Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,986

    Default Motherboard supporting 16GB RAM?

    Just been looking at this:
    http://www.gigabyte.com.tw/Products/...GA-MA790FX-DQ6

    It says 16GB support but crucial.com says 2GB per slot is supported for a total of just 8GB. So who's right?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    43,069

    Default Re: Motherboard supporting 16GB RAM?

    Well unless you can get 4 GB dimms, you wont get 16 GB, only 8 GB.

  3. #3
    Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,986

    Default Re: Motherboard supporting 16GB RAM?

    Does that mean its future proof? Meaning in the future I can replace the ram sticks with 4GBs .. should that be available?

    I'm not getting it yet .. is 4GB coming soon? Just that 8GB doesn't seem to be a big jump from 4GB ....

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    43,069

    Default Re: Motherboard supporting 16GB RAM?

    Looks like this place

    Sells 4 GB ECC ram, BUT as it says on the Gigabyte site, the CPU MUST also support ECC. Otherwise it wont work. But its not cheap

    And you have to get a 64 bit mobo and OS

  5. #5
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    20,158

    Default Re: Motherboard supporting 16GB RAM?

    4 gb RAM is available now - From one of my Vendors --
    4G 256X4 DDR2-667 ECC Registered Samsung
    You need DEEEEEEEP pockets though.
    MURPHIES LAW THOUGH ILLOGICAL as per NORMAL IS ACTUALLY THE MOST LOGICAL SOLUTION OF ALL.

    New Forum

  6. #6
    Senior Member Thebananamonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    1,677

    Default Re: Motherboard supporting 16GB RAM?

    You can get pretty much anything you want size wise. The only downside to that is you have to actually pay for it. You can get a mac pro with 32GB RAM, but you pay something like 16k for the RAM upgrade alone. It will probably come down, and maybe one day programs are going to use that, but that's quite some future you're proofing against.

  7. #7
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    21,900

    Default Re: Motherboard supporting 16GB RAM?

    Quote Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
    Does that mean its future proof? Meaning in the future I can replace the ram sticks with 4GBs ..
    Nothing is futureproof.

    Yes you could - but - when the price on them drops, who knows what else they'll have out by then? Not to mention CPU support also.........Always a risk buying that sort of thing for future use...........and expensive.

  8. #8
    Banned
    Join Date
    Feb 2008
    Posts
    1,218

    Default Re: Motherboard supporting 16GB RAM?

    Quote Originally Posted by Nomad View Post
    Does that mean its future proof? Meaning in the future I can replace the ram sticks with 4GBs .. should that be available?

    I'm not getting it yet .. is 4GB coming soon? Just that 8GB doesn't seem to be a big jump from 4GB ....
    Almost. The current maximum for a Pro desktop is 32GB of RAM (for now) which costs around $18,000 NZ for the cheapest stuff with the right specs.

    The only downside to that is you have to actually pay for it. You can get a mac pro with 32GB RAM, but you pay something like 16k for the RAM upgrade alone.
    Depending on what you use your computer for, that should actually pay for itself before too long.
    http://www.computerworld.com/action/...icleId=9067899
    Last edited by vitalstatistix; 28-03-2008 at 03:16 PM.

  9. #9
    Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,986

    Default Re: Motherboard supporting 16GB RAM?

    If not mistaken the 4GB sticks are like $450 .. that's not a lot more than 2x 2GB sticks .. I just might get 1 stick of 4GB and get another in the future .. least it opens leaves the options open ...

  10. #10
    Senior Member Thebananamonkey's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    1,677

    Default Re: Motherboard supporting 16GB RAM?

    Surely running 2x2GB on dual channel is faster than 1x4GB on single? I'd stay at 2x2 and upgrade from there... but what are you using it for? More RAM may suit you if you have a special use for it, but otherwise I'd say you're wasting your money.

Similar Threads

  1. Brand New Unlokced Apple iPhone 16GB $250
    By Varesinter in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 16-04-2008, 06:31 PM
  2. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 16-03-2008, 11:13 PM
  3. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-02-2008, 09:18 PM
  4. 16GB solid state hard drives
    By zqwerty in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 26-05-2005, 06:22 PM
  5. Supporting/Paying for Freeware
    By Winston001 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 01-08-2004, 05:21 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •