PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 Performance on Asus Eee Box



Chemical Ali
09-06-2009, 08:23 PM
Hi

I have just installed Windows 7 RC on my Asus Eee Box PC (Atom N270 CPU; 1GB DDR2-800 RAM; 140GB 4300rpm HDD) - this is essentially a netbook performance level PC in a (very) small form factor desktop PC.

Had the idea of using it in the lounge to stream ripped DVDs from my main media centre PC downstairs via a wired ethernet connection.

Windows 7 itself runs okay but media centre is sluggish to say the least and any streamed DVDs (from downstairs Media Centre PC) are constantly stuttering and droppping frames, etc.

When I initially conceived of this project I envisaged upgrading the hard drive to a 16MB cache/7200rpm one and the RAM to 2GB.

In your guys opinion will these 2 upgrades be enough to overcome current performance issues?

Do I need to do both upgrades (harddrive & RAM) or would just upgrading the RAM be sufficient?

Cheers


Paul

Speedy Gonzales
09-06-2009, 08:28 PM
I would wait for the final to come out, since you'll have to start all over again. If you decide to buy it

Blam
09-06-2009, 08:35 PM
Have you tried using something like VLC then increasing the cache size?

Happened to me once, and this fixed it

Blam

Chemical Ali
09-06-2009, 08:41 PM
I want to stick with media centre if at all possible so I'm really seeking advice about improving that aspect via hardware upgrades and/or software tweaks.

Cheers

Blam
09-06-2009, 08:42 PM
Can you please test with VLC first please?

My opinion here is that the machine is powerful enough but stutters because of network issues.

Chemical Ali
09-06-2009, 08:52 PM
Network issues may well account for the stuttering in the streamed DVD but not the very sluggish menu naviagtion and file viewing/selection performance within Windows 7 Media Centre itself.

Other users are reporting similar issues with W7 Media Centre too but no definitive solutions posted (that I can find anyway ...).

Not interested in VLC at all sorry - have found it really painful to use in the past to stream media.

Blam
09-06-2009, 09:01 PM
Ah ok, I'm not sure if that 1.6ghz Atom is up to it but you can try upgrading the RAM.

Don't bother with the hard drive, its unlikely that thats the problem.

Blam

Chemical Ali
09-06-2009, 09:23 PM
Note: that should read 5400rpm for the existing hard drive not 4300rpm!!

Blam
09-06-2009, 09:26 PM
Note: that should read 5400rpm for the existing hard drive not 4300rpm!!

Yeah I thought so...and it should be 160gb:p

Chemical Ali
09-06-2009, 09:30 PM
So right you are ...

Too many kids running around while I'm trying to type!

Blam
09-06-2009, 09:38 PM
I reckon an extra gig should smoothen things up, but don't get the wrong ram, IIRC the eee box uses DDR2 667 and not DDR2 800, although if you do get DDR2 800 RAM it should auto underclock:)

Blam

Chemical Ali
09-06-2009, 09:51 PM
Already ordered some compatable RAM (DDR2-667) - mentioned DDR2-800 by mistake as I was hurriedly typing that initial post.

Really am wandering if the faster 7200rpm mard drive may help as well especially with a 16mb cache as opposed to the 8mb cache on my current 5400rpm hard drive.

Just trialed MediaPortal and it's menus flow smoothly as, so possibly some bugs/coding/development issues with Windows 7 Media Centre??

Blam
09-06-2009, 10:23 PM
Already ordered some compatable RAM (DDR2-667) - mentioned DDR2-800 by mistake as I was hurriedly typing that initial post.

Really am wandering if the faster 7200rpm mard drive may help as well especially with a 16mb cache as opposed to the 8mb cache on my current 5400rpm hard drive.

Just trialed MediaPortal and it's menus flow smoothly as, so possibly some bugs/coding/development issues with Windows 7 Media Centre??

Most possibly. Media portal is good if you can stick with it, or XMBC, which is what Media Portal is built on except with out PVR features.

I have a laptop that plays streamed media from a file server using Media center and its fine, and it also uses a 5400rpm drive. Wouldn't worry about it, doubt thats the problem.

Cheers
Blam

nmercer
15-06-2009, 02:44 PM
what sort of video card in that EEE box? That could be the problem

SolMiester
15-06-2009, 03:08 PM
Yeah, i was going to say, what's the chipset....

http://www.anandtech.com/video/showdoc.aspx?i=3562

CYaBro
15-06-2009, 03:39 PM
I am using an Eee Box as my TV client with Mediaportal and it works great!
I am running XP Pro SP3 and haven't changed the default 80GB HDD and the 1GB RAM.
I have watched DVDs that I put in the optical drive in my TV Server and there are no problems.
I am running a gigabit switch and the Eee box and TV server both have gigabit LAN cards so that may be the difference.
I mainly use it to watch Freeview DVB-S, which is not HD, but bitrates are similar to a DVD and there are no problems with that either.
I have tried watching a couple of 720p videos but it didn't like that at all.