Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    PEBKAC
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bognor Regis
    Posts
    68

    Question Not getting to Desktop at start up!

    Hi peeps!
    I think I may need to appologise for my stupidity here even before I start!
    I took my two hdds (20GB primary with the OS on, and 160GB secondary just for, well, storage really) from a machine as I was giving the case and all inside to a good friend of mine. I did a completely new install on her pc (new hdd, formatted and loaded with XP, and a few other life sustaining programs) so no problems there.
    And now the fun begins. I then was not able to get the super pc I was after (well all the parts so as I could build it) and so was given an older pc case, mb etc than the one I had.
    So now all it does is get to the point where it says (to paraphrase) Windows was not shut down properly (seconds counting down as I read that) and (me saying this) has detected changes. Choose a mode to start up in: Safe mode, Something else, Another mode, One other mode and if you don't know choose 'Normal' mode. Well on chooseing ANY of these it just keeps returning back to the same spot.
    I would appreciate anybodies thoughts please.
    Regards,
    The Cell
    PS More details can be supplied if ness. Just ask and I'll endevour to find out

  2. #2
    Jedi master Rob99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    In the wop wops
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: Not getting to Desktop at start up!

    Just clearing things up.

    You put your HD's in a new computer you just built and now Windows wont boot up.

    What OS?

  3. #3
    Moderator Jen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    7,876

    Default Re: Not getting to Desktop at start up!

    Windows isn't too fond of finding itself having a motherboard transplant, as it would of had all the drivers for the previous hardware configured.

    Have you tried doing a repair of the OS using your install disc?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,355

    Default Re: Not getting to Desktop at start up!

    Prescott posted a link to this guide the other day that may be of some help if you have Windows XP.

  5. #5
    PEBKAC
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bognor Regis
    Posts
    68

    Exclamation Re: Not getting to Desktop at start up!

    Rob99,
    Perhaps I should have said "New to me!!" Look, I,ve appologised already
    The OS is XP Pro, and most of the parts are (read all of them) are changed! Gosh, I'm starting to wish I hadn't agreed to let her have the 'old' computer. But I knew you peeps would come to my rescue. Oh and I don't have much pride LOL.
    Thanks.
    Jen,
    I think FoxyMX may have it (see below). As the link says, maybe a boot from the CD (better get back into the old BIOS then, where's my 'cow birthing' gloves then???) and then.... well follow the link and read as I can't give it the respect it needs in under 40 A4 pages!! I'm not worthy!
    Cheers,
    And last but not least, FoxyMX!
    This looks exactly what I want. Will try now (17:00 13-Jan-2005 UK) and will get back either way.
    Many regards,
    The Cell.

  6. #6
    Jedi master Rob99's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    In the wop wops
    Posts
    3,532

    Default Re: Not getting to Desktop at start up!

    FoxyMX is on the ball again.

    To simplify:

    - Boot from the XP disc

    - Select install and not repair

    - Now select repair

  7. #7
    Long Time Member drcspy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    KroyWen
    Posts
    3,193

    Default Re: Not getting to Desktop at start up!

    yes this is exactly what needs doin..........i"ve just done a repair install on a xp system transplanted the drive to another pc and of course it wouln'dt boot so run a repair install and voila she's all good...........didn't even have to re-activate......

  8. #8
    PEBKAC
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Bognor Regis
    Posts
    68

    Thumbs up Re: Not getting to Desktop at start up!

    Thanks one and all. It worked a treat.
    Even upped the RAM (not sure of the speed, but both sticks work!), took out the CD RW in it and put in a DVD RW.
    Yes I know you're all most likely running from possible other questions I've posted on all those additions..... but NO! It works! I did it all very carefully this time (and stopped to think first! )

    An way, many thanks again, I knew you could do it.

    Regards,

    The Cell

Similar Threads

  1. Blank Desktop and Explorer won't start
    By ashez2ashes in forum PressF1
    Replies: 14
    Last Post: 13-09-2008, 03:14 PM
  2. No Desktop Icons or start up programs???
    By taxboy4 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 04-07-2006, 12:16 PM
  3. Desktop PC wont start up
    By John777 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 16-10-2005, 01:51 PM
  4. XP Pro - Desktop and Start Menu Settings
    By craig_b in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 19-01-2003, 04:27 PM
  5. Desktop Start-Up Messages?
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 20-04-2001, 05:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •