Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6,710

    Default where to get vista business ISO/ can it still be installed and updated?

    I have a couple of second hand PC's that have Vista business COA's on the side of them. They run Linux very nicely but I'd like to get vista running in dual boot just because they have a license and sometimes windows is useful. I've tried to download an ISO a few times but not had much luck. I did manage to get 32 bit vista business to activate on one of them but it will not update or install anti-virus software and I'm suspicious that it's a dodgy image. The ISO contains a keygen that windows defender is not happy about so it's clearly not the most honest of images to start with.

    I tried a bunch of anti-malware and windows fixes, now the security centre won't run at all and it still won't update. Also no malware of any kind has been detected by malwarebytes, nod32 online scanner, adwleaner, tdskiller, combofix, or avast. Clamwin portable did call MBAM.exe a malware PUP Browsefox, but given I have no Browsefox symptoms I'm inclined to think that's a false positive. I don't particularly trust clamwin and I got MBAM from the official site.

    I'm inclined to just start over if I can find a clean windows ISO, anyone?
    i7 6700K, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 SSD, Gigabyte GTX980

  2. #2
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,749

    Default Re: where to get vista business ISO/ can it still be installed and updated?

    Quote Originally Posted by dugimodo View Post

    I'm inclined to just start over if I can find a clean windows ISO, anyone?
    as rare as hens teeth. Vista is the only OS that I dont have genuine ISO's .
    no one was stupid enough to actually buy Vista , so very few have a genuine install CD to make a ISO from.

    Consider any iso dowwnload to be dodgy, you just dont know whats been hacked into it .

  3. #3
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    24,705

    Default Re: where to get vista business ISO/ can it still be installed and updated?

    "officially" they cant be downloaded from MS anymore - yes there are many fakes.

    Once I had to get a Vista Business for a customer whose HDD had died - downloaded from http://getintopc.com/?s=Vista+Business You still need a legit key to install/activate, these are ONLY the ISO's. Its about 2.9GB

    ran every antimalware and scanned for viruses - all clean, and ran perfectly. You need to click through about 4 windows that change to download, but it works fine ( just tried it now)

    I also at one stage had the files to create my own.
    Last edited by wainuitech; 21-04-2017 at 11:43 AM.
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,210

    Default Re: where to get vista business ISO/ can it still be installed and updated?

    Dugi, I have an install CD for Vista 32bit Home Premium and have created a 2.55GB ISO with Burnaware if that is any use. No idea whether it works but no errors during the creation! Of course, I have the key for you as well.

    Or, for the cost of postage, you could have the whole lot in its nice original plastic box.

    But, I realise you might not want to deal with a stupid person although I probably don't qualify as this was likely purchased by my employer in another life!

  5. #5
    Computer Tech
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Whangarei
    Posts
    5,712

    Default Re: where to get vista business ISO/ can it still be installed and updated?

    I have a legit ISO downloaded from Microsoft when TechNet was still going.
    Could chuck it on a site somewhere for you to download if you like?
    It is about 3.1GB and is only 32bit and has all version in it, Home, Business etc.
    You can select which version to install, or it may ask for your product key and automatically install the appropriate version, can't remember!
    It already has Service Pack 2 in it as well.

  6. #6
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6,710

    Default Re: where to get vista business ISO/ can it still be installed and updated?

    Thanks Guys, I'll start with the link Wainui provided this weekend and see how I go from there, the COA's are for Vista business OEM and I don't know if it's 32 or 64 bit or both. The only success so far is with 32 bit Vista business as above.
    Linw I appreciate the offer but I think it needs to be a business version. cYaBro that sounds perfect but I suspect Wanui's link will work. Will post again one way or the other.

    Incidentally compared to installing Linux Vista is like pulling teeth, manual download of drivers, takes forever, then all these problems.

    My interest is waning fast to be honest. These machines cost about $50 each and were intended as parts for my NAS backup experiment, now I'm just getting them running so they can be of some use to someone. One is being donated to a friend.
    Intel DQ45EK itx MB, 3Ghz C2D, 2-4GB RAM, 160GB hdd, still surprisingly useful once set up. On the NAS front I've just received a Silverstone itx case with 8 removable drive bays on the front so the 3rd machine not mentioned so far is going in that this weekend. Might delay the Vista experiment.
    i7 6700K, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 SSD, Gigabyte GTX980

  7. #7
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,749

    Default Re: where to get vista business ISO/ can it still be installed and updated?

    Quote Originally Posted by dugimodo View Post
    Incidentally compared to installing Linux Vista is like pulling teeth, manual download of drivers, takes forever, then all these problems.
    Thats not exactly a fair comment .
    compare Vista to a linux distro install from the same era.
    And cant expect Vista to contain drivers for every obscure bit of hardware , some of which may not have been in common use when Vista was written.

    I find Win installs easy as , for me linux installs were nothing but a overly complex pain in the xxx when I was playing with that many years back.
    It all depends what youre used to working with .

  8. #8
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6,710

    Default Re: where to get vista business ISO/ can it still be installed and updated?

    fair comment, but it is Vista era hardware - all standard intel, with a vista sticker on the case...
    i7 6700K, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 SSD, Gigabyte GTX980

  9. #9
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    6,710

    Default Re: where to get vista business ISO/ can it still be installed and updated?

    Thanks all, downloaded the Dell Vista Business 32 bit OEM ISO from the Link Wainui provided, Windows installed, activated, and currently updating.
    Deleted the other ISOs Any thoughts on what free anti-virus to put on it?
    i7 6700K, 16Gb DDR4RAM, 512GB M.2 SSD, Gigabyte GTX980

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 25-01-2016, 09:45 PM
  2. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 02-04-2011, 07:49 PM
  3. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 14-07-2009, 06:13 PM
  4. Vista Business & WMP
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 08-10-2007, 10:50 AM
  5. Can os 9.01 updated to 9.22 when installed with OSX
    By Morgenmuffel in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 19-03-2007, 07:54 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •