PDA

View Full Version : dial up



NZHawk
07-06-2009, 11:28 AM
I have a friends who has no access to broadband of any type (mobile or cable).
Thus they are struggling with dial up.

Question:
They have a Win98se computer.
Would Windows XP offer better dial up connectivity?

Speedy Gonzales
07-06-2009, 11:30 AM
What happens with 98??

NZHawk
07-06-2009, 11:32 AM
Slow 36k and sometime shows connection but nothing happens.

Jen
07-06-2009, 11:39 AM
What is the maximum speed for their modem? 56K or less? Is it an internal or external modem?

Are they using an telephone extension lead for their modem?

Has it always been really slow?

NZHawk
07-06-2009, 11:42 AM
36K
internal modem
direct to wall outlet (possibly through a surge spike protector - not sure will need to recheck)

really slow -- variable.

NZHawk
07-06-2009, 11:52 AM
I have heard that external modem offers better connectivity in difficult areas.
Is this true.

What about the "rural" modem -- is it worth the expense?

Speedy Gonzales
07-06-2009, 12:09 PM
External would probably be better, but are pretty dear. Altho it may / may not work better than internal wherever he is. It could be line noise thats causing the prob. Ring telecom and get them to check the line. Altho any modem wont always connect at 56k either

Jen
07-06-2009, 12:10 PM
Have they had their phoneline checked for noise?

Are they in a rural area where there maybe electric fences nearby etc?

Could you try connecting their modem/computer at someone else's house?

Rural external serial modems are designed to work with noisy background interference, but it depends upon what is causing the problem with your friends modem whether it is worthwhile getting one.

NZHawk
07-06-2009, 12:31 PM
Back to my original question,
does the operating system Win98 vs WinXP influence connectivity?

Safari
07-06-2009, 12:50 PM
Back to my original question,
does the operating system Win98 vs WinXP influence connectivity?

Not really, it is the modem and the quality of the phone line that determines the speed of connection.

Is it a 56k modem or only 36k
A modem string might help.
What is the name of the modem in the dialup connection properties

NZHawk
07-06-2009, 01:01 PM
Sorry, dont have this information as I am researching this away from the computer.
I will run with line quality and modem.
I will get the manufacturer & model of the modem later today or Monday and report back.

Trev
07-06-2009, 01:02 PM
If they have more than one phone connected disconnect it. Sometimes a phone can cause resistance. And also try it with no phones connected.
:)

Peter H
07-06-2009, 01:26 PM
I use 98 and an internal cheap DSE modem - about 4 wired phones and Sky connection - normally over 50kb speed. Using Clear ISP.
Also have on the same computer XP - seperate HD that I use sometimes, and for some reason, it is slower - not too worried
as seldom used.