Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Thread: It's a worry

Related to the Queen - by Corgi

Default Re: It's a worry

Must have been a ripper
    One thing positive about Windows 10 is that there is never a dull moment anymore on ye olde computer

Sounds funny, but not for the woman involved. What does "...the laser ignited..." actually mean? Clearly there was a serious malfunction, but blaming it on a fart because they couldn't find a anything else sounds like the Sherlock Holmes fallacy- "when you eliminate all possible explanations then what remains must be the cause". This assumes that you have, in fact, eliminated all possible causes but one, but do you actually know that? I hope the woman has a good lawyer.
    Last edited by Jayess64; 02-11-2016 at 05:19 PM. Reason: typo

Based on youthful experiences with much hilarity I can assure you that farts do burn.

Ken

Smiling Down On Youse SurferJoe46's Avatar

When I worked as a Biomedical Engineer in an LA hospital, one of my jobs was to test, detect and repair any problems in the grounding system in surgery.

Yes - patients do/did explode if a minuscule static spark might happen in an oxygen-rich environment like surgery. The insides of people can sometimes be filled with explosive gasses especially when the intestines and stomach is involved, but also putrid tissue gives off some explosive gas too when mixed with oxygen.

Any equipment that was in contact with the patient, doctor or nursing staff had to have ZERO electrical leakage for that same reason. Shoes had to be conductive to the floor to drained any potential from anyone working on a patients - again especially in surgery.

(to the nervously waiting family and friends in the waiting room): "Yes - the surgery was a success, however he exploded on the operating table. We scraped him off then walls and you can take him home in this jar".

Det är trevligt att se snön när jag var inte säker på att jag skulle kunna igen.

Quote Originally Posted by SurferJoe46 View Post