PDA

View Full Version : Mobo at 100 celsius



sammo450
20-06-2009, 10:33 PM
What is on the mobo(other than CPU and GPU) that could get to 100 celsius under normal operation? HWMonitor reckoned TMPIN2 on the mobo temperature sensor chip reached 100 at some stage while it was watching(usually 50-60). Perhaps this is related to my problem where after shutting down, I have to wait at least 10 minutes before rebooting, otherwise RAM takes extra >5 seconds to turn on, and I get a 'no video card or bad video RAM' beep. Also, my vid card doesn't work in either of the 16x slots. I thought it was a PSU issue, but purchasing a Corsair HX620 didn't help.

pcuser42
20-06-2009, 11:43 PM
Ditch your kettle. :p

How is the system being cooled? Specs?

hueybot3000
21-06-2009, 12:54 AM
Usually the voltage regulators, but without more specs I couldnt tell you where on the board. Definitely need some more fans in there

Mines almost down to room temp...

ScreaminGherkin
21-06-2009, 11:46 AM
I would guess that it's not actually that hot tand that motherboard monitor is just being weird. I used to get some pretty strange readings from it.
Watch it for a bit and see if that temperature leaps around alot

sammo450
21-06-2009, 09:03 PM
Hmm yeah speaking of dodgy readings heres a couple of screenshots from my PC. CPU is cooled with a Noctua NH-120, GPU has the stock Black Pearl copper fansink, mobo has a heatpipe from south bridge through north bridge to regulators, and RAMsinks heatpiped to north bridge block.

beeswax34
21-06-2009, 10:29 PM
One of your temperature sensors must be really screwing up!

sammo450
22-06-2009, 11:38 AM
Yeah maybe. The low GPU temp occurred when I had some difficulty waking the PC. The 100 celsius reading went up to 102, possibly when I was rendering with 3dsmax.

Rob99
22-06-2009, 11:49 AM
You could set the alam in the BIOS to 80, to see if it ever gets that high.

Agent_24
22-06-2009, 11:54 AM
Update your BIOS? Could be causing the false readings and the shutdowns

THEN AGAIN... Maybe your motherboard chipset IS overheating

JJJJJ
22-06-2009, 12:46 PM
Sounds like a faulty reading or sensor to me, What are your cpu core temps showing? Your cpu shonld be higher than your motherboard

SolMiester
22-06-2009, 01:35 PM
Chipset temp.....!, may very well be the reason for your booting issue, is it only cooled via a heat sink, or does it have a fan?...are you clocking, or perhaps the heat sink requires fresh thermal paste

sammo450
22-06-2009, 02:14 PM
CPU 18-27 celsius, I have latest BIOS version, and check some pics of it if you want a detailed look at the cooling. N bridge has just a block with a heatpipe through it, S bridge has a little heatsink which is piped through the N bridge to the regulators, which have a reasonably big cooler. I could try taking the mobo RAMsinks off and see if that cools the chipset a big.

hueybot3000
22-06-2009, 03:11 PM
sounds like itd just be the sensor. theres no way that your cpu could be 80 degrees cooler than mobo

sammo450
22-06-2009, 09:30 PM
Today TMPIN2 was hovering around 54 celsius, then when I started rendering in 3dsmax with mental ray(a very RAM intensive process I believe) it shot up to 96. As soon as rendering finished, it was back down to ~50. So I don't think it's randomly reporting a high number. My CPU has an aftermarket cooler, so I think it is possible for it to be lower than mobo. The thermal compund theory sounds plausible, I'll investigate that one in the weekend.

hueybot3000
22-06-2009, 09:31 PM
Could you take a photo?

sammo450
22-06-2009, 09:42 PM
What of?

hueybot3000
22-06-2009, 09:43 PM
the aftermarket cooler you mentioned, I doubt that youl get your cpu cooler than your mobo with air...you are air cooled right?

sammo450
22-06-2009, 09:54 PM
Yep 120mm fan on the bottom of the HS. The case is open as it's just a temporary one, and cable management could be better :P

hueybot3000
22-06-2009, 10:00 PM
ok what i can see of the heatsinks looks like its a decent enough setup.

First id try a few different temp programmes and if they all say the same then reapply thermal paste and post back

pcuser42
23-06-2009, 08:05 AM
Edit: Never mind.

sammo450
23-06-2009, 11:37 AM
Now I'm curious as to what you said :)

hueybot3000
23-06-2009, 04:21 PM
Now I'm curious as to what you said :)

He said...
Silly question. Are you sure that the monitoring program is in Celsius? It could be 100 degrees Fahrenheit.

Not really a silly question, but wouldnt explain why your cpu temps were readin correct

Agent_24
23-06-2009, 05:23 PM
Might be worth checking actually

sammo450
24-06-2009, 09:17 AM
Well it says celsius and fahrenheit, and I've been reading the celsius reading. I put a fan on the north bridge HS, and the TMPIN2 reading started flicking between 54 and 53, instead of a solid 54. That's good enough confirmation for me.

hueybot3000
24-06-2009, 04:41 PM
Wow so it ran hot for a while, everything stable now?

wratterus
24-06-2009, 04:42 PM
Just today I had an Asus board, one of the temp sensors was reading -128deg celcius. I know that wasn't right. :p

sammo450
24-06-2009, 04:50 PM
Haha that's not quite as good as my GPU reading. OK the temp usually hovers around 54, but when I do something RAM intensive it jumps up to somewhere around 80-100. I think this may be what is causing the error saying my video RAM is bad, because it only happens when I reboot after it's been running for a while.

Speedy Gonzales
24-06-2009, 05:10 PM
Is this the mobo in your sig ? (http://vip.asus.com/forum/view.aspx?id=20081011105941312&board_id=1&model=M3A32-MVP+DELUXE&page=1&SLanguage=en-us). Some sites say TMPIN2 is a dead sensor, so whatever temp its showing, ignore it

sammo450
24-06-2009, 05:19 PM
Yep that's the one, sounds like similar symptoms too. Well I would really like to fix my problems, as it is pretty annoying not being able to use my x16 slots and reboot instantly.