PDA

View Full Version : A ram query



feersumendjinn
28-06-2009, 10:52 PM
I have an old AMD Athlon 1333Mhz desktop (running with DDR266) with an Asrock K7VM3 motherboard circa 2006 (capable of using DDR333) which has blown a ram stick, would it be ok to use DDR400 ram in this?, (seeing as lower speed/spec is not easily available), it should 'underclock'? And would it mix with the good DDR266 stick?

Blam
28-06-2009, 10:55 PM
It "should" underclock, but Wanuitech, which has much more experience than me, says that it is not always the case and some mobo's and RAM sticks don't play together.

Blam

feersumendjinn
28-06-2009, 11:00 PM
Thanks for the quick answer Blam :)
Guess I'll just 'suck it and see' ;)