PDA

View Full Version : XP will not regonise hard drive?



rd400f
17-06-2009, 05:59 PM
Hi
I purchased a second hand Dell Dimension 8400 and I have just put a brand new 500GB Hitachi Deskstar SATA hard drive into the case.
The system came without an operating system installed. So I have used a copy of the Ultimate Boot disk to partition the drive...useing Ranish Partition Manager...it has been partition as one large single partition in FAT 32 format.
Then I formatted the drive and made the partition active.
But when I try to install XP Pro it get part way then says "setup did not find any hard disk drives installed in your computer"
The BIOS shows the 500GB Hitachi Deskstar so any ideas what is going on?
Thanks
Richard

CYaBro
17-06-2009, 06:01 PM
Check the BIOS to see if there is an option to set the SATA mode to IDE or Compatible or there may be an option to disable SATA enhanced mode.

Edit: Just had a look at the manual and it looks like you need to set Drive Controller to RAID Autodetect/ATA.
It is most likely set to RAID Autodetect/AHCI at the moment.

rd400f
17-06-2009, 06:20 PM
Hi
Thanks for that info.
I also found this on the net and so far it is working.

"I completely feel your pain. I have the same system and just fixed the same problem. Here's what I did. And by the way, 2 hours of tech support with Dell did nothing for me other than give me practice understanding Pakistan accents. I eventually stumbled on the solution myself w/o dell's help.

Reboot your system and hit F2 as soon as you see the Dell startup screen (the options are F2 for setup, F12 for boot sequence).

In the System Setup screen, do these steps.

Select Drives:
Make sure your Diskette Drive (3.5 floppy) is set properly (Usually set to Internal)
Make sure that "Drive 0: SATA-0" drive is set to "ON"

Go to "SATA Operation":

Your system proabaly came set to "RAID Autodetect / AHCI" - THIS SETTING CAUSES YOUR SYSTEM TO GO INTO AN IDE LOOP AND DOESN'T ALLOW IT TO FIND YOUR FACTORY INSTALLED SATA DRIVE.

CHANGE THE SATA OPERATION SETTING TO "COMBINATION"

Reboot - make sure that the boot sequence is set to CD rom before HD and make sure that the reinstall CD is in the drive. Setup will load, hit enter to reinstall XP. Your HD should now be detected and you should see the licensing agreement.

If you have your files backed up I reccommend deleting the partition and reformatting prior to installing XP, it will give you that option after the license agreement.

Once you have successfully reinstalled the OS, Dell reccommends that you change the SATA Operation setting back to RAID AUTODETECT / AHCI (or back to whatever your factory setting was) to avoid any problems with other IDE devices installed on your system."

I will let you know how it goes.
Thanks
Richard