PDA

View Full Version : Wireless Router to Modem



B.M.
18-06-2009, 02:56 PM
Hereís another curly one.

Iím at the Brother-in-laws in Aus at the moment and he has a Modem/Router connected to Bigpond.

The Modem/Router has four Ethernet connection points and these work fine.

However, the Modem/Router doesnít have Wireless, which would be handy whilst lying in the hammock.

However, I notice he does have a Wireless Router (No Modem) with four Ethernet connections and one WLAN connection lying idle in a box.

So, can I connect the Router to the Modem so as to be able to use the Wireless for my laptop?

The Wireless Router is a D-Link DI-524 and the Modem/Router a Netgear.

:thanks

pctek
18-06-2009, 03:09 PM
Yes.

Blam
18-06-2009, 08:15 PM
^Agreed

ronyville
18-06-2009, 08:20 PM
just remember to turn off the DHCP server on the router, may cause issues with the modem.

B.M.
18-06-2009, 09:50 PM
Great, so starting with the setup, can two computers be left connected to the Modem/Router’s Ethernet jacks and one connected by Ethernet to the Router and one by Wireless to the Router?

Or, does everything have to be connected to the Router?

I guess I then have to get the Router & Modem/Router to talk to each other. :D

I plugged them together how I thought they should go but the Router and Modem/Router weren’t on speaking terms. :groan:

The two Computers connected to the Modem/Router still worked fine but the computer I connected to the router by Ethernet stopped working.

I haven’t tried the Wireless Laptop to Router yet. ;)

Something to play with tomorrow. :D

Ahh, the DHCP ronyville. I’ll have to investigate that more closely. Never heard of it, but I will have by this time tomorrow. :thumbs:

B.M.
19-06-2009, 01:41 PM
Right ho, hereís the update.

I disabled the DHCP as suggested by ronyville but still no go. :groan:

I tried the wireless part with the laptop and it picked up the Network OK but couldnít connect. (Couldnít find address) :groan:

So I rang the Telstra/Bigpond Helpline and after half an hour of dealing with stupid Voice Recognition Software I wound up with a woman who had English as her 5th Language. She did speak brilliant Swahili, but unfortunately I donít. I tried signing but this also failed and it was just as well she couldnít lip read. Grrrrrr, why English speaking countries employ non English speaking people on their Helplines eludes me.

So, you guys are it, Google was not my friend this time. :D

What I will do for starters is give you a couple of Screen Shots that might help. ;)

Now be gentle, I have no idea what Iím doing. :D

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/CropperCapture[6].jpg

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/CropperCapture[7].jpg

B.M.
19-06-2009, 01:50 PM
Images wouldn't open I'll try again.

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/CropperCapture6.jpg

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/CropperCapture71245376209.jpg

linw
20-06-2009, 10:53 AM
This site should sort you out. http://home.comcast.net/~hqh/html/tworouters.htm

B.M.
26-06-2009, 05:13 PM
This site should sort you out. http://home.comcast.net/~hqh/html/tworouters.htm

Thanks linw.:thumbs:

All up and running with more addresses than NZ Post. :D

That Site was a big help. :thanks again.

johnd
26-06-2009, 08:24 PM
Don't forget to put some security on the WAP.

B.M.
26-06-2009, 10:18 PM
Don't forget to put some security on the WAP.

Thanks johnd, yes I will.

I havenít at the moment because Iím up in the Glasshouse Mountains, Queensland.

I see about a dozen vehicles a week and I doubt the occupants have heard of wifi. :lol:

I drove around with my Laptop to see what Wireless Internet was available and still havenít found any. :lol:

Never mind, the Broadband is only marginally slower than back home and I guess that is because of some ďAncient CopperĒ.

Weíll be bloody famous if the locals find out thereís a computer in every room. :lol: