PDA

View Full Version : Access Violation



LynX
02-06-2009, 06:36 PM
Hi everyone,

Just found a good burner software called BurnAware Free. I bet quite a lot of people out there are also using this software to burn CD's.

But anyway, I found something quite unhappy about it. When trying to add files to an Audio CD (project), it will pop up with a dialogue saying "Access Violation at..." blah blah, you can read it yourself.:badpc::badpc::badpc::badpc: For some reason, the address seemed to be always the same (or quite similar).

p.s. I think it is highly related, but I have got 2*1GB RAM sticks in my PC, and chances are they are NOT identical since I bought the second one one year after I put my PC together. Do I have to remove one RAM stick?! :crying
Any ideas appreciated.

Jen
02-06-2009, 06:40 PM
What version of BurnAware are you using? You can find this info under Help > About (normally).

Speedy Gonzales
02-06-2009, 06:40 PM
Try reinstalling it or use this instead (www.cdburnerxp.se)

LynX
02-06-2009, 07:35 PM
Who...A. Such fast replies...

I recently upgraded it to 2.3.5, from 2.2.1 Beta. So now it's kinda the latest version.

To Speedy, is CDBurnerXP good? Because it appears to be, from everyone's replies and responses. It's got such a silly name: it misleads everyone into thinking that it only works with XP :lol:

But... are anyone else ran into this problem yet? Or am I the only one with this problem?

Edit: what's up with that mysterious ntdll.dll?

Speedy Gonzales
02-06-2009, 07:38 PM
Try uninstalling it then install 2.3.5. Probably better than updating from a beta version. CdburnerXP is OK. I havent used it a lot yet. But it works fine here using 64 bit windows.

What version of windows are you using ?

Jen
02-06-2009, 07:52 PM
I recently upgraded it to 2.3.5, from 2.2.1 Beta. So now it's kinda the latest version.

Edit: what's up with that mysterious ntdll.dll?Don't forget to reboot between uninstalling and reinstalling.

Errors involving ntdll.dll can be common and have a variety of causes. In your case it sounds like the BurnAware may be causing it. You haven't been seeing that error message with other applications?

LynX
02-06-2009, 07:54 PM
Windows Vista, 32 Bit. Very friendly, isn't it?

p.s. by upgrade, I mean that I just uninstalled the previous version, and installed the new version straightaway. No registry wiping or anything like that.

Jen
02-06-2009, 07:57 PM
Did the previous version have the same problem? I see the final 2.2.1 version was supposed to fix access violation error messages. Did you reboot between uninstalling and reinstalling the program last time?

LynX
02-06-2009, 08:07 PM
Uh... no. Well, it didn't ask me to reboot anyway. But could that be the cause?

Jen
02-06-2009, 08:14 PM
It is good practice to reboot between uninstalling and reinstalling in case some files couldn't be removed because they were in use. It is unlikely not rebooting first to be the cause of your current problem - but it is best to do things properly anyway.

gary67
02-06-2009, 08:30 PM
I use burnaware free on at least 3 PC's in this house without any problems at all never seen that error message. I just download the new version when it comes out and install it over the top of the previous version, I have never uninstalled the old one first. Only thing I do is NOT let it install the Ask toolbar

Blam
02-06-2009, 08:51 PM
Try running it in Xp SP2 compatibility mode.

Right Click>Properties>Compatibility Tab>Select Windows Xp SP2

Blam

LynX
03-06-2009, 10:19 PM
Oh, yes, I've actually got Ask Toolbar already, as a result of Foxit PDF Reader (I never seen it working though :lol:).

What functions will I miss out if I uninstall Ask? I heard that there will be certain features that are NOT going to be free if I don't install Ask bar. Are they relevant, anyway?

p.s. hmm, I have to think about Foxit again...

Edit: To Blam, just tried compatibility mode but no luck... Same old message.

Blam
03-06-2009, 10:23 PM
Just remove ask bar, doesn't remove anything or make anything not free AFAIK..

gary67
04-06-2009, 07:55 AM
I use both foxit and burnaware and have never installed the ask toolbar both programs still do what they say they do on multiple computers

LynX
05-06-2009, 05:56 PM
Okay... removed the Foxit Bar (which has the cute ASK logo in front of it...), tried adding files but Access Violated. Tried rebooting and reinstalling the software (unticking the "Allow non-admin users to access DVD devices" or something like that, which I ticked during the last install). Tried adding files again but ACCESS VIOLATION again... :badpc: :badpc:

I thought that it might be my two non-identical RAM sticks that might be acting up, but it appears that no one has brought up this issue... Should I post the data under SPD tab in CPU-Z here?

LynX
14-06-2009, 10:44 AM
Since the problem is STILL not solved, I decided to revive this post.

Just looked through Event Viewer and thought this might be useful:



- EventData

burnaware_audio.exe
2.3.5.0
49fda6aa
FoxBurner.dll_unloaded
0.0.0.0
448bf69c
c0000005
04b36600
fe4
01c9e5985781e377


And the description as follows:

Faulting application burnaware_audio.exe, version 2.3.5.0, time stamp 0x49fda6aa, faulting module FoxBurner.dll_unloaded, version 0.0.0.0, time stamp 0x448bf69c, exception code 0xc0000005, fault offset 0x04b36600, process id 0xfe4, application start time 0x01c9e5985781e377.

It is being classified as an ERROR, and Microsoft online didn't find anything too useful there (mainly the list is too long and I can't be bothered reading through that...:sleep)

Speedy Gonzales
14-06-2009, 11:59 AM
Uninstall Burnaware then redownload it, since it looks like its up to 2.3.6.0. Then see what happens. There could be another program on the hdd thats conflicting with it

LynX
14-06-2009, 09:02 PM
Tried that, but doesn't work. It's interesting how the problem is about adding files into the dialogue box, and not actually burning.

Speedy Gonzales
14-06-2009, 09:10 PM
Try another program, if burnaware is the only one you've tried so far

gary67
14-06-2009, 09:15 PM
CDburnerXP is free try that and it's not just for Win XP that just happens to be the name

LynX
14-06-2009, 09:33 PM
Okay... looks like this is the most sensible option for now...

I'll try CDBurnerXP with ImgBurn for now...