Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Member NZHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kuaotunu
    Posts
    1,581

    Default System Preparation Tool 2.0

    I received an laptop from a supplier with System Preparation Tool 2.0.
    It boots every time the laptop restarts.
    I don't need it any more & have been unable to discover how to uninstall it.

    Does anyone know how to remove System Preparation Tool 2.0?

    Thanks

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    43,147

    Default Re: System Preparation Tool 2.0

    By the looks of it, whoever put it there, may have to remove it

    I think its used to make customised setups / OEM versions of Windows

  3. #3
    Member NZHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kuaotunu
    Posts
    1,581

    Default Re: System Preparation Tool 2.0

    Thank you, I'll contact the supplier.

    Cheers

  4. #4
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    20,522

    Default Re: System Preparation Tool 2.0

    have you let it run all the way through, and completed filling in all the details, this should only run once when a User first starts the PC from New.

    If it runs more than once, then its either a bad install, or the parameters in sysprep have been entered wrong.
    Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth.

  5. #5
    Member NZHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kuaotunu
    Posts
    1,581

    Default Re: System Preparation Tool 2.0

    The System Preparation Tool has three buttons to choose from: Factory, Audit and Reseal; then there are Options:
    - Don't reset grace period
    - Use mini set up
    - Dont regenerate security identifiers
    Shutdown mode is set to shutdown

    how do I allow it to run all the way through?

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    43,147

    Default Re: System Preparation Tool 2.0

    This is what the options mean

    I have no idea what you select, I've never used Sysprep for anything

    Take it back to the supplier, and let them fix it

  7. #7
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    20,522

    Default Re: System Preparation Tool 2.0

    I'll Let you know the setting in a short while, just need to check.
    Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth.

  8. #8
    Member NZHawk's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Kuaotunu
    Posts
    1,581

    Default Re: System Preparation Tool 2.0

    The supplier suggested that I choose the "Reseal" option.
    Unfortunately that has boloxed the whole thing & now it looks like I'll need to do a reformat.
    Bugger

    Thanks for your help.

  9. #9
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    20,522

    Default Re: System Preparation Tool 2.0

    yep the reseal along with regenerate security identifiers should have taken it back to factory settings, meaning when the person starts the PC for the first time, they enter the local area's ( NZ) User name etc.

    You shouldn't even be seeing the sysprep app box, that would indicate the original install is corrupted in some way - and it looks like you confirmed that by saying resealing screwed the OS.

    I use sysprep quite a bit especially when making Images, run the sysprep tool, then clone the drive in that state, load the image to a new PC and when it boots, simply fill in the customers details / product key etc.
    Once you eliminate the impossible, whatever remains, no matter how improbable, must be the truth.

  10. #10
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    22,014

    Default Re: System Preparation Tool 2.0

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post

    You shouldn't even be seeing the sysprep app box, that would indicate the original install is corrupted in some way
    I just had one of those in this morning. It was bought in because
    1) Had endless problems since purchased
    2) Was showing some text and going round and round


    Well it had apparently just completed its factory restore as it I turned it on and it asked me to activate XP then showed this.

    Nothing left of the original users stuff at all.

    They were in tears...............its odd, It had a 40GB drive with 37GB showing under XP. No partitions showing from within windows.

    So how does this fatcory restore without the user initiating it in the first place, they said they hadn't.

Similar Threads

  1. System info tool suggestions.
    By *Sparky* in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 16-10-2008, 11:33 PM
  2. System Information Tool Needed
    By Winston001 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 24
    Last Post: 19-01-2008, 08:30 AM
  3. System info tool?
    By mejobloggs in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 06-07-2006, 10:22 PM
  4. Tool to slow down system speed
    By tango in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 15-01-2003, 08:56 AM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31-05-2002, 09:16 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •