Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
Results 11 to 20 of 24
  1. #11
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    24,628

    Default Re: Voda's FibreX - yeah or nah?

    No Idea Wratterus.

    They are coming tomorrow, with an accurate time of between 12 -4.30.

    Bloody great Could be waiting half the damn day - Just as well I got work here in the workshop, with an appointmnet before mid day.

    Plod may Know hes got FibreX I like the fact I managed to get a discount, saving close to $500 a year.
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

  2. #12
    Large Member plod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7,276

    Default Re: Voda's FibreX - yeah or nah?

    You get a separate modem and router. If you replace their router in needs to be able to vlan tag10. Now I have no idea what this actually means. But the router I have replaced with has this. Over on geekzone there is a massive thread on fiberx which was of most help

  3. #13
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    24,628

    Default Re: Voda's FibreX - yeah or nah?

    Hey Plod, got a link to that page please.

    Been looking on geekzone and theres quite a few, some go nowhere ??
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

  4. #14
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Surrounded by Turkeys
    Posts
    13,462

    Default Re: Voda's FibreX - yeah or nah?

    Quote Originally Posted by wratterus View Post
    Can their router run in bridge mode Wainui? If so, one of these would be the go....

    https://www.gowifi.co.nz/routers/erlite-3.html

    I'm very jealous, but we are finally getting fibre here in 2019 so I'll just have to wait for that...
    Your lucky then 2022 here

  5. #15
    Large Member plod's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Posts
    7,276

  6. #16
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,053

    Default Re: Voda's FibreX - yeah or nah?

    Wow that's a big thread. Obviously a lot of interest.

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    No Idea Wratterus.
    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	fibrex.jpg 
Views:	27 
Size:	19.9 KB 
ID:	7941

    So that is excellent news, except they'll probably lump everyone with the same HG659 - main thing is the CPE (if we can call it that) is in bridge mode, so in theory basically any router could be used without any issues. Giggity.
    Last edited by wratterus; 16-03-2017 at 08:15 AM.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  7. #17
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    24,628

    Default Re: Voda's FibreX - yeah or nah?

    Well the guys just been.

    All installed and working. One thing he did mention is they now use a dynamic IP so if you wanted a static like before you have to call and get it put on. For the mean time I'll use their router, as I don't have time to fiddle with mine. But its rather old so may not work anyway.

    The speeds ---ohhhh its noticeable alright Now to see how stable it remains. Saying that because I mentioned what was on geekzone, about being unstable and he said, the first batch roll out used technicolour and they were terrible, but this new setup seems to work fine.

    Results -

    Previous Speed test on 100/10 plan:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Speedtest Before .png 
Views:	47 
Size:	38.3 KB 
ID:	7943

    Now on FibreX Max:

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Speedtest_After.png 
Views:	56 
Size:	34.2 KB 
ID:	7944

    Just for the hell of it, downloaded a Linux ISO 1.6GB

    Reasonably steady from Australia at 78MB/Sec

    Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Speed_Download.png 
Views:	30 
Size:	10.4 KB 
ID:	7945
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

  8. #18
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,053

    Default Re: Voda's FibreX - yeah or nah?

    Wow....that's awesome.

    Sso what is the model of your fibre modem? And they've given you a HG659?
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  9. #19
    Seasoned Member allblack's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    The 'Nui
    Posts
    1,162

    Default Re: Voda's FibreX - yeah or nah?

    Quote Originally Posted by wainuitech View Post
    One thing he did mention is they now use a dynamic IP so if you wanted a static like before you have to call and get it put on
    Annnnnnnnnnnnnnd........for the normal people, what does that mean?

  10. #20
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,053

    Default Re: Voda's FibreX - yeah or nah?

    Quote Originally Posted by allblack View Post
    Annnnnnnnnnnnnnd........for the normal people, what does that mean?
    If you don't know what a static IP is, or why you might need one, you don't need one.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

Similar Threads

  1. Voda prepay rates
    By Nomad in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13-07-2010, 08:02 AM
  2. Blue Voda
    By AZ1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 30-06-2010, 09:23 PM
  3. No 3g from Voda on iPhone
    By limepile in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 09-02-2010, 06:21 AM
  4. iPhone with Voda (data)
    By Nomad in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 16-08-2009, 10:35 AM
  5. XT or Voda - does it matter?
    By Nomad in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 12-07-2009, 04:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •