Results 1 to 10 of 10
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    383

    Default Information about Connection (VDSL)

    Hi my place has recently had upgrade to vdsl from adsl and when i do a speed test sometimes it takes me to Christchurch . A few minutes ago it took me to Hamilton , and also Tauranga . I live in Auckland wonder why it takes me me to those places . I have never had this seen before with my ADSL connection . I managed to do a IP look up and found interesting information . Please see attachement .

    Just last night one time it connected me to auckland server .


    If anybody knows what is the cause let me know .



    Thanks
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Capture.PNG 
Views:	68 
Size:	20.4 KB 
ID:	8056  

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    24,746

    Default Re: Information about Connection (VDSL)

    Speedtest if using the auto will look for and connect to the best connection. Even though you are in Auckland, the Auckland server my not be the strongest/best.

    I personally use the Speedtest App from the Windows store in W10, more reliable that the web site. According to the guy from Chorus, when doing speed tests they are instructed to use Linux on the speedtest site, (on FibreX) as Windows Browsers cant handle the readings ( it tops it out)

    On the App -- mine seems fine, handles the 800-900 Mbps fine. ? ( thats not a typo either)

    Did a back to back test, the App, his Linux and his box of tricks ( testing equipment) - all within 1-3 Mbps and the plans still are not available to deliver the full speed, just like UFB, its being held back.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 19-05-2017 at 08:07 PM.
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

  3. #3
    Modulator Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,836

    Default Re: Information about Connection (VDSL)

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    ( thats not a typo either)
    How unusual
    Kool-Aid Black Cherry! Get it here!

  4. #4
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    24,746

    Default Re: Information about Connection (VDSL)

    Quote Originally Posted by Greg View Post
    How unusual
    Not really, That comment was aimed at the speeds reference.
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

  5. #5
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,124

    Default Re: Information about Connection (VDSL)

    Yeah it's not an OS that will restrict the Speedtest speeds, that's 100% BS
    You can get the same speeds on Windows or Linux, it's more likely CPU dependent because there's a ton of %@#$ ads on the Speedtest website.

    Now the reason for it choosing a different Speedtest server is because Spark peers with other national ISP's at a few places, it's a pretty common occurrence. It costs ISP's significantly less to do this than it does to send data to each other internationally etc, and as a result the latency to all of them is very low regardless, however other things come in to play like how busy the remote speedtest server is. The Speedtest service will try and balance you out between a bunch of others if the latency is almost identical.

  6. #6
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6,744

    Default Re: Information about Connection (VDSL)

    I've never heard of any of our guys using Linux, sounds bogus but it's probably a different Area/ company. Chorus doesn't have field staff so if he came to your house he's a contractor working for one of 3 companies. I work for one of them myself and we don'e use Linux. But I might have it wrong, I'm not directly involved with that side of things.
    i7 6700K, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 SSD, Gigabyte GTX980

  7. #7
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,124

    Default Re: Information about Connection (VDSL)

    Visionstream, Downer, and I forget the other?

  8. #8
    Apple free and happy KarameaDave's Avatar
    Join Date
    Sep 2009
    Location
    Appleby, Invercargill
    Posts
    4,237

    Default Re: Information about Connection (VDSL)

    Quote Originally Posted by Chilling_Silence View Post
    Visionstream, Downer, and I forget the other?
    Transfield?
    FTW

  9. #9
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6,744

    Default Re: Information about Connection (VDSL)

    Broadspectrum, formerly known as Transfield Services
    i7 6700K, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 SSD, Gigabyte GTX980

  10. #10
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2013
    Posts
    383

    Default Re: Information about Connection (VDSL)

    Thanks to all for your opinions .

Similar Threads

  1. VDSL Connection issue.. or networking
    By Myth in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 30-09-2015, 05:05 PM
  2. Replies: 0
    Last Post: 10-09-2015, 03:30 PM
  3. Vdsl
    By plod in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 31-08-2013, 03:52 PM
  4. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 24-01-2013, 06:30 PM
  5. VDSL available now?
    By Nomad in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 01-12-2010, 07:08 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •