PDA

View Full Version : Custom build advice



pcuser7895
23-06-2009, 08:47 PM
It's the first time I have I'm building a computer.
I have made a list of parts I will use.
Any advice on better parts in the same price range or capatibility problems?

Motherboard:
Gigabyte (GA-EP45T-UD3LR)

CPU:
Intel Core 2 Quad Q8400 2.66GHZ

Video Card:
ATi Radeon HD 4770

RAM:
Corsair (TW3X4G1333C9DHX) 4 GB

PSU:
Raidmax (RS-500) 500W

HDD:
SEAGATE (ST3250318AS)

Case:
Antec Nine hundred

:thanks

Blam
23-06-2009, 09:07 PM
Don't bother with the Q8400. Just go for a Q8200 or OC a Q6600.

Ram is fine, but PSU is NOT. Get an Antec or Corsair.

Mobo is a good choice.

Blam

pcuser7895
23-06-2009, 09:12 PM
Is 500W enough?

Sweep
23-06-2009, 09:12 PM
So what price range are you looking at in total for your build?

And good luck with it.

Not for everyone but it is a good experience.

Blam
23-06-2009, 09:14 PM
Is 500W enough?

Yes, but that mobo offers crossfire, and 500w will be borderline for that.

Another 4770 in the future will be great, but I recommend 550w or 600w at least.

qazwsxokmijn
23-06-2009, 09:15 PM
A good brand 500W is enough. Hell I reckon even a 450W Corsair would suffice. As blam suggested, don't bother with a Q8400. Just get a cheaper Q8200 and OC it as high as it will go and use the extra money to invest in a TRUE120.

PCT Joe
23-06-2009, 09:17 PM
Ram is fine, but PSU is NOT. Get an Antec or Corsair.


Agreed, as for the power supply, although a 500w will be sufficient I recommend a 650w-800w PSU for future overclocking and upgrades, Also as a counter for power failure due to degradation.

I recommend a Nvidia 9800GT or better.

pcuser7895
23-06-2009, 09:20 PM
Yes, but that mobo offers crossfire, and 500w will be borderline for that.

Another 4770 in the future will be great, but I recommend 550w or 600w at least.

Does an extra GPU help by much?
I read that it will increase frame rates and nothing else.
Or does it double the memory make everything go whizzier?

SolMiester
23-06-2009, 09:21 PM
I dont think its a good time to be building a pc right now, Lynnfield has just been released and that will push prices down considerably. It will also bring Nethlam architecture down to an affordable level with 20% gain over similarly clocked Penryn!

I would wait a month myself...

Blam
23-06-2009, 09:23 PM
Does an extra GPU help by much?
I read that it will increase frame rates and nothing else.
Or does it double the memory make everything go whizzier?

Depending on the game adds 40-60% increase in FPS, etc

SolMiester
23-06-2009, 09:25 PM
Dual graphic cards are only for Full HD monitors ie; 1920*1080 or more.....otherwise its a waste of money!

pcuser7895
23-06-2009, 09:27 PM
Ive Decided to go with the Q8200 as CPU and change the power supply to an Antec (761345-27500).

pcuser7895
23-06-2009, 09:29 PM
I dont think its a good time to be building a pc right now, Lynnfield has just been released and that will push prices down considerably. It will also bring Nethlam architecture down to an affordable level with 20% gain over similarly clocked Penryn!

I would wait a month myself...

My price range is about $1500, I think I've already passed it, but if prices are going to fall, I can wait.

qazwsxokmijn
23-06-2009, 09:31 PM
I read that it will increase frame rates and nothing else
Well, duh. :rolleyes:

That's the whole point of SLi/Crossfire.

SolMiester
23-06-2009, 09:33 PM
Link for you to read

http://anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=3585

oops, spelling this processor I always get it wrong....Nehalem

SolMiester
23-06-2009, 09:36 PM
And benchies of like clock speeds...

http://www.anandtech.com/bench/default.aspx?p=47&p2=89

PCT Joe
23-06-2009, 09:39 PM
pcuser, how are you getting your parts? through pricespy perhaps?

qazwsxokmijn
23-06-2009, 09:48 PM
Link for you to read

http://anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=3585
It says:
2) The Core 2 Duo and Core 2 Quad branding will eventually disappear.

Seems like the Core 2 series was very short lived.

pcuser7895
23-06-2009, 09:51 PM
Link for you to read

http://anandtech.com/cpuchipsets/showdoc.aspx?i=3585

oops, spelling this processor I always get it wrong....Nehalem

Very interesting, but i5 and i3 sound like a downgrade from Core 2.
Funny How they name things like that. If the i3s turns out to be a better choice then I might use them instead. I'll wait another month and see how i3 goes but I think that my plan right now is not bad and they will probably stay at something like $700 for a year.

pcuser7895
23-06-2009, 09:57 PM
pcuser, how are you getting your parts? through pricespy perhaps?

I live in christchurch. Here there is not many stores to choose from.
I think the only real place you can get cheap computer parts here is dragon pc.

PCT Joe
23-06-2009, 10:02 PM
Here is a link to a mock up of what components you could use for your computer

Pf11245750781.jpg (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Pf11245750781.jpg)

Source: PConlineshop.co.nz, There is a possibility of getting a lower price if shopping for everything through pricespy.

Sweep
23-06-2009, 10:05 PM
I live in christchurch. Here there is not many stores to choose from.
I think the only real place you can get cheap computer parts here is dragon pc.

In any event I would try to get all my parts from the same supplier and go to a retailer who has been around for some time.

I don't live in ChCh so can't recommend.

You may consider an online purchase from the likes of Ascent for example.

Tuneznz
23-06-2009, 10:10 PM
but PSU is NOT. Get an Antec or Corsair.

I can verify that, I just binned a just over a year old raidmax.

SolMiester
23-06-2009, 10:16 PM
Very interesting, but i5 and i3 sound like a downgrade from Core 2.
Funny How they name things like that. If the i3s turns out to be a better choice then I might use them instead. I'll wait another month and see how i3 goes but I think that my plan right now is not bad and they will probably stay at something like $700 for a year.

Certainly not, i7 is quad with hyper-threading therefore 8 threded, i5 is quad without HT + turbo mode which is like an automatic clocking of 4 bins when only 2 cores used, and i3 is 2 or 4 cores only, any of them are still 20%= better than same clock penryn core 2\quad!

hueybot3000
23-06-2009, 11:36 PM
You also have the option of urcomputer and tastec, ive used both heaps and they're both great

Rob99
24-06-2009, 01:02 AM
You also have the option of urcomputer and tastec, ive used both heaps and they're both great

LOL, you used "tastec" and "great" in the same sentence.

pcuser7895
24-06-2009, 07:46 AM
Here is a link to a mock up of what components you could use for your computer

Pf11245750781.jpg (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Pf11245750781.jpg)

Source: PConlineshop.co.nz, There is a possibility of getting a lower price if shopping for everything through pricespy.

Those prices are alot cheaper than my supplier
and a much bigger range too!

pcuser7895
24-06-2009, 07:51 AM
I've read that there are no holes on the motherboard plate on the Antec 900 so I can't hide some of the psu cables, is it true?

Blam
24-06-2009, 08:25 AM
V2 definetly does, but not the original version I *think*

qazwsxokmijn
24-06-2009, 12:04 PM
Antec 900 Two (V2) is basically a dwarfed 1200....

I have a side-window modded Antec P182 for $215 if you're kreen.

hueybot3000
24-06-2009, 04:40 PM
LOL, you used "tastec" and "great" in the same sentence.

Ive never had a problem with him, id rather him than dragonpc

Agent_24
24-06-2009, 05:48 PM
Only ever made one purchase from Tastech, an 8600GT silent cooled...

Well it took about 2 weeks to get here and when it finally did it had faulty RAM

But a replacement was received in only a few days after I sent the faulty card to a place in Auckland (I think it was Dove)

I think his choice of courier was pretty useless but otherwise it was OK

pcuser7895
24-06-2009, 07:17 PM
I've also read that the 900 is so big the most of the time extender PSU cables are needed.
I'm going to use an ATX sized PSU so it should be OK?

qazwsxokmijn
24-06-2009, 08:56 PM
The only PSU cable that you MAY need to get an extension for is the 12v (AUX?) 4/8pin connector for the CPU. My Antec NeoHE's cable even reached through the back of the 1200 case I had.

Blam
24-06-2009, 08:59 PM
Nah, its fine really. Get a proper PSU and the cable should be fine. IIRC the 900 does have the PSU on the bottom though, some people think its great, others don't.

Blam

pcuser7895
24-06-2009, 09:35 PM
So I've redone my list.

Motherboard:
Gigabyte (GA-EP45T-UD3LR)

CPU:
Intel Core 2 quad Q8200

GPU:
Sapphire Radeon HD 4770

RAM:
Corsair (TW3X4G1333C9DHX)

HDD:
SEAGATE (ST3250318AS)

PSU:
Antec (761345-27500)

Case:
Antec Nine Hundred Two (if I can Find it)

Finalise?

Blam
24-06-2009, 09:39 PM
Looks great!

That graphics card is an excellent choice, I've read that it performs very well in Xfire, almost on par with the GTX 280 but for much less.

:)

pcuser7895
24-06-2009, 09:59 PM
Thanks All!

pcuser7895
28-06-2009, 08:36 PM
Just wondering, if I put in an ATi Radeon HD 4870 into the pc, would the power supply be able to handle it and would the case be big enough?

hueybot3000
28-06-2009, 08:44 PM
Yep and yep. From what i can tell the 4870 should sit just under the 5.25 bays

pcuser7895
28-06-2009, 08:47 PM
What is the 4870's power consumption in full load?

Blam
28-06-2009, 09:50 PM
Around 280w