Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default How long should a laptop last for?

Hi all,

I'm new to this kind of thing and my Acer laptop had issues with the "systems board". I bought it to datacom which has the worst customer service ever! the guy is not even sure it's the system board but talked to me like I was a kid
    Bought my laptop in dec 05 and thought well it's not a "reasonable" that a laptop I paid 2500 should last for!! Acer doesn't think so. I called them up and they said they only expect their laptops to last 12 months! (that's bull!)
    I would never ever recommend or buy a ACER ever again.

What experience has anyone had with taking the matter further?

Default Re: How long should a laptop last for?

Quote Originally Posted by sophanc View Post
    Hi all,

I'm new to this kind of thing and my Acer laptop had issues with the "systems board". I bought it to datacom which has the worst customer service ever! the guy is not even sure it's the system board but talked to me like I was a kid
    Bought my laptop in dec 05 and thought well it's not a "reasonable" that a laptop I paid 2500 should last for!! Acer doesn't think so. I called them up and they said they only expect their laptops to last 12 months! (that's bull!)
    I would never ever recommend or buy a ACER ever again.

What experience has anyone had with taking the matter further?
    we (my work place) expect a laptop to last 2 to 3 years.
    I have an Acer that is over three years old and runs and looks good as new.
    "Sometimes the only thing more dangerous than a question is an answer!"
    Grand Nagus - Zek

http://brightwork.wordpress.com/

Laptops life span can depend on many things, like how they are treated etc.

I have seen laptops last only 12-18 months, others last lots longer.

I have an acer myself with XP Pro, that is 4 years old, and while slow compared to Laptops these days, it runs perfectly.