Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst 12345
Results 41 to 49 of 49
  1. #41
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,208

    Default Re: Windows 10 pro licence

    Quote Originally Posted by 1101 View Post
    If its an old version of Office, Win10 will remove it.
    Then remove it again on each major Win Update (ie when 10 ugs to new build version)
    Thanks, 1101, will check his Office ver and take that risk into account.

  2. #42
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    1,443

    Default Re: Windows 10 pro licence

    In place upgrade of Windows 10 Creators Update (From Windows 7 Pro) completed succesfully. Office 2013 remained intact and functioning with no issues.

    Only snag I ran into was post upgrade Control Panel kept automatically closing, a quick google search yielded similar issue with the 1511 update and is related to the out of the box driver for the IDT sound card. A re-install of the original driver from the HP site has sorted this now.

    All in all a painless experience and activation was done in seconds.

    Hope that helps everyone.

    Cheers,

    Asus P8Z77-VL X
    Intel Core i7-3770
    Cooler Master Seidon 120V Plus CPU Water Cooler
    32GB DDR3
    2 x 250GB SSD, 3 x 2TB WD Enterprise HDD
    Asus DVD/RW
    eVGA GeForce GTX 970
    Coolermaster Centurion Case & 550W PSU
    Windows 10 Pro

  3. #43
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,208

    Default Re: Windows 10 pro licence

    Thanks heaps, Chief. Will now advise my friend to bring his comp over and we'll deal to it!!

  4. #44
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    1,443

    Default Re: Windows 10 pro licence

    Don't forget to take an image before the upgrade! Better safe than sorry.

    Asus P8Z77-VL X
    Intel Core i7-3770
    Cooler Master Seidon 120V Plus CPU Water Cooler
    32GB DDR3
    2 x 250GB SSD, 3 x 2TB WD Enterprise HDD
    Asus DVD/RW
    eVGA GeForce GTX 970
    Coolermaster Centurion Case & 550W PSU
    Windows 10 Pro

  5. #45
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,208

    Default Re: Windows 10 pro licence

    Always do that, Chief. I am big on imaging using Macrium free.

  6. #46
    Enterprise IT Consultant chiefnz's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    1,443

    Default Re: Windows 10 pro licence

    Ian, how did you get on with the issue you had with the "expired" Windows license?

    Asus P8Z77-VL X
    Intel Core i7-3770
    Cooler Master Seidon 120V Plus CPU Water Cooler
    32GB DDR3
    2 x 250GB SSD, 3 x 2TB WD Enterprise HDD
    Asus DVD/RW
    eVGA GeForce GTX 970
    Coolermaster Centurion Case & 550W PSU
    Windows 10 Pro

  7. #47
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Papamoa, Tauranga
    Posts
    995

    Smile Re: Windows 10 pro licence

    Quote Originally Posted by chiefnz View Post
    Ian, how did you get on with the issue you had with the "expired" Windows license?
    Yes sorry I had meant to get back, but had radio therapy last Friday and have brain freeze at times.
    A dear friend thought might be something in startup.
    So we went through and deleted some, "stuff" seem to have cleared the problem.
    No idea what it was, but all good now.
    Thank you.

  8. #48
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    3,208

    Default Re: Windows 10 pro licence

    Another successful upgrade from win 7 to creators update on an Optiplex 780. (BTW, these are great little win 10 comps - have put win 10 on a few and they all have had no problems).

    Win 10 activated with a digital licence. Office Pro 10 that was on it is running with no problems (as expected).

    Comp is using a local login. Wondering whether I should add an MS account, to, hopefully, get both win 10 and Office 10 registered to it. Can any one see any fish hooks? Just have a nagging fear of MS saying, hey, that Office is registered to someone else!

    Wot say you?

    PS Thanks for pioneering work chief and others.

  9. #49
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    24,631

    Default Re: Windows 10 pro licence

    Quote Originally Posted by linw View Post
    Another successful upgrade from win 7 to creators update on an Optiplex 780. (BTW, these are great little win 10 comps - have put win 10 on a few and they all have had no problems).

    Win 10 activated with a digital licence. Office Pro 10 that was on it is running with no problems (as expected).

    Comp is using a local login. Wondering whether I should add an MS account, to, hopefully, get both win 10 and Office 10 registered to it. Can any one see any fish hooks? Just have a nagging fear of MS saying, hey, that Office is registered to someone else!

    Wot say you?

    PS Thanks for pioneering work chief and others.
    Not at all surprised with the above The latest version of W10 -- Had no problems with it on any PC I upgraded. ( all forced upgrades via the file you can download.)

    All the computers I set up don't have a MS account to log in with, only locals ( some have passwords, some don't).

    When you open an app that requires a Microsoft Log in, enter the account details you have with MS, BUT look for and click on "Sign in just this app instead"
    Example:
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Sign_in.png 
Views:	20 
Size:	38.6 KB 
ID:	8035

    Doing it this way, you still use a Local account, BUT only that app is actually signing in to MS.

    If you install W10, or upgrade, and it says its activated then you have already registered it with Microsoft. ( in the event you reinstall, you don't need the product key anymore as once online it will auto activate)

    Again if installing Office and its activated its already registered, if it wasn't you would be told then you would need to call and manually Activate /register it.

    Last edited by wainuitech; 11-05-2017 at 05:08 PM.
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

Similar Threads

  1. Windows 7 Software Licence
    By Bobh in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 31-08-2010, 09:20 PM
  2. Windows XP Licence
    By bk T in forum PressF1
    Replies: 18
    Last Post: 10-05-2006, 06:55 PM
  3. Windows licence jargon
    By Randolf in forum PressF1
    Replies: 41
    Last Post: 05-10-2004, 06:27 PM
  4. Windows XP Professional licence?
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 04-04-2002, 08:51 PM
  5. Windows XP Professional Licence?
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 09-03-2002, 10:55 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •