Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2007
    Posts
    6

    Default Am i able to plug a wireless router into a wired modem/router?

    I have a normal 4 port non-wireless Dynalink modem/router. i'm wanting to buy a cheap wireless router to connect other 2 other PCs and my PSP etc. am i able to plug this wireless router into the non-wireless modem/router? if so, will i have any peformance loss or anything?

    ill keep the main computter plugged into the wired modem so pings stay good.

    Would a cheap g standard wireless router do? i dont mind about pings on the other comps or anything.

    Also, ADSL2 will be in my area soon, so if i plug a cheap wireless router that dosent support ADSL2 into my non-wireless modem/router that does support ADSL2, will my speeds be affected by plugging in a non ADSL2 modem? will my ADSL2 connection be restrained to ADSL1 speeds?

    thanks

  2. #2
    Sort of a Computer Neird! jackyht2002's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    North Shore, Auckland, NZ
    Posts
    157

    Default Re: Am i able to plug a wireless router into a wired modem/router?

    Quote Originally Posted by jmastaj View Post
    I have a normal 4 port non-wireless Dynalink modem/router. i'm wanting to buy a cheap wireless router to connect other 2 other PCs and my PSP etc. am i able to plug this wireless router into the non-wireless modem/router? if so, will i have any peformance loss or anything?

    ill keep the main computter plugged into the wired modem so pings stay good.

    Would a cheap g standard wireless router do? i dont mind about pings on the other comps or anything.

    Also, ADSL2 will be in my area soon, so if i plug a cheap wireless router that dosent support ADSL2 into my non-wireless modem/router that does support ADSL2, will my speeds be affected by plugging in a non ADSL2 modem? will my ADSL2 connection be restrained to ADSL1 speeds?

    thanks

    i think you can buy a wireless router to connect between your PSP and your Dynalink modem.. may i give you a suggestion, you might want to buy the D-link DWL-G700AP http://www.dlink.co.nz/Products.aspx...ub2=82&PID=214

    honestly, i don't know which Dynalink modem you got?? most likely the old version right??? if you have any of the old version, then it won't likely to support you for the ADSL2, strongly recommended with the DSL-G604T as it do support ADSL2... if you don't like dlink product, there are plenty of modem out there that support ADSL2+....

    and of course, if you want ADSL2 speed, then of course you need ADSL2 modem as it will affect the speed if you using the non-compatiable units

    Regards
    jacky

  3. #3
    Seeker Misty's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Birkenhead, North Shore, AK (amongst the bush)
    Posts
    2,044

    Exclamation Re: Am i able to plug a wireless router into a wired modem/router?

    from my experience of wasting quite a few hours and bringing in expert help to get the two working together it does not always work as there can be compatibility issues. In the end we finished up dispensing with the old wired modem/router and using one D-link wireless unit fit for the overall purpose.
    Misty

  4. #4
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Am i able to plug a wireless router into a wired modem/router?

    Yes, you can, I have got a Linksys WAG54G ADSL2+ modem and a Linksys WRT54GL broadband router running as a switch and I can also use the wireless on the WRT (even though the WAG has wireless)

    If your modem supports ADSL 2 then that is all you need for ADSL 2...

    You will be wanting a wireless access point, not a wireless router, or you could get a wireless broadband router and run it as a switch for extra wired connections and as an AP.

    With my setup I have all PC plugged into the switch (which goes through the modem and then out to the net) and pings are EXACTLY the same, no matter what. BUT webpages visually load faster when I am running on the switch compared to the modem

    Stay AWAY from D-Link, most of the members on here will say the same thing, I have had nothing but trouble with D-Link (as a lot of others will say ws well)... I have been running Linksys for well over a year and never had any issues...
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  5. #5
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    13,352

    Default Re: Am i able to plug a wireless router into a wired modem/router?

    I got it working like that for a friend of mine, added a TP-Link wireless router into the mix with 2 unmanaged switches and DHCP provided from a linksys router which was also supplying his wireless internet

    Connected TP-Link to his PC, and disabled its own DHCP server, told it to be a DHCP relay, changed its own IP address from 192.168.0.1 to 192.168.10.1 and connected it to the existing network.

    When connected to the existing network, the IP address for the PCs won't match its own address of 192.168.10.1, so to configure it it has to be taken out of the loop. trying to access the TP-Links config would just get you his linksys when both are plugged in.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 13
    Last Post: 16-07-2008, 05:22 PM
  2. Wireless Router/modem
    By nui in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 04-12-2006, 04:21 PM
  3. Wireless Router/Modem
    By JJJJJ in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 28-01-2005, 06:34 PM
  4. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 17-07-2003, 06:00 PM
  5. Wired/wireless/ ADSL router ?
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-04-2002, 09:19 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •