PDA

View Full Version : noob reformatting

JustinR
24-06-2009, 09:41 AM
Hi guys,

im no expert when it comes to my pc but after three years it seems to me that my computer is in need of a format.

Ive run anti-virus spyware malware blah blah, defragged, cleaned as much as I can out of the registery, and physically cleaned the componants but it still runs alot slower than it used to (based on frame rate and performance with games that used to run perfectly). It was also one of the first computers pre loaded with Vista so its not quite specced enough for it.

I've got a XP pro SP3 cd that Im considering using to format the drives but Im wondering if its possible to find out a list of all the drivers my pc is using so that im not searching around for ever after I do it??

Also any tips on things I should do before I format or important things I have to backup?

Rob99
24-06-2009, 09:49 AM
Boot from the CD and follow the prompts.

I wouldnt back up any of your stuff unless you think you want to keep it.

For the drivers, just download them from the website of the manufacturer.

Blam
24-06-2009, 10:00 AM
http://www.innovative-sol.com/drivermax/index.htm
http://sourceforge.net/projects/drvback/

Either of those utilities can export the drivers to a flash drive, then you can restore thjem when you reinstall, saves alot of time:)

As for the installing bit, most steps are quite straightforward, just follow the simple prompts

Blam

JustinR
24-06-2009, 10:13 AM
http://www.innovative-sol.com/drivermax/index.htm
http://sourceforge.net/projects/drvback/

Either of those utilities can export the drivers to a flash drive, then you can restore thjem when you reinstall, saves alot of time:)

As for the installing bit, most steps are quite straightforward, just follow the simple prompts

Blam

awesome thanks thats just what I was looking for.

Im a bit nervous about doing it to be honest but its becoming rediculous

JustinR
24-06-2009, 01:02 PM