Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    236

    Question Microsoft AntiSpyware Beta1

    I am having a problem with Microsoft AntiSpyware since I re installed the updated version as recommended by C/Net download dispatch.
    I now have version 1.0.614 which is presumably the latest. And I am running Widows XP SP 2
    Prior to this update I had Microsoft AntiSpyware running on my computer with no problems. I had the scheduler set to run a scan at 6.00 P.M. every night and this happened without fault and on time.
    I now notice that when I set the scheduler to run at any time after Noon, on pressing the 'Update Schedule' button, the time defaults back to the hour that I have just set but in the A.M. in other words I can only set a time for the program to scan in the A.M. hours.
    I would appreciate any suggestions as well as the experiences of others.
    I have tried to find an answer to this question on the appropriate forum at MS with no results.
    Thanks

  2. #2
    Jungle Bhoy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    360

    Angry Re: Microsoft AntiSpyware Beta1

    Same problem on Win2K (SP4)

  3. #3
    Long time RTS Gamer
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    1,038

    Default Re: Microsoft AntiSpyware Beta1

    I am thinking about removing this software, if M$ considers Hotbar as a partner, who else with they consider as partners.
    You have no secrets on the internet.
    Be careful and vigilant. The internet should be considered like roads, avoiding an incident is better than trying to survive one.

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    236

    Default Re: Microsoft AntiSpyware Beta1

    Quote Originally Posted by Miami Steve
    Same problem on Win2K (SP4)
    Miami Steve

    Thanks for the feedback. Nice to know it's not just something strange in my computer.

  5. #5
    Jungle Bhoy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    360

    Default Re: Microsoft AntiSpyware Beta1

    There is a newsgroup here that has discussions about this and other scheduler bugs. Select General from the left hand menu, then look for the post at 11:38am on June 28. You may need to click the "Expand ALL" at the top of the screen to see the replies.

  6. #6
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    848

    Default Re: Microsoft AntiSpyware Beta1

    Try this to see if it helps.

    "Go to Start/All Programs/Accessories/System Tools/Scheduled Tasks/Microsoft Antispyware
    Under the Task tab make sure that "run only if logged on" is unchecked.

    You can also go to Control Panel/Power Options to change settings for staying logged on."
    copied from here.
    http://www.bleepingcomputer.com/foru...me-t14744.html
    The wise are not wise because they make no mistakes. They are wise because they correct their mistakes as soon as they recognize them. - Orson Scott Card (1951- ),

  7. #7

    Default Re: Microsoft AntiSpyware Beta1

    Do you have "Taskscheduler" disabled in Services?
    Some programs eg Nortons need taskscheduler running to function properly
    Just a thought
    I haven't spoken to my wife for 18 months - I just don't dare to interrupt her.

  8. #8
    Long Time Member drcspy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    KroyWen
    Posts
    3,193

    Default Re: Microsoft AntiSpyware Beta1

    system restore back to before your problem will reinstate the 'old' version for you
    There are two sides to any question; MY side and the WRONG side (Winston Churchill)

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Tauranga
    Posts
    236

    Question Re: Microsoft AntiSpyware Beta1

    Quote Originally Posted by bartsdadhomer
    Do you have "Taskscheduler" disabled in Services?
    Some programs eg Nortons need taskscheduler running to function properly
    Just a thought
    Sorry to be so dumb but how do I access 'Taskscheduler' in services?

  10. #10
    Jungle Bhoy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Paradise
    Posts
    360

    Default Re: Microsoft AntiSpyware Beta1

    Quote Originally Posted by drcspy
    system restore back to before your problem will reinstate the 'old' version for you
    Why would System Restore reinstate an old version of an application?

    Anyway, solution (tried and tested) is to change your locale/location to English (US), go into MS AntiSpyware, set your scan time, (it will stay now), then change your locale/location back to English(New Zealand). Thanks to the MS Newsgroup for that solution.

Similar Threads

  1. Microsoft Antispyware is now know as...
    By Overdrive_5000 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 24-02-2006, 10:39 AM
  2. Microsoft AntiSpyware
    By Scouse in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 27-05-2005, 06:50 AM
  3. Replies: 14
    Last Post: 25-05-2005, 04:59 PM
  4. Microsoft Antispyware...Verdict
    By KiwiLinc in forum PressF1
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 02-02-2005, 09:55 AM
  5. Microsoft Antispyware Beta1
    By Elephant in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 15-01-2005, 08:58 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •