Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21

Thread: Faulty NIC?

  1. #1
    Junior Member WarNox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    663

    Default Faulty NIC?

    Hey!

    Before I go back to the shop and start accusing people of selling me a faulty NIC I thought I'd run it past you guys first

    1. I bought a gigabit NIC for a computer
    2. Installed in in a PCI slot
    3. Computer picked it up and instelled driver fine
    4. The lights come on on the NIC when network cable plugged in
    5. No packets are EVER sent or received
    6. Cannot obtain IP from DHCP

    What I've tried:
    -Tried DHCP and static (static with a crossover cable and a laptop)
    -Disabling the onboard NIC in the BIOS
    -Re-installing this NIC
    -win sock repair thing (forgot actual name)
    -tried cables that I know work
    -pinging 127.0.0.1 works fine
    -pinging computer hostname works fine (reply from 169....)

    With all of the above the number of packets sent/received on the NIC remains 0!!!

    Any ideas I'm all out...

    Thanks,




    Gregor

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: Faulty NIC?

    Have you looked in Device Manager for any !'s?

    Which OS are you using?
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

  3. #3
    Señor Member nofam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mollywood
    Posts
    2,322

    Default Re: Faulty NIC?

    Sounds very much like the issue I'm having with my Cnet NIC - created a thread a few weeks back here, but never got any replies. Will watch with interest!!
    .
    .
    .

    Got a natural pearl in my calloused hand
    ...Saved for the girl who could really understand
    ......What it takes to see
    .........The gold from the alchemy

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,355

    Default Re: Faulty NIC?

    May be a long shot but have you checked your firewall?

  5. #5
    Senior Member Driftwood's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jul 2007
    Posts
    1,730

    Default Re: Faulty NIC?

    Are you conecting to a network or broadband?

  6. #6
    Junior Member WarNox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    663

    Default Re: Faulty NIC?

    -No !'s in Device Manager, says the device is working properly.
    -OS: Win XP Pro
    -Tried disabling all the firewalls but no luck there either...

    Yes, its rather strange. I've really got no idea what else it could be :S

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: Faulty NIC?

    Is your DHCP server working? I ask since it sounds like you are getting a 169.254.X.X address.
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

  8. #8
    Señor Member nofam's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Location
    Mollywood
    Posts
    2,322

    Default Re: Faulty NIC?

    Quote Originally Posted by WarNox View Post
    -No !'s in Device Manager, says the device is working properly.
    -OS: Win XP Pro
    -Tried disabling all the firewalls but no luck there either...

    Yes, its rather strange. I've really got no idea what else it could be :S
    Is it running SP3?
    .
    .
    .

    Got a natural pearl in my calloused hand
    ...Saved for the girl who could really understand
    ......What it takes to see
    .........The gold from the alchemy

  9. #9
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Surrounded by Turkeys
    Posts
    11,930

    Default Re: Faulty NIC?

    Tried rebooting your router?

  10. #10
    Junior Member WarNox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    663

    Default Re: Faulty NIC?

    -Even when it gets the 169... or I ping 127.0.0.1 the number of packets captured is 0
    -DHCP works as all other computers are working fine of the same router

    To be honest I haven't specifically restarted the router but didn't think it'd make a difference since it doesn't work in a point to point network either.

Similar Threads

  1. faulty ram
    By Nighthawk in forum PressF1
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 06-10-2004, 06:27 PM
  2. OT: Who knows about faulty TVs?
    By *Sparky* in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 10-01-2004, 08:31 PM
  3. my cd rom is faulty
    By ggyy in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-10-2003, 08:47 PM
  4. Faulty?
    By cold_fu5ion in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 18-09-2003, 09:48 AM
  5. faulty RAM ??
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 11-06-2002, 08:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •