PDA

View Full Version : Front Mic Socket dead



bestie
06-06-2009, 12:08 AM
Hi All
Recently reformated HDD, have intel 965 MB installed Sigma Audio pack. OS is XP Pro.
Tried to use Skype today and front mic socket is dead, rear one works fine when set to this is the Intel Audio Studio application.

Other mic options under input are line in and Microphone, neither fire up the front mic port.

How do I reactivate the front socket?

Both headphone sockets front/back work fine.

Thanks

CYaBro
06-06-2009, 12:45 PM
You may need to open up the case and check the cables are connected to the mainboard correctly.

Rob99
06-06-2009, 02:07 PM
Try the AC97 drivers form here:
http://www.realtek.com.tw/

wainuitech
06-06-2009, 02:20 PM
If they have realtek HD Audio, theres a trick to getting the front going.

What is the actual Model of 965 board. Thats only the chipset.

Select your Actual Model from this list (http://www.intel.com/support/motherboards/desktop/chipline.htm).


1.In the task bar -Double click on the High Audio def Speaker, usually orange in colour.
2.Select the Audio I/O tab
3.Click on the Blue circle with the white spanner
4.Tick “Disable Front Panel Detection”
5.Click OK. & Close Settings.

Picture of above settings Shown Here (http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/Front_Panel_Settings1244251224.jpg)

bestie
08-06-2009, 04:48 PM
Hi, don't seem to have the real tek thingee, do you have a link to a download?

Only have Intell Audio Studio which looks like this http://imagef1.net.nz/files/sound1244432699.jpg

Thanks

Frank

wainuitech
08-06-2009, 05:44 PM
don't seem to have the real tek thingee, do you have a link to a download Depends - as I asked in the previous post

"What is the actual Model of 965 board. Thats only the chipset"

Teh link below that question will take you to the Intel Boards site, you need to supply the model Number of your board, 965 is only the chipset, and some boards have different makes of drivers.

Whats under the advanced Tab in the Pic you supplied ?

Someplace will (or should) be an option to alter the settings.

bestie
08-06-2009, 06:03 PM
Hi, sorry had pasted then in then lost the posting.

Board: Intel Corporation DQ965GF AAD41676-305

Advanced tab give options to buy now or activate - so I assume this is a dumbed down version free with the board. The socket worked before reformatted HDD and i used the same audio package then.

Thanks for your help.

Speedy Gonzales
08-06-2009, 06:10 PM
Its probably the first file under drivers here (http://downloadcenter.intel.com/filter_results.aspx?strTypes=all&ProductID=2372&OSFullName=Windows*+XP+Professional&lang=eng&strOSs=44&submit=Go!). If its not the file you've already installed

Terry Porritt
08-06-2009, 06:27 PM
The front panel audio ports should be shown underneath the diagram of the backpanel ports when you go to the "Setup" tab of the Intel Audio Studio.

It sounds to me as though the front mic socket is faulty or become disconnected, especially as the rear sockets and the front headphone socket work. There is no way as far as I can see to enable/disable the front sockets independently from the rear via software

Oops, I meant to say enable/disable front panel microphone socket via software, the headphones can be enabled/disabled

wainuitech
08-06-2009, 07:33 PM
Advanced tab give options to buy now or activate Huh-- you dont have to buy drivers, they come free with the board. The link Speedy posted is the actual drives you should have.

The Board possibly is working off the default windows drivers, which prob wont have all the functions.

Terry Porritt
08-06-2009, 08:00 PM
The Intel Audio Studio is just a mixer with options for different sound effects like 'Rock Concert' 'Symphony Hall' etc and options to set and test number of speakers. The Advanced tab is for purchasing a swept up version:

http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/IntelAudioStudio.jpg

Terry Porritt
09-06-2009, 02:48 PM
Just a bit more info re. drivers.

The IDT audio driver on the Intel download page referenced by Speedy may cause problems if Intel Audio Studio is already installed. In fact Audio studio will then no longer work, I've checked it out on my setup.

This is what the release notes say:

>>NOTE: Intel Audio Studio Users

If your system supports Intel Audio Studio and you currently have it installed on you system; please not that this is an IDT GUI driver package only and does not include or support Intel Audio Studio.

If you would like to proceed:

Installation:

First you must remove IAS by un-installing the SigmaTel/IDT driver package

1. Go to Control Panel
2. Select Add/Remove programs - WinXP or Select Programs and Features - Vista
3. Double click on the SigmaTel/IDT Audio driver in the list and uninstall
4. Re-boot your system. <<


The fact that Audio studio is already installed means that the audio drivers are also installed, which reinforces the idea the problem is hardware.

An earlier Intel audio driver package that used to be on the Intel download page and contained the Intel Audio Studio control program is no longer there as far as I can see, but it is still obtainable from here:

http://driverscollection.com/?file_cid=40356470187b8968454807e6583

bestie
09-06-2009, 06:30 PM
Thanks Terry, your posts above have explained it far better than I did.

Will pull the back off the box and see if anything looks like it has fallen off - but it might be up for a trip to the tech shop.....or just get a longer cord.

Thanks for your assistance so far.