720 sets are cheaper.