Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 21
  1. #1
    Senior Member supersi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    412

    Default ISP Blocking website?

    My ISP is World Exchange.
    I have tried going to www.isohunt.com and the page constantly says 'connection interrupted' on both my PC's. Other websites are fine.
    I then managed to browse to the exact same website by turning off wifi on my iPhone and only utilising the 3g connection through Vodafone.
    Is my ISP blocking this website and are they allowed to? The website to the best of my knowledge is not illegal.

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    43,147

    Default Re: ISP Blocking website?

    Could be right, it times out in IE and FF here

  3. #3
    Misc. User of PressF1 somebody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,198

    Default Re: ISP Blocking website?

    Fine on TelstraClear.
    Any views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of my employer or any affiliated 3rd party.

  4. #4
    Senior Member supersi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    412

    Default Re: ISP Blocking website?

    Hmm. Not sure if it's their place to block websites that aren't illegal. I wonder how my phonecall to World Exchange will go?

  5. #5
    Senior Member supersi's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2005
    Posts
    412

    Default Re: ISP Blocking website?

    Going to a manual proxy address in FF has solved the problem

  6. #6
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    20,508

    Default Re: ISP Blocking website?

    Quote Originally Posted by somebody View Post
    Fine on TelstraClear.
    X 2 Loads in a couple of seconds.
    Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth.

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,313

    Default Re: ISP Blocking website?

    Same for me (on TC).
    "I would tell you a UDP joke but you might not get it."

  8. #8
    Trying to fiddle less! R.M.'s Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    It's warm now. :)
    Posts
    1,352

    Default Re: ISP Blocking website?

    Loads for me in Xtra.
    Now-if I could just remember where I left my brain...

  9. #9
    Mmmmmmmm.............Kate Tukapa's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    New Plymouth
    Posts
    791

    Default Re: ISP Blocking website?

    Not for me on Xnet!!
    Asus P8Z77-V LK, Core i5 3570K, 8GB DDR3 1600, 128GB SSD, 12TB HDD, GeForce GTX660 Ti 2GB, Blu-ray writer, Enermax 750W PSU, Coolermaster CM 690 II Case, Windows 8 Professional

  10. #10
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Surrounded by Turkeys
    Posts
    12,098

    Default Re: ISP Blocking website?

    Loads for me in FF3.1 with Vodafone

Similar Threads

  1. Blocking website software
    By iansmcdonald in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-05-2007, 04:40 AM
  2. Blocking IP form a website
    By noone in forum PressF1
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 30-08-2005, 10:44 PM
  3. Blocking Website
    By kaindia in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 25-01-2004, 08:39 PM
  4. Blocking Website Access
    By ~~~~~ s y ~~~~~ in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24-10-2003, 10:28 AM
  5. blocking P2P
    By heni72847 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 12-02-2003, 04:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •