PDA

View Full Version : Broadband



notechyet
24-06-2009, 08:55 AM
Hello members
I have been on Tele.... "Go Large" for some years. I am planing to swap around the lines(numbers internally) and at the same time change plan if it looks feasible. Need better up-speed. (voip).
Has anyone any comments good or negative about the " Adventure" plan of the same supplier?
Thanks in advance.

DeSade
24-06-2009, 11:20 AM
I use it and its fine, good speed and little down time.
Recently upped my plan to the 40gig version also so I am happy with it.

wratterus
24-06-2009, 11:24 AM
Yeah it's all good. Xtra slow down Go Large something chronic.

notechyet
24-06-2009, 05:07 PM
Thanks guys:thanks
That tells me enough and I will start asap to change over.

nate
24-06-2009, 06:26 PM
Alittle off topic, make sure your broadband modem supports Quality of Service (QoS) otherwise the call break ups when you are using the internet at the same time will make it unusable.

Tuneznz
24-06-2009, 06:43 PM
Have you looked at orcon?

paulw
24-06-2009, 06:46 PM
Have you looked at orcon?

Good point as if you get their Homehub it is VOIP ready so should have QOS built in even though at this point they don't offer the service.

notechyet
24-06-2009, 06:53 PM
nate , Thanks for that advice and I hope to remember when the time comes.
and tuneznz, I did look at Orcon some time ago and at the time I thought that it was not any better than our big brother.

johnd
24-06-2009, 09:21 PM
Alittle off topic, make sure your broadband modem supports Quality of Service (QoS) otherwise the call break ups when you are using the internet at the same time will make it unusable.

While this is true at least in theory - I have had VoIP (for our main phone system) for over a year using Netgear DG834 Router with (as far as I know) no QoS. The only bad calls (maybe 3 of them) that I can remember happened when no computer was even turned on.

Agent_24
24-06-2009, 11:20 PM
Go large might be slow sometimes but I use about 50GB a month. I don't care so much about upload but at $50 it beats the alternative (Pro, 40GB, $79.95 with excess charge 2cents per MB)

That's $20.40 per GB over 40GB...

now if I used my usual 50GB... total cost would be predicted at $283.95....

Damn, does Go large look good or what :D

Blam
24-06-2009, 11:50 PM
How much is go large?

Too bad they don't offer it anymore:(