Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default RAM Upgrade help

    I would like to upgrade my RAM (preferably two 512Mb chips) and I do not know what model HP I have since it was given to me by a friend. I did a scan of my PC and this is what I found (listed below). Can anyone tell what RAM would be compatable with my PC from this information. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!

    CPU(s)
    Number of CPUs 1

    Name Intel Celeron
    Code Name Tualatin
    Specification Intel(R) Celeron(TM) CPU 1300MHz
    Family / Model / Stepping 6 B 1
    Extended Family / Model 0 0
    Brand ID 3
    Package Socket 370 FC-PGA2
    Core Stepping tA1
    Technology 0.13
    Supported Instructions Sets MMX, SSE
    CPU Clock Speed 1302.9 MHz
    Clock multiplier x 13.0
    Front Side Bus Frequency 100.2 MHz
    Bus Speed 100.2 MHz
    L1 Data Cache 16 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 32 Bytes line size
    L1 Instruction Cache 16 KBytes, 4-way set associative, 32 Bytes line size
    L2 Cache 256 KBytes, 8-way set associative, 32 Bytes line size
    L2 Latency 1
    L2 Speed 1302.9 MHz (Full)
    L2 Location On Chip
    L2 ECC Check enabled
    L2 Data Prefetch Logic yes
    L2 Bus Width 256 bits



    Mainboard and chipset
    Motherboard manufacturer ASUSTeK Computer INC.
    Motherboard model TUW-LA, REV 1.xx
    BIOS vendor Award Software, Inc.
    BIOS revision 3.05
    BIOS release date 03/13/2002
    Chipset Intel i810E rev. A3
    Southbridge Intel 82801AA (ICH) rev. 2




    Memory
    DRAM Type SDRAM
    DRAM Size 256 MBytes
    CAS# Latency 2.0 clocks
    RAS# to CAS# 2 clocks
    RAS# Precharge 2 clocks
    Cycle Time (TRAS) 5 clocks
    Bank Cycle Time (TRC) 7 clocks



    Software
    Windows version Microsoft Windows XP Professional (Build 2600)
    DirectX version 9.0b

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    3,082

    Default Re: RAM Upgrade help

    Quote Originally Posted by Yoda
    I would like to upgrade my RAM (preferably two 512Mb chips) and I do not know what model HP I have since it was given to me by a friend. I did a scan of my PC and this is what I found (listed below). Can anyone tell what RAM would be compatable with my PC from this information. Any help would be greatly appreciated.

    Thanks!


    Chipset Intel i810E rev. A3
    Southbridge Intel 82801AA (ICH) rev. 2




    Memory
    DRAM Type SDRAM
    DRAM Size 256 MBytes
    Did a visual scan not find any HP labelling? I think Intel 810 chipsets only support up to 512MB of PC100 SDRAM so that'll save you some money

  3. #3
    Long Time Member drcspy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    KroyWen
    Posts
    3,193

    Default Re: RAM Upgrade help

    I'd say pc100 sdram but I'm not sure wether it'd take single sided or dual...

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    145

    Default Re: RAM Upgrade help

    gidday,

    press ctrl alt s keys together, this will give you the the model number,
    and other information, then do a search through the HP web site,
    for the model. If you cant find the information, send an e-mail
    to HP thorugh the web site.

    cheers,

    robby

  5. #5
    tweakedgeek tweak'e's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    winterlessnorth (well almost)
    Posts
    4,341

    Default Re: RAM Upgrade help

    810 chipsets normally max out at 512. you will need double sided ram and LOW DENSITY chips. ie you will need a 16 chips 256 meg ram stick. 8 chip or 4 chip ram sticks may not work at all.
    Tweak it till it breaks

  6. #6
    Senior Member KatiMike's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Bay of Plenty
    Posts
    223

    Default Re: RAM Upgrade help

    Hi Yoda , belarc advisor may give you the model name etc

    http://www.belarc.com/free_download.html

    on a quick look at the asus site I can't see the board mentioned

    As Robby pointed out , if you know the model name you'll be able to search the
    HP site for more info

  7. #7
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    2

    Default Re: RAM Upgrade help

    Thanks for all the help. The belarc advisor worked like a dream and I found my model number (Pavilion 512x), searched the HP site, and found what I need. As tweak'e stated, I max out at 512 and need low density chips. Just ordered two 256MB chips. Once again thanks for all the help!!!!

    A journey of a thousand miles begins with one step.

Similar Threads

  1. xp upgrade
    By Rip Van Winkle in forum PressF1
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 13-09-2002, 12:28 PM
  2. RAM Upgrade
    By kiwitrader in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-09-2002, 11:44 AM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-02-2002, 06:19 PM
  4. CPU upgrade
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19-07-2001, 12:15 PM
  5. Ram Upgrade
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 21-03-2001, 09:26 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •