PDA

View Full Version : Firefox 3.5 is here!



CYaBro
01-07-2009, 09:11 AM
Get yours here. (http://www.mozilla.com/en-US/firefox/all.html)

wratterus
01-07-2009, 09:33 AM
Excellent way to start the month. :D

Just got it via FF's built in updater, aero fox isn't compatible though. :(

Rob99
01-07-2009, 10:19 AM
It seems faster with Gmail, :cool:

wratterus
01-07-2009, 10:24 AM
http://i.zdnet.com/blogs/firefox35.jpg

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2009, 10:28 AM
Pity it doesnt ask to save the username / password in here. Like it did for 3.0.11

bk T
01-07-2009, 10:54 AM
btw, should I download the English (British) or English (US) ver?

babip
01-07-2009, 11:02 AM
English (US)

jwil1
01-07-2009, 11:02 AM
Pity it doesnt ask to save the username / password in here. Like it did for 3.0.11

You can ask vBulletin to save your username and password for you :)

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2009, 11:16 AM
If you uninstall the previous version (and keep settings), then install 3.5 its fine. BUT, if you uninstall the previous and its folders, then install 3.5 it doesnt work

bk T
01-07-2009, 01:25 PM
English (US)

Any special reasons for choosing English (US) rather than English (British)?

What are the differences between the 2, other than the US spellings? I thought in NZ, we are following the British?

smithie 38
01-07-2009, 01:27 PM
Is it recommended you uninstall the previous version first, or can you simply download V3.5 and install it over the top of the current version??

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2009, 01:27 PM
I thought in NZ, we are following the British?

Guess you thought wrong. Makes no diff to me, what I use.

GameJunkie
01-07-2009, 01:33 PM
Is it recommended you uninstall the previous version first, or can you simply download V3.5 and install it over the top of the current version??

it should come through on the auto update, i got mine set to download and install

wainuitech
01-07-2009, 01:34 PM
I wont be "updating" to soon - I lose just about all my themes, and addins -- this is the ONE thing that pisses me off about firefox- every update is not backward compatible with the previous. :mad:

wratterus
01-07-2009, 01:37 PM
Yep this update is quite bad too - browsing through themes/addons on the site 9 out of 10 are not compatible yet. Give it a few weeks, updates will come out.

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2009, 01:45 PM
Well it looks like you cant do a clean install of 3.5 (if no previous version was installed - thats if you want to save usernames / passwords). Because it doesnt work. And it looks like (even if you uninstall the old version / keep the settings, then install 3.5, whatever sites you've got passwords for (from the old version of FF will work). New ones dont work

mikebartnz
01-07-2009, 01:46 PM
Is it recommended you uninstall the previous version first, or can you simply download V3.5 and install it over the top of the current version??
In Linux I rename the old directory Firefox was installed in then copy from the compressed file using the previous directory name and alls done. This reminds me of one of the nice things about the old DOS programs where you delete the directory where the program resides and it is totally gone. No spreading files from one end of the HD to the other.

roddy_boy
01-07-2009, 01:46 PM
Any special reasons for choosing English (US) rather than English (British)?

What are the differences between the 2, other than the US spellings? I thought in NZ, we are following the British?

Definitely use British. It's just the spelling, I don't know why those other fruits want to spell things wrong.

Rob99
01-07-2009, 01:54 PM
I just used the updater, all my settings have stayed the same.
Passwords still remembered.
All extensions work I only had to update 2 of them, well firefox offered the update and I clicked yes.

johcar
01-07-2009, 02:09 PM
I just used the updater, all my settings have stayed the same.
Passwords still remembered.
All extensions work I only had to update 2 of them, well firefox offered the update and I clicked yes.

Ditto. Only three add-ons and one theme don't have updates - but I'm sure that situation will change in the next few weeks. If it doesn't, I'll find replacements...

Chilling_Silence
01-07-2009, 02:42 PM
I've grabbed it, will give it a whirl later tonight, in the mean time Im stoaked with the speed of Chrome 2 Beta!

paulw
01-07-2009, 02:50 PM
Any special reasons for choosing English (US) rather than English (British)?

What are the differences between the 2, other than the US spellings? I thought in NZ, we are following the British?
Only in the way we vote for TV programs. i.e pay..

zqwerty
01-07-2009, 03:23 PM
If you use:

MR Tech Toolkit 6.0.3.3: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/

and:

Nightly Tester Tools 2.0.2: http://www.oxymoronical.com/web/firefox/nightly

then with a bit of persistence you can get all the following add-ons working perfectly.

Generated: Wed Jul 01 2009 14:21:09 GMT+1200 (New Zealand Standard Time)
User Agent: Mozilla/5.0 (Windows; U; Windows NT 5.1; en-US; rv:1.9.1) Gecko/20090624 Firefox/3.5
Build ID: 20090624025744

Enabled Extensions: [36]
- Aardvark 2.97: http://karmatics.com/aardvark/
- Adblock Plus 1.0.2: http://adblockplus.org/
- Adblock Plus: Element Hiding Helper 1.0.5: http://adblockplus.org/
- Advanced Dork: 2.3.3.5: http://tankedgenius.com/cp/advanceddork/
- Auto Copy 0.9.7: http://autocopy.mozdev.org
- CoLT 2.4.4: http://www.borngeek.com/firefox/colt/
- CookieCuller 1.3.1: http://cookieculler.mozdev.org/
- Copy Links 0.1.6: http://ku.myftp.org/
- Copy Plain Text 0.3.3: http://mozmonkey.com/
- Download Statusbar 0.9.6.5: http://downloadstatusbar.mozdev.org/
- Fasterfox 3.0.4: https://addons.mozilla.org/en-US/firefox/addon/9037
- Favicon Picker 3 0.5: http://www.google.com/search?q=Firefox%20Favicon%20Picker%203
- FaviconizeTab 0.9.8.2: http://espion.just-size.jp/archives/06/308085916.html
- FEBE 6.1: http://customsoftwareconsult.com/extensions
- Finjan Secure Browsing 1.314: http://www.finjan.com
- Greasemonkey 0.8.20090123.1: http://www.greasespot.net/
- Image-Show-Hide 0.2: http://imageshowhide.mozdev.org/
- Morning Coffee 1.33: http://www.shaneliesegang.com/misc/coffee.php
- MR Tech Toolkit 6.0.3.3: http://www.mrtech.com/extensions/
- Netscape Link Pad 1.6.1: http://www.idusk.net/mozilla
- Nightly Tester Tools 2.0.2: http://www.oxymoronical.com/web/firefox/nightly
- No Tooltip Timeout 1.0: http://extensions.geckozone.org/NoTooltipTimeout
- NoScript 1.9.5: http://noscript.net
- Nuke Anything Enhanced 0.68.2: http://www.google.com/search?q=Firefox%20Nuke%20Anything%20Enhanced
- Open link in... 1.6: http://forums.mozillazine.org/viewtopic.php?t=118365
- Password Exporter 1.1: http://passwordexporter.fligtar.com
- Paste and Go 2 0.8: http://pasteandgo2.mozdev.org/
- Resizeable Textarea 0.1d: http://www.google.com/search?q=Firefox%20Resizeable%20Textarea
- Sage 1.4.2: http://sage.mozdev.org
- SearchLoad Options 0.5.7: http://www.google.com/search?q=Firefox%20SearchLoad%20Options
- Show Image 0.4.2: http://showimage.mozdev.org/
- SkipScreen 0.1.05262009: http://skipscreen.com/
- Speed Dial 0.9.0.8: http://speeddial.uworks.net/
- Stylish 1.0.3: http://userstyles.org/
- Super DragAndGo 0.2.6: http://morphis.eu.org/
- TinyUrl Creator 1.0.5: http://mozmonkey.com/

Installed Themes: [2]
- Default: http://www.mozilla.org/
- PitchDark 3.0.4: http://thebankshow.com/projects/pitchdark

Installed Plugins: (5)
- Adobe Acrobat
- Java Plug-in
- Microsoft® DRM
- Mozilla Default Plug-in
- Windows Media Player Plug-in Dynamic Link Library

bigjasonmannor
01-07-2009, 06:57 PM
I dont really like Fire fox I prefer Internet Explorer or Google Chrome

--Wolf--
01-07-2009, 07:39 PM
Wow I'm really impressed with the speed.

Speedy Gonzales
01-07-2009, 07:44 PM
Must have done something wrong before, now it saves passwords.

Adblock / flashblock work fine. Didnt have to install anything else to get them to work. Thats all I use

PCT Joe
01-07-2009, 08:22 PM
I only just got the RC3 last night, it looked pretty good. downloaded the full version today.
Only have one problem and thats chatzilla, I have a gut feeling that this is causing my browser to crash often when using the google address bar. I'm not sure if its a well known problem but I will probably have to uninstall CZ until they can get a update for this issue.

gary67
01-07-2009, 08:24 PM
Only tab mix plus is not working for me

wainuitech
01-07-2009, 08:26 PM
Changed my mind - downloaded it into W7 - luckily the import passwords feature / plug in still works - imported 118 Logins / passwords - still got to try to find a theme close to what I had ( maybe) - but even without and ad blocking / scripts, PC world loaded up fine and fast.

PCT Joe
01-07-2009, 08:34 PM
Wainui, you even as a computer technician still use the save passwords feature?!?

I myself know about the security implications of this and therefore NEVER use it.

P.S No offence intended.

wainuitech
01-07-2009, 08:43 PM
I cant remember different 118 passwords, and thats only the ones I rarely go into , all my main vendors I know off by heart. I hardly use FF.

Just had a good laugh though - reading the new version doesn't require some plugins like Flash player - and on the very site a graphic wont load -- it wants Adobe flash player :lol:

PCT Joe
01-07-2009, 09:24 PM
I cant remember different 118 passwords, and thats only the ones I rarely go into , all my main vendors I know off by heart. I hardly use FF.

Just had a good laugh though - reading the new version doesn't require some plugins like Flash player - and on the very site a graphic wont load -- it wants Adobe flash player :lol:

Although im security conscious I don't have that many passwords, However i do have varying sets that are used depending on security risk. I.E PCW uses a low grade, Email = 20+ letter alpha numerical + symbols.

wainuitech
01-07-2009, 09:34 PM
Dont want to get off topic, but all my main ones, bank accounts , MS details, and main vendors are all from memory, I do have them written down someplace.

Just put FF 3.5 on the Vista PC - Lost the theme and some plugins - but now it looks a bit like the IE scheme -- It will do for the mean time.

Metla
01-07-2009, 09:44 PM
I use the same password for everything, Including my pressf1 account, Its password.

pcuser42
01-07-2009, 09:44 PM
I love Firefox's new icon. :wub

It certainly seems faster too. :D

PCT Joe
01-07-2009, 09:45 PM
Sure you do metla :)

I wonder whos tried to login to your account sofar?!?

Metla
01-07-2009, 09:46 PM
I'm wondering if I should log-out to make it easier for them.

mikebartnz
02-07-2009, 01:29 AM
Just had a good laugh though - reading the new version doesn't require some plugins like Flash player - and on the very site a graphic wont load -- it wants Adobe flash player :lol:
I think you must have read it incorrectly because it doesn't say you won't need the Flash player but will use HTML 5 and the OGG format will display without any plugins.

wainuitech
02-07-2009, 09:06 AM
I think you must have read it incorrectly because it doesn't say you won't need the Flash player but will use HTML 5 and the OGG format will display without any plugins.
Do i need a flash player for Firefox 3.5?
Unlike Google chrome, where the chrome flash player issue is always seen, the open formats helps in displaying the content including video and audio without a need of any additional plug-in to play them. So there is no need of a flash player for Firefox 3.5 from Here (http://www.thewwwblog.com/10-basic-mozilla-firefox-3-5-browser-tips-and-tricks.html) - and one other place on the FF site that I cant currently find when that actually wanted the Flash player plugin

mikebartnz
02-07-2009, 12:55 PM
from Here (http://www.thewwwblog.com/10-basic-mozilla-firefox-3-5-browser-tips-and-tricks.html) - and one other place on the FF site that I cant currently find when that actually wanted the Flash player plugin
That site definitely had it wrong.

roddy_boy
02-07-2009, 01:02 PM
Pull out tab into a window -
Just like in Chrome, you can make a new window from any single tab. You don’t need to copy the URL, open it in new window if its already open. Just drag the tab out of the tabs section and throw it somewhere in the content section. You would see it in a new window.

This I hate. For some reason I have a habit of refreshing pages by dragging the tab into the content section, and this now opens it in a new window.

wainuitech
02-07-2009, 01:19 PM
That site definitely had it wrong. Interestingly some sites with the content play fine on the new 3.5, other require Adobe.
Time will tell as to how many sites require adobe - looks like their "got to have Adobe Flash Player" days are starting to be numbered.

mikebartnz
02-07-2009, 01:56 PM
- looks like their "got to have Adobe Flash Player" days are starting to be numbered.
That won't be a bad thing as Flash within Linux can be a dog.
This site will (http://www.theora.org/faq/#10) tell you more about the Ogg Theora codec. The other thing is you will be able to have it react with other content of the page. I certainly hope it will catch on quickly.

zqwerty
02-07-2009, 04:27 PM
World-wide Firefox downloads:

http://downloadstats.mozilla.com/

Page 4, total NZ d/lds 16558 at this time.

Bozo
02-07-2009, 04:32 PM
Pull out tab into a window -
Just like in Chrome, you can make a new window from any single tab. You don’t need to copy the URL, open it in new window if its already open. Just drag the tab out of the tabs section and throw it somewhere in the content section. You would see it in a new window.

Finally keeping up with Opera I see... ;)

Firefox - meh - Opera is for me, although I know that you plug-in whores won't agree :D

Speedy Gonzales
02-07-2009, 04:37 PM
I'll probably get Opera 10 once its final, and use Privoxy to kill the ads etc. I'm using privoxy with FF at the mo. Since adblock isnt blocking everything in FF 3.5

smurf
02-07-2009, 05:10 PM
Coincidental, or is there a problem with Firefox 3 that is bugging me. Following downloading and installing FF 3, whenever I attempt to do a Google search from my Bookmark Toolbar, I get the dreaded couldn't find www.google.com and subsequently checking any other site yields the same response.

By rebooting, the pages load so long as I don't attempt a Google search. It is almost as though the Google search causes a disconnect to the internet. I have run Malware Bytes, Spybot and Advance System Care and nothing sinister shows.

Any thoughts???? Suggestions??? Note: prior to downloading and installing FF3....all was fine

Bozo
02-07-2009, 05:21 PM
I'll probably get Opera 10 once its final, and use Privoxy to kill the ads etc. I'm using privoxy with FF at the mo. Since adblock isnt blocking everything in FF 3.5

Yea I am rather impressed with the beta version of 10.

I just have a urlfilter.ini filter for my add blocking in opera - catches 90% of adds, but slows down the initial startup by about 1.5 seconds.

Should give it a blat with Privoxy.