PDA

View Full Version : Windows 7 Networking



davehartley
08-06-2009, 11:08 AM
Since I had nothing better to do, I installed Windows 7 RC over the weekend :D

Now that I've come to work, I see now there's an "issue" with networking. Specifically, we use a proxy for Internet access. Is there some way of telling Win7 that when I'm at work, use the proxy, but when I'm at home, don't? (I've got my work connection set up as "work" in the Network and Sharing Centre, if that's any help!)

Blam
08-06-2009, 11:31 AM
If you use "Automatically Proxy Configuration" in Internet explorer or firefox that'll work.

Or use ProxyPAL

Blam

chiefnz
08-06-2009, 01:34 PM
I assume you're using a laptop...

We use a *.pac file which allows us to get onto the internet from any location.

chiefnz
08-06-2009, 01:40 PM
I assume you're using a laptop...

We use a *.pac file which allows us to get onto the internet from any location.

DataCabbitKSW
10-06-2009, 12:45 PM
When you are plugged in (or wirelessly connected) at the different spots, the networks get detected as different places right? Both Win7 and Vista have profiles for different network connections, so you can tune them to each have different firewall, proxy, and other settings. Win7 does it a lot better and it is more streamlined to get in there and poke around, however if you need help getting it to work you can always post to the official Windows 7 RC Support Forum located here
http://tinyurl.com/9fhdl5
It is supported by product specialists as well as Microsoft engineers and support teams. You may want to post your question there. They usually respond pretty quick.

davehartley
10-06-2009, 02:42 PM
Both Win7 and Vista have profiles for different network connections, so you can tune them to each have different firewall, proxy, and other settings. Win7 does it a lot better and it is more streamlined to get in there and poke around, however if you need help getting it to work you can always post to the official Windows 7 RC Support Forum located here
http://tinyurl.com/9fhdl5
It is supported by product specialists as well as Microsoft engineers and support teams. You may want to post your question there. They usually respond pretty quick.

Thanks for that -- I'll head over there and have a look. I have been poking around, but obviously don't know quite what I'm looking for ... :confused:

In the meantime, I've implemented a .pac file which seems to work fine (for IE at least).