Results 1 to 5 of 5
  1. #1
    Modulator Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,836

    Default Replacement modem

    I'm using a really old Dynalink modem for my broadband Internet. Although it's working great for now I have no doubt it'll pack in sooner or later. I have an unused Telecom Technicolor TG582n which I'm keeping as a backup. It's wireless but can be connected via ethernet cable. So I'm wondering would it be as efficient to use via ethernet instead of wirelessly?
    Kool-Aid Black Cherry! Get it here!

  2. #2
    Senior Member 1101's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2008
    Posts
    4,807

    Default Re: Replacement modem

    via ethernet = allways better than wireless

  3. #3
    Modulator Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,836

    Default Re: Replacement modem

    Cheers, that's what I was hoping.
    Kool-Aid Black Cherry! Get it here!

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    784

    Default Re: Replacement modem

    What is the model of your Dynalink modem or do you know if it supports ADSL2 which you would be set up for. You maybe limiting your potential speed if it's quite old. Dynalink/Askey was taken over by Netcomm? Can't remember the history but I had an awesome Dynalink RTA ADSL1 model router than had excellent WiFi range but I could not find the firmware for it any longer.

    Your Dynalink maybe the better back up in this case, I have not had a TG582n survive it's contracted time. It seems it requires additional cooling measures as it's own isn't adequate and eventually just doesn't want to work.

  5. #5
    Modulator Greg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,836

    Default Re: Replacement modem

    The Dynalink is a ADSL2+, model RTA1320. My speedtest gave me 17MB download and 1.1 up, which is way better than I'm used to. I had an identical model before this which overheated and died - actually I'm surprised it didn't catch fire cos the plastic case on the top around the vents was quite discoulered.
    Quote Originally Posted by Kame View Post
    What is the model of your Dynalink modem or do you know if it supports ADSL2 which you would be set up for. You maybe limiting your potential speed if it's quite old. Dynalink/Askey was taken over by Netcomm? Can't remember the history but I had an awesome Dynalink RTA ADSL1 model router than had excellent WiFi range but I could not find the firmware for it any longer.

    Your Dynalink maybe the better back up in this case, I have not had a TG582n survive it's contracted time. It seems it requires additional cooling measures as it's own isn't adequate and eventually just doesn't want to work.
    Kool-Aid Black Cherry! Get it here!

Similar Threads

  1. Replacement PSU
    By Pato in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 04-03-2017, 03:00 PM
  2. Got a new replacement modem/router under the CGA.
    By Trev in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 15-06-2012, 10:38 AM
  3. Modem woes - time for a replacement
    By globe in forum PressF1
    Replies: 12
    Last Post: 08-12-2011, 09:19 AM
  4. Replies: 4
    Last Post: 22-07-2007, 09:39 PM
  5. PSU replacement
    By nalla in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 16-06-2004, 08:47 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •