PDA

View Full Version : Dell E520 HDD fryer



neverlast
27-06-2009, 11:33 AM
ok i have a dell e520 computer and about a month ago it started playing up files started going missing and then parts of windows stoped working and dell HDD dignostic thing said error 7 so i got another HDD and it fixed the problem for about a month now it's starting to lose file and it comes a up with load of errors like...

*ip helper error
*rundll32 has been closed

and a few others

Is this my MBO frying my HDD? because it seems to be doing what it did before. and dell seems to have a reputation for poor parts according to this site ihatedell.org.
any ideas whagt this could be?

Blam
27-06-2009, 12:01 PM
Have you done any malware scans?

Download, update and run MBAM:
http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

Download HijackThis and run it, then post a log here for anaysis.
http://www.malwarebytes.org/mbam.php

Also, have you run the manufacturers disk checking software?

Blam

Brooko
27-06-2009, 01:17 PM
I have a Dell Dimension 5150 (pretty old now - belongs to the kids :D ).

One of the issues I has toward the end (before the PSU went belly up and I had to replace it) was a hard drive failure, as well as a gfx card failure. The HDD was a seagate and the card was an asus 7900 GS that I had put in myself.

I suspected heat - so I got an anti-static strap, nice clear workbench, new thermal paste - then set about taking each component out to give it a good clean (ie remove any dust).

Anyway - long story short - the cpu cooler you have on the E520 is same (I think) as on the Dimension 5150. Whole design of the case looks the same. I found it was totally clogged up with dust, and I guess generating so much heat that it was causing all my problems, plus accelerated the other components demise.

Had to totally take it to pieces so that I could get it out of the case to clean it properly. Refitted and reapplied thermal paste. Cleaned all the other fans etc. Now I give it a good clean every 6 months. Hasn't skipped a beat for the kids (apart from replacing PSU). The unit is now 7-8 years old I think.

Get the side off the case and look for dust on the CPU heatsink (under the big shroud). I think that will be your issue. Make sure you have thermal compound and time to do the job though. I really did have to take it to pieces to clean it totally. Hope that helps.

neverlast
27-06-2009, 04:22 PM
Ill download the Malwarebytes thing tonight since I'mwere on dial up.

also brooke how to do you now if the psu is not working? and cleaning the whole computer would this make any diifernce or would this just prevent other parts from failing?

neverlast
27-06-2009, 06:18 PM
i did the scan with the mbam but didnt find anything
here are the results from hijackthis


Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
Scan saved at 4:28:28 PM, on 6/27/2009
Platform: Windows Vista (WinNT 6.00.1904)
MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.16386)
Boot mode: Normal

Running processes:
C:\Windows\system32\Dwm.exe
C:\Windows\Explorer.EXE
C:\Program Files\Windows Defender\MSASCui.exe
C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 9.0\Reader\reader_sl.exe
C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe
C:\Program Files\Dell Photo AIO Printer 926\dlcxmon.exe
C:\Program Files\Dell Photo AIO Printer 926\memcard.exe
C:\Windows\system32\taskeng.exe
C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe
C:\Windows\system32\SearchFilterHost.exe

R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,SearchAssistant =
R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Search,CustomizeSearch =
R0 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Toolbar,LinksFolderName =
O1 - Hosts: ::1 localhost
O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
O2 - BHO: BitComet ClickCapture - {39F7E362-828A-4B5A-BCAF-5B79BFDFEA60} - C:\Program Files\BitComet\tools\BitCometBHO_1.3.3.2.dll
O2 - BHO: WormRadar.com IESiteBlocker.NavFilter - {3CA2F312-6F6E-4B53-A66E-4E65E497C8C0} - C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG8\avgssie.dll (file missing)
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Windows Defender] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Defender\MSASCui.exe -hide
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe Reader Speed Launcher] "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 9.0\Reader\Reader_sl.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTTask.exe" -atboottime
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [iTunesHelper] "C:\Program Files\iTunes\iTunesHelper.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [FaxCenterServer] "C:\Program Files\Dell PC Fax\fm3032.exe" /s
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [dlcxmon.exe] "C:\Program Files\Dell Photo AIO Printer 926\dlcxmon.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MemoryCardManager] "C:\Program Files\Dell Photo AIO Printer 926\memcard.exe"
O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [DLCXCATS] rundll32 C:\Windows\system32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\DLCXtim e.dll,_RunDLLEntry@16
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-19\..\Run: [WindowsWelcomeCenter] rundll32.exe oobefldr.dll,ShowWelcomeCenter (User 'LOCAL SERVICE')
O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-20\..\Run: [Sidebar] %ProgramFiles%\Windows Sidebar\Sidebar.exe /detectMem (User 'NETWORK SERVICE')
O9 - Extra button: Send to OneNote - {2670000A-7350-4f3c-8081-5663EE0C6C49} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office12\ONBttnIE.dll
O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: S&end to OneNote - {2670000A-7350-4f3c-8081-5663EE0C6C49} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office12\ONBttnIE.dll
O9 - Extra button: Research - {92780B25-18CC-41C8-B9BE-3C9C571A8263} - C:\PROGRA~1\MICROS~2\Office12\REFIEBAR.DLL
O9 - Extra button: BitComet - {D18A0B52-D63C-4ed0-AFC6-C1E3DC1AF43A} - res://C:\Program Files\BitComet\tools\BitCometBHO_1.3.3.2.dll/206 (file missing)
O13 - Gopher Prefix:
O17 - HKLM\System\CCS\Services\Tcpip\..\{4DD0F234-0AA7-4A89-B4CC-1B2EBEA07D59}: NameServer = 203.97.78.43 203.97.78.44
O23 - Service: Apple Mobile Device - Apple, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Apple\Mobile Device Support\bin\AppleMobileDeviceService.exe
O23 - Service: dlcx_device - - C:\Windows\system32\dlcxcoms.exe
O23 - Service: iPod Service - Apple Inc. - C:\Program Files\iPod\bin\iPodService.exe

--
End of file - 4098 bytes

Blam
27-06-2009, 07:36 PM
A few nasties and crapware. Tick these and click fix checked:

O2 - BHO: WormRadar.com IESiteBlocker.NavFilter - {3CA2F312-6F6E-4B53-A66E-4E65E497C8C0} - C:\Program Files\AVG\AVG8\avgssie.dll (file missing)

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe Reader Speed Launcher] "C:\Program Files\Adobe\Reader 9.0\Reader\Reader_sl.exe"

O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [QuickTime Task] "C:\Program Files\QuickTime\QTTask.exe" -atboottime

O9 - Extra button: BitComet - {D18A0B52-D63C-4ed0-AFC6-C1E3DC1AF43A} - res://C:\Program Files\BitComet\tools\BitCometBHO_1.3.3.2.dll/206 (file missing)

O13 - Gopher Prefix:

Reboot when done.

Then download Seatools.
http://www.seagate.com/ww/v/index.jsp?locale=en-US&name=seatools-win&vgnextoid=552bd20cacdec010VgnVCM100000dd04090aRCRD

Run it and see if it picks up any errors.

Then go run>cmd>[B]chkdsk C: /f[B]

Hit enter, and if it asks to reboot, type Y and hit enter.

Reboot, and let it do its stuff.

Cheers
Blam

Agent_24
27-06-2009, 10:44 PM
Cleaning the PC could indeed make a difference. When the CPU or other parts get overheated, all sorts of weird and strange things can happen to your data and hardware


A bad PSU is more likely to cause HDD failure than a motherboard

I would check the PSU, and run memtest.

Have a look around on the motherboard and in the PSU (if you're keen) for bad capacitors

Brooko
28-06-2009, 12:47 AM
also brooko how to do you now if the psu is not working? and cleaning the whole computer would this make any difference or would this just prevent other parts from failing?
As A24 says - the PSU can contribute to a lot of failures. I'll let one of the proper techs here advise as to any tests you can do.

But what you can do yourself is clean it - especially the heat-sink. What you originally posted could be a heat issue. And if you've had the E520 a while and it's never been cleaned, then it's something you should do regularly anyway. The real problem is that with the majority of Dell mobos I've seen - getting thermal info from the chip can be very difficult. I know I couldn't with programs like core-temp, hwmon etc.

If you don't know how to clean it - see if there are any techs on this forum in your area - and see if one of them will take a look at it for you. The techs who frequent this forum are very good and for someone with know-how, it's about a 1/2 hour job. If they can do that - then they may be able to check PSU for you also. Note - I'm not a tech - just an enthusiast.

Agent_24
28-06-2009, 12:38 PM
Unfortunately proper testing of a PSU requires at least a decent oscilloscope of some kind - and a good dummy load. It's not good enough just to stick a DMM on it and say "oh look it's 12v, it's OK" (and this is the problem with most PSU reviewers on the internet)

Of course, if something was significantly bad this would be a good enough test (eg: if it was 10.5v on the 12v rail)

The best test you can do for a PSU is to replace it with a known working one. If the PC then runs fine you can pretty much guarantee it was the PSU at fault.

The problem with that is that Dell like to use their own custom pinout for the main ATX connector, BUT THE SAME PLUG as everyone else.

Putting a standard PSU in will at best not work, and at worst, ruin your motherboard completely.

(As far as I know this is not the case for ALL Dell machines. The only way to be sure is to actually compare the plug with a standard ATX one)

Bad capacitors (http://badcaps.net/) however are probably the leading cause of PSU faults. If you're keen, open up the PSU and check the capacitors. If any are leaking/bulging then it's a fair bet the PSU is the problem (faulty capacitors can't filter ripple, high ripple damages whatever is connected to the PSU)

The upside to this, though, is that the capacitors can usually be replaced easily and cheaply.

Again, with the dust. If the PSU is packed full of it, this could also cause issues...


However, I would like to know what Dell's HDD diagnostic tool means when it reports "Code 7"

Could you install http://www.almico.com/sfdownload.php and use it to check the SMART status of your hard drive?

Once installed, go to the SMART tab, select your drive, and click "Perform an in-depth online analysis of this hard disk"

Take a screenshot of the results and upload them here or to www.imagef1.net.nz

neverlast
28-06-2009, 10:38 PM
OK i ve delted all thoose things blam said with the hijackthis tool aslo cleaned the whole pc checked the PSU and it looked normal and did the chkdsk scan and used the speed fan and i cant connect to the internt so cant do the full anaysis but heres the smart results http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/speedfan1246181007.jpg


havnt used the seagate tools but will this work as i have a westerndeigtal HDD?also i will try look to see if i can find a PSU around my room some where.

So far nothing has worked so im realy stumped about this

Agent_24
29-06-2009, 01:32 PM
Speedfan doesn't seem to show anything wrong....

It's possible that faulty RAM is the cause of your problems, which would explain the missing files etc and may even cause the Dell diagnostic to report a HDD error that doesn't exist.

So download and run http://www.memtest.org/ first.

If that passes, go on to checking the HDD itself with Western Digital's own tools (Seatools is no good as you say because it's not a seagate drive)

http://support.wdc.com/product/download.asp?groupid=606&sid=30&lang=en

I would use either the bootable CD or Floppy version, running the test within windows is not the best way.

Another very good program is http://www.hdat2.com/

I would download and do a full test of the drive with either or both of those programs.