Today I went into my hotmail email to look at some messages I had saved that were in the "Sent Messages" folder ...and they had disappeared!! But, there was a cryptic little message in a box at the top of the page...."Messages more than 30 days old will be automatically deleted from this folder".
Now, if the recipients of those saved messages have also deleted them at their end I have lost those words into cyberspace....arrrgh!
What I am wondering is if Hotmail sent any warnings out to account holders that they were intending to initiate this little change? I don't recall getting one either the last time - when they changed their system to clean out people's folders if they did not access their accounts within the previous 30 days...another glitch that caught me out when computer access was limited. I lost stuff then too...some lovely emails my daughter had sent me from overseas...precious.
Yes, I do copy vital info to word files...not totally stupid. But when you edit your email daily and keep on it only the useful stuff that you will be re-reading or re-using for quick access, it kind of defeats the purpose of using a service that so proudly promotes itself to the masses if it turns around and bites you in the bum!
And, yes, I know their terms state they can delete messages pretty much any time they want...it is just the courtesy thing that bugs me. Words are precious and irreplacable sometimes..to be given enough notice to save something before the parameters change would have been nice.
(I haven't used my ISP-based email account for everyday use as I was afraid of it becoming clogged with spam...and I don't use Outlook Express for email as it is too prone to viruses and other nasties).