Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 29

Thread: VDSL Issue

  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    376

    Default VDSL Issue

    Hi currently I have vdsl and there seems to be issue with the connection .

    I notice my downstream line rate and upstream line rate drops from time to time . I found that that the downstream and upstream line doesnt look to be stable . I talked to spark and they said line is fine and also chorus tested it and said it is fine .

    My speed is around 69997 at the moment and lets see when it drops . I will post pic here when it drops .


    I have attached pic of current line stats .
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	51 
Size:	17.0 KB 
ID:	8157  

  2. #2
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    376

    Default Re: VDSL Issue

    The Speed just dropped
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture 1.PNG 
Views:	36 
Size:	16.9 KB 
ID:	8158  

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    24,699

    Default Re: VDSL Issue

    Looking at the DSL up times, the first says 19.01 (19 minutes) then the next shows 00.41 (41 seconds)

    What was done / changed if anything during that time to cause it to restart. If Nothing that would indicate the DSL disconnected /dropped then reconnected ? Are you able to look at the complete logs, from the modem/router, they should show the uptimes /drops if any and how often.
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    376

    Default Re: VDSL Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    Looking at the DSL up times, the first says 19.01 (19 minutes) then the next shows 00.41 (41 seconds)

    What was done / changed if anything during that time to cause it to restart. If Nothing that would indicate the DSL disconnected /dropped then reconnected ? Are you able to look at the complete logs, from the modem/router, they should show the uptimes /drops if any and how often.


    Hi thanks wainuitech for your reply . I wanted to see if line drops so i rebooted it and then it speed had dropped . So it didn't restart automatically .

    Yes i would like to look at the logs of the modem/router but not sure how to do it . I have this modem/router https://www.spark.co.nz/shop/interne.../spark-hg630b/ .

    Please let me know how to look at the logs

    Thanks

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    376

    Default Re: VDSL Issue

    Just to update you once again speed is back up to 69 from 40 after i rebooted again .

    So it is jumping wonder "Why" ?

    Thanks

  6. #6
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    1,444

    Default Re: VDSL Issue

    Short answer, crappy modem most likely.

    I had the same issue with Vodafone VDSL until I changed the crappy Vodafone modem to a TP-Link unit, never hd an issue after that.

    Something to look into possibly?

    Asus P8Z77-VL X
    Intel Core i7-3770
    Cooler Master Seidon 120V Plus CPU Water Cooler
    32GB DDR3
    2 x 250GB SSD, 3 x 2TB WD Enterprise HDD
    Asus DVD/RW
    eVGA GeForce GTX 970
    Coolermaster Centurion Case & 550W PSU
    Windows 10 Pro

  7. #7
    Old dick-head
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Location
    between Lower Hutt & Carterton
    Posts
    1,044

    Default Re: VDSL Issue

    Does the speed change only occur when you reboot ?

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    376

    Default Re: VDSL Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by chiefnz View Post
    Short answer, crappy modem most likely.

    I had the same issue with Vodafone VDSL until I changed the crappy Vodafone modem to a TP-Link unit, never hd an issue after that.

    Something to look into possibly?


    Yes I also think modem is not good , thinking to buy a new one .

    Thanks

  9. #9
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    376

    Default Re: VDSL Issue

    Quote Originally Posted by decibel View Post
    Does the speed change only occur when you reboot ?

    Yes speed does change after reboot

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    376

    Default Re: VDSL Issue

    I found two modem/router which looks to be good .

    1. https://www.pbtech.co.nz/product/MOD...em-Router-Dual

    2. https://www.pbtech.co.nz/product/MOD...C1900-ADSLVDSL



    If any one can recommend me out of this two which one to select that would help me or if you have one that you recommend me to buy let me know .


    Important thing to me is range and speed

Similar Threads

  1. VDSL Connection issue.. or networking
    By Myth in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30-09-2015, 05:05 PM
  2. Going to vdsl?
    By jcr1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 08-05-2014, 10:56 AM
  3. Why, hello there VDSL
    By wratterus in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 27-02-2014, 09:35 AM
  4. Vdsl
    By plod in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 31-08-2013, 03:52 PM
  5. VDSL available now?
    By Nomad in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 07:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •