Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 26 of 26
  1. #21
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6,781

    Default Re: New build - Intel or AMD?

    I was tempted to destroy a $10 warehouse black wire basket and use the mesh last time I attached a fan to something, but then I found a grill online and bought that instead.
    I've seen some mesh at super cheap auto intended for auto use, not sure on pricing though. I Think the main thing is something that doesn't restrict airflow too much.

    you could murder an old fan heater or something.
    i7 6700K, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 SSD, Gigabyte GTX980

  2. #22
    ember BBCmicro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    1,083

    Default Re: New build - Intel or AMD?

    Adobe Premiere Pro CS6 is only single threaded when stabilising
    but if I select a bunch of clips they get new threads

    The pic shows 16 small clips totalling about 8 minutes. The cpus are at 100% but the power and temp are quite low. I wonder if this indicates a memory bottleneck? I'm using a single 8GB stick of DDR4 from my other rig

    I'm thinking about getting 32 GB of G-Skill FlareX @ 2400MHz - unfortunately it costs about $340, not a lot less than the Ryzen 7 itself

    I was hoping 16 GB would do but CS6 is bombarding me with "Memory is getting low. Save your work and proceed with care" and that's for 15minutes of videos. Whereas I have a heap of files to process each 90m long (captured off Digital 8 tapes
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	CS6_16clips_stabilising.png 
Views:	16 
Size:	40.7 KB 
ID:	8228  
    i7-6700k @ 4.4GHz, Crucial 250GB M.2 SSD, Corsair Vengeance 2 x 8GB @ 2.4GHz
    GA-z170n-wifi, Noctua NH-D9L low profile, Silverstone SG08, EVGA GTX970

  3. #23
    ember BBCmicro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    1,083

    Default Re: New build - Intel or AMD?

    Update -

    - have been getting a few 'kernel-power' errors. None in the last 3 days after I put the memory back to 2133 MHz. (I turned off the XMP profile which was 2400 MHz). The memory I'm using is 'random'. It is not particularly certified for AMD

    - memory prices are exorbitant at the moment. I got the figures reversed above. It's $430 rather than $340. Apparently prices won't drop for a year?

    - cutting long clips into shorter segments not only utilises the cores better, it makes a significant improvement to paging. I get fewer 'memory getting low' warnings

    - there's a balance between excessive paging and how much footage I can process. It means that I should opt for a fast M.2 when I eventually get one. At present I am using an old Intel SSD. It has extremely poor specs
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fan4.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	74.6 KB 
ID:	8240   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fan5.jpg 
Views:	17 
Size:	68.9 KB 
ID:	8241   Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Fan6.jpg 
Views:	18 
Size:	45.0 KB 
ID:	8242  
    i7-6700k @ 4.4GHz, Crucial 250GB M.2 SSD, Corsair Vengeance 2 x 8GB @ 2.4GHz
    GA-z170n-wifi, Noctua NH-D9L low profile, Silverstone SG08, EVGA GTX970

  4. #24
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6,781

    Default Re: New build - Intel or AMD?

    Inlet or outlet fan? The position in the photo seems like it should be an outlet which doesn't need filtering. Sucking air in at the top doesn't make much sense.
    i7 6700K, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 SSD, Gigabyte GTX980

  5. #25
    ember BBCmicro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    1,083

    Default Re: New build - Intel or AMD?

    Inlet.

    The Wraith cpu cooler blows down. I read that it helps cool some chips near the cpu socket (voltage regulators?)
    i7-6700k @ 4.4GHz, Crucial 250GB M.2 SSD, Corsair Vengeance 2 x 8GB @ 2.4GHz
    GA-z170n-wifi, Noctua NH-D9L low profile, Silverstone SG08, EVGA GTX970

  6. #26
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6,781

    Default Re: New build - Intel or AMD?

    Likely it won't matter much in reality, but a fan near the top should be an outlet. Trying to fight against the natural convection of hot air upwards is less effective. Also in my experience inlet fans make much less impact on case temperatures than outlets do.
    The good thing about filtered inlets and using positive pressure of course is it keeps the interior of the PC clean so if that's your goal I understand, for best cooling performance though I'd reverse it myself and clean the heatsinks every now and again.

    It's more important to remove hot air where it accumulates than to try and force cool air in, but with how small your case looks either method probably ends up working ok. Good skills by the way, I wouldn't have the patience to do a decent job like that myself.
    i7 6700K, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 SSD, Gigabyte GTX980

Similar Threads

  1. Intel 1151 socket build issues
    By wratterus in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 13-06-2016, 03:30 PM
  2. Replies: 11
    Last Post: 22-11-2012, 04:02 PM
  3. [Build tips/opinions] ~$1500 Build
    By FlightOfGrey in forum PressF1
    Replies: 25
    Last Post: 20-07-2012, 09:02 PM
  4. Intel vs AMD
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-05-2001, 09:26 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 08-03-2001, 09:20 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •