Page 3 of 3 FirstFirst 123
Results 21 to 24 of 24
  1. #21
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    24,629

    Default Re: Voda's FibreX - yeah or nah?

    Quote Originally Posted by wratterus View Post
    Wow....that's awesome.

    Sso what is the model of your fibre modem? And they've given you a HG659?
    The Modem is a Technicolor TC4400VDF The Router is the HG695

    I think when we were talking he was referring to the Technicolor all in one modem/router, because at the time we were discussing using mine, and I mentioned glad to see you're not using those all in one modem/router - thats when he made the comment.

    We did try my router, but all we did was change from a static to dynamic IP & obtain DNS servers, it thought about it, but then - narrrrrrr.

    I Also changed a couple of Switches (TP-Link gigabit) as the current were not gigabit so would have been a problem.

    He was good though, I asked for a call at least an hour before if possible in case I was in the middle of downloading something, which he did.

    missed out on the $100 becasue they got it done within the 3 day period - 2 days. BUT at least my over all monthly bill is cheaper now
    Last edited by wainuitech; 16-03-2017 at 01:53 PM.
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

  2. #22
    Seasoned Member allblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The 'Nui
    Posts
    1,162

    Default Re: Voda's FibreX - yeah or nah?

    Quote Originally Posted by wratterus View Post
    If you don't know what a static IP is, or why you might need one, you don't need one.
    Sweet. That clarifies it!

  3. #23
    Seasoned Member allblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The 'Nui
    Posts
    1,162

    Default Re: Voda's FibreX - yeah or nah?

    Well, all done.
    Over a week late and after time taken off work to meet installers who never showed - apparently "tell them to get f**ked" didn't happen so they've turned up and install done.

    Somehow the installer did a speed test and got 814mbps - after he leaves I do a speedtest and get 212.

    How odd ..

  4. #24
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    24,629

    Default Re: Voda's FibreX - yeah or nah?

    Quote Originally Posted by allblack View Post
    Well, all done.
    Over a week late and after time taken off work to meet installers who never showed - apparently "tell them to get f**ked" didn't happen so they've turned up and install done.

    Somehow the installer did a speed test and got 814mbps - after he leaves I do a speedtest and get 212.

    How odd ..
    If its a week late from the appointment- call them and insist they give you the $100 http://www.vodafone.co.nz/broadband/...-fibre/fibrex/ Their advert on the Right hand side.


    The Speed -- Mine was OK at first as well, but it soon developed a slowness on the download, the speed could drop as low as 10Mbps, then come back up to 40-100Mbps, then later come back to max out at around 900Mbps.

    What you need to do is do speedtests at various times, get a record, Once I had done this - had 6 results, I called back, advised of the slow speed, times of day,they checked out the line and said the logs were showing there was a fault, and the down was timing out, up and down. It took them a week, but finally sorted the speed problem. The Guy from Downer who tested here, said everything was fine between the modem/router to the Pole, so there was a fault someplace between my connection and the main feed.

    Now its been steady, slowest speed test I got since they sorted it was just over 600Mbps.

    Just did a speed test now @ 2.30 Saturday

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Speedtest.png 
Views:	25 
Size:	20.3 KB 
ID:	7984
    Last edited by wainuitech; 01-04-2017 at 01:47 PM.
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

Similar Threads

  1. Voda prepay rates
    By Nomad in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13-07-2010, 08:02 AM
  2. Blue Voda
    By AZ1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30-06-2010, 09:23 PM
  3. No 3g from Voda on iPhone
    By limepile in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-02-2010, 06:21 AM
  4. iPhone with Voda (data)
    By Nomad in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16-08-2009, 10:35 AM
  5. XT or Voda - does it matter?
    By Nomad in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 04:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •