Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16

Thread: Adsl and Dsl

  1. #1
    HAMLESS Ninjabear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    2,468

    Default Adsl and Dsl

    I have a question.Are we using ADSL or DSL for broadband?As some isp call it Dsl and some call it ADSl.Is there a difference between them?

    Is orcon,xtra,worldnet etc all using dsl?

    Adsl is used with fibre optic cable which means telstra clear and paradise are using adsl?
    Corsair Carbide Series® 500R,Intel i5 2500k,P8Z77V-Pro, 12GB DDR-1333MHZ ram, Asus DVD writer, Radeon Sapphire r9 270X 3GB , Windows 8 -64 Bit

  2. #2
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    21,898

    Default Re: Adsl and Dsl

    ADSL is just asymmetric DSL.

    http://www.webopedia.com/DidYouKnow/...ble_vs_dsl.asp

    Then there's cable which is different.

    And no, our broadband is NOT over fibre, its over copper.

  3. #3
    "time is running out" Lizard's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    571

    Default Re: Adsl and Dsl

    The way I understand it, ADSL is when the download and upload speeds are not the same (i.e. 256kb download and 128kb upload). DSL is when they are the same (i.e. 256kb download and 256kb upload). Most ISPs in NZ that I am aware of are ADSL - there may be a few that aren't.

  4. #4
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    1,355

    Default Re: Adsl and Dsl

    Quote Originally Posted by Lizard
    DSL is when they are the same (i.e. 256kb download and 256kb upload).
    Aahhhhhh so that means everyone is using DSL then cos the upload and download speeds are they same everywhere.... CRAP!!!

    Sorry it's been a while since I vented my frustration with the local telecommunications monopoly.

    cheers

    chiefnz

    Asus P8Z77-VL X
    Intel Core i7-3770 @ 3.4GHz
    24GB DDR3 RAM
    1 x 250GB Samsung 840 Series SSD
    1 x Seagate 500GB
    2 x Western Digital 1TB
    Asus DVD/RW
    nVidia GeForce GTX 650 (Asus)
    Thermaltake V3 Black Edition with 550W PSU
    Windows 8.1 Pro

  5. #5
    Senior Member Trev's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Wish You Were Here
    Posts
    7,597

    Default Re: Adsl and Dsl

    Yes everyone that has broadband through Telecom is on ADSL.

    Trevor

  6. #6
    Modulator Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,130

    Default Re: Adsl and Dsl

    LOL @ Chiefnz

    The pitiful thing about our broadband is really the adsl aspect, which particularly affects online gamers. Most folks can enjoy reasonable download speeds, ie 2Mb/s, but for gaming upstream is almost as important. Grr
    Comments by Greg brought to you courtesy AlcoLine® IV drip, for when the tedious act of drinking takes too much time away from gaming.

  7. #7
    Mostly harmless member kingdragonfly's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Location
    Wellington NZ
    Posts
    1,029

    Default Re: Adsl and Dsl

    ADSL and DSL are often used interchangeably, but they are different. I've seen quite a few vendors make this mistake too.

    If you call Xtra asking for DSL support/sales, the helpdesk technician/sales person will know what you mean. I doubt they'd say "you mean ADSL, right?"

    In the States, they refer to "the last mile," meaning where the fibre loop stops, and the short copper runs to the consumers begin. "The last mile" is typically more vulnerable to disruptions, such as car drivers ploughing into telephone poles, or construction workers cutting cables.

  8. #8
    --:-- Murray P's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Welly
    Posts
    2,961

    Default Re: Adsl and Dsl

    Quote Originally Posted by Ninjabear
    Adsl is used with fibre optic cable which means telstra clear and paradise are using adsl?
    If it's cable as in the old Saturn Cable network (now owned by Teltraclear) it is neither DSL or ADSL, even though it may be asynchronys, it uses a different technology than Digital Subscriber Line to deliver the signals.

  9. #9
    HAMLESS Ninjabear's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    2,468

    Default Re: Adsl and Dsl

    Will an Adsl modem work with a DSl connection?lol.Confusing
    Corsair Carbide Series® 500R,Intel i5 2500k,P8Z77V-Pro, 12GB DDR-1333MHZ ram, Asus DVD writer, Radeon Sapphire r9 270X 3GB , Windows 8 -64 Bit

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    290

    Default Re: Adsl and Dsl

    Its the same technology, the speeds are the only difference. I have a feeling that due to the bundling of heaps of wires at the exchange, it is easier to have a different upload speed compared to download speed - when mr. physics employed interference. I'll try find a technical explanation.

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 27-02-2003, 09:41 AM
  2. USB ADSL Modem vs ADSL Router
    By Clementling in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 22-02-2003, 12:47 PM
  3. ADSL
    By daninjapan in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 18-12-2002, 01:11 PM
  4. ADSL
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 28-05-2002, 01:44 PM
  5. ADSL
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-12-2001, 10:12 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •