Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Senior Member sal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,425

    Default Firefox won't load

    When I run Firefox (Shortcut or exe) it loads (it appears Task Manager > Processes), but no browser window appears. This only happens on the main windows account though (not the admin account). The only thing I've changed recently is increased the amount TCP connection attempts via www.lvllord.de

    WinXP Pro, SP 2
    Last edited by sal; 23-01-2005 at 01:36 PM.
    Consider it...umm █████

  2. #2
    Peripatetic member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dunedin & Central Otago
    Posts
    2,795

    Default Re: Firefox won't load

    I'm glad Sal has posted this, as I've had a similar problem for some time, but been too busy to ask for help.
    Instead, I took the temporary way out (return to Internet Explorer ) & am finding it a real pain after getting used to Firefox through 2 previous versions - though far from expert.
    Unlike Sal, I don't know what I changed at the time. Nothing drastic - well, not on purpose, anyway.
    I have uninstalled older versions & installed 1.0 twice.
    (I recall that one of those didn't at first disappear in Add/Remove, so I think I deleted files separately. A clue perhaps..?)
    It should function in theory, but nothing comes up on screen except the hourglass, which joins the cursor. That hourglass then stays when I access other webpages, but doesn't stop me doing anything except view Firefox)
    As Firefox 1.0 is on the new February PC World CD, I wonder if installing from that would make any difference?
    Grateful for any advice.

    Win98SE

  3. #3
    Peripatetic member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Dunedin & Central Otago
    Posts
    2,795

    Default Re: Firefox won't load

    bump

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Red & Black Territory
    Posts
    233

    Default Re: Firefox won't load

    May be your homepage. See this link to query in Mozillazine Forum
    here

    Other comments in Mozillazine forum [covers FF browser]....
    Change your home startup page: Tools>Options>General
    May be your firewall needs checking.
    Maybe a trojan has taken over your homepage.

    These were all I could find. Wish you luck.

  5. #5
    Senior Member sal's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    New Zealand
    Posts
    1,425

    Default Re: Firefox won't load

    I ended up uninstalling - reinstalling firefox cos I missed it too much. I think it might have been an extension getting hung up or that the homepage was xtra.co.nz ("Connection refused"). Still not sure.
    Consider it...umm █████

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 25
    Last Post: 17-10-2007, 08:45 PM
  2. Firefox doesn't always load properly
    By somebody in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 17-02-2006, 08:56 AM
  3. Firefox slow load
    By sarel in forum PressF1
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 08-10-2005, 06:49 PM
  4. Speed up Firefox load time
    By Kibito in forum PressF1
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 01-12-2004, 05:50 PM
  5. D/load Installer or Archive for Firefox 0.9.3???
    By pulling hair out in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 06-08-2004, 01:23 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •