Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 17
  1. #1
    heaton
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whitianga
    Posts
    201

    Default Use ing TV as extra monitor.

    I run a small group interested in photoshop and similar pro grammes. Instead of the group looking over my shoulder is it possible to run a lead from my computer into the AV of my TV so that all could see from their seats. I don't want to go to the expense of a projector,

  2. #2
    Senior Member godfather's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Central New Munster
    Posts
    3,053

    Default Re: Use ing TV as extra monitor.

    Does your video card support AV out?

    Remember that any text will look shocking on a TV, the resolution is very poor, relative to a monitor.

  3. #3
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Use ing TV as extra monitor.

    Yes... If the TV and GFX card support it... But seeing as you have failed to provide any details on these it is impossible to say
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  4. #4
    Lets play Metla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mega City One
    Posts
    16,168

    Default Re: Use ing TV as extra monitor.

    What gets me, Is my TV is about a 12 years old, And the text is perfectly readable, Browsing the web or my files/folders is no issue, images are sharp, Games look awesome.

    I also have the feed out to the TV set at 1026 x 768.

    Any chance my Tv is actualy capable of accepting that resolution?...it seems to be....
    better Dredd then dead

  5. #5
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Watching the tech world from Auckland.
    Posts
    5,142

    Default Re: Use ing TV as extra monitor.

    Quote Originally Posted by heaton View Post
    I run a small group interested in photoshop and similar pro grammes. Instead of the group looking over my shoulder is it possible to run a lead from my computer into the AV of my TV so that all could see from their seats. I don't want to go to the expense of a projector,
    They guy I work for has just done it with his recently purchased Toshiba laptop (which I helped him choose) and a TV RGB cable plugged into his big screen TV. According to him it is very successful.

  6. #6
    They call me David... The_End_Of_Reality's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2005
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    2,849

    Default Re: Use ing TV as extra monitor.

    Quote Originally Posted by winmacguy View Post
    They guy I work for has just done it with his recently purchased Toshiba laptop (which I helped him choose) and a TV RGB cable plugged into his big screen TV. According to him it is very successful.
    What??!! you didn't help him choose a Mac? what is wrong with you??? Or are you finally seeing the light?
    Quote Originally Posted by Me
    It's a harddrive you idiot!

  7. #7
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Watching the tech world from Auckland.
    Posts
    5,142

    Default Re: Use ing TV as extra monitor.

    Quote Originally Posted by The_End_Of_Reality View Post
    What??!! you didn't help him choose a Mac? what is wrong with you??? Or are you finally seeing the light?
    Not at all TEoR. There is no Mac in the 15" size for $1699 which was the price range he was looking in. His budget was between $1500-$1700 for the laptop and a bit extra for extended warranty and Cashbook. I have helped him out with OpenOffice which I also use, Avast, Spybot, Comodo, FF, iTunes and Picasa and will also sort him out with GIMP. He is running XP Pro SP2. I was very happy with his choice.

    The current 15" MacBook Pro is/was excessively priced at $4500 (yes that is my honest view) It used to be around $3500.
    The range has recently been updated and reduced in price to $3399 although considering the current exchange rate I believe that Apple NZ could still drop $500-$600 of the price and still do ok since the MacBook Pro 15" is priced from $1999 US. The problem is that they buy from Apple Australia and could do it cheaper if they bought from Apple Canada.

  8. #8
    Lets play Metla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mega City One
    Posts
    16,168

    Default Re: Use ing TV as extra monitor.

    In other words his crap wouldn't fly with his boss, a person who can probably base his decisions on logic rather then devotion.
    better Dredd then dead

  9. #9
    Banned
    Join Date
    Dec 2006
    Location
    Watching the tech world from Auckland.
    Posts
    5,142

    Default Re: Use ing TV as extra monitor.

    Quote Originally Posted by Metla View Post
    In other words his crap wouldn't fly with his boss, a person who can probably base his decisions on logic rather then devotion.
    Actualy up until now he has been completely computer illiterate and didn't even want to touch one. I have recently helped him with a school project for is his which required internet access.

  10. #10
    Lets play Metla's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Mega City One
    Posts
    16,168

    Default Re: Use ing TV as extra monitor.

    Right, and hes your boss?

    and you have a job that is based around computers?
    better Dredd then dead

Similar Threads

  1. Extra dvd rom
    By Mateo1981 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 26-04-2008, 07:36 PM
  2. Extra HD
    By Woody in forum PressF1
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 07-11-2004, 06:37 PM
  3. Will extra Ram help me, and how?
    By pulling hair out in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 10-10-2004, 02:18 PM
  4. Do I need extra RAM ?
    By Misty in forum PressF1
    Replies: 22
    Last Post: 28-08-2004, 01:10 PM
  5. Need some extra Paint !
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 05-05-2000, 06:41 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •