Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 15

Thread: Slow to Start

  1. #1
    Member katharinem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Otematata
    Posts
    134

    Default Slow to Start

    Could someone check this log and please let me know if anything's amiss and also tell me what I can clean out. Very slow to start; have done all cleanups etc; everything up to date; Drive c-have used only 25%. Have VFX digital phone line +broadband with Xnet- Fusion Plan. Husband's PC is running through the same router but mine is still slow even with his turned off. Do I need the Google Updates-I use Chrome so maybe I do.... and the Narrator thingy?
    Thanks...


    Logfile of Trend Micro HijackThis v2.0.2
    Scan saved at 10:32:12 a.m., on 14/06/2012
    Platform: Windows XP SP3 (WinNT 5.01.2600)
    MSIE: Internet Explorer v7.00 (7.00.6000.17110)
    Boot mode: Normal

    Running processes:
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\smss.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\winlogon.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\services.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\lsass.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\Antimalware\MsMpEng.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\spoolsv.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\logishrd\LVMVFM\UMVPFSrv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\Explorer.EXE
    C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe
    C:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Logishrd\LVMVFM\LVPrcSrv.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\netdde.exe
    C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\OmniPageSE4\OpwareSE4.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\svchost.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\System32\TUProgSt.exe
    C:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Java Update\jusched.exe
    C:\WINDOWS\system32\wuauclt.exe
    C:\Program Files\Trend Micro\HijackThis\HijackThis.exe

    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Page_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Default_Search_URL = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R1 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Search Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=54896
    R0 - HKLM\Software\Microsoft\Internet Explorer\Main,Start Page = http://go.microsoft.com/fwlink/?LinkId=69157
    R1 - HKCU\Software\Microsoft\Windows\CurrentVersion\Int ernet Settings,ProxyOverride = localhost
    O2 - BHO: AcroIEHelperStub - {18DF081C-E8AD-4283-A596-FA578C2EBDC3} - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\Acrobat\ActiveX\AcroIEHelperShim.dll
    O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In SSV Helper - {761497BB-D6F0-462C-B6EB-D4DAF1D92D43} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\ssv.dll
    O2 - BHO: SkypeIEPluginBHO - {AE805869-2E5C-4ED4-8F7B-F1F7851A4497} - C:\Program Files\Skype\Toolbars\Internet Explorer\skypeieplugin.dll
    O2 - BHO: Java(tm) Plug-In 2 SSV Helper - {DBC80044-A445-435b-BC74-9C25C1C588A9} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jp2ssv.dll
    O2 - BHO: JQSIEStartDetectorImpl - {E7E6F031-17CE-4C07-BC86-EABFE594F69C} - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\lib\deploy\jqs\ie\jqs_plugin.dll
    O2 - BHO: EpsonToolBandKicker Class - {E99421FB-68DD-40F0-B4AC-B7027CAE2F1A} - C:\Program Files\EPSON\EPSON Web-To-Page\EPSON Web-To-Page.dll
    O3 - Toolbar: EPSON Web-To-Page - {EE5D279F-081B-4404-994D-C6B60AAEBA6D} - C:\Program Files\EPSON\EPSON Web-To-Page\EPSON Web-To-Page.dll
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [EPSON Stylus CX3900 Series] C:\WINDOWS\System32\spool\DRIVERS\W32X86\3\E_FATIB EP.EXE /FU "C:\WINDOWS\TEMP\E_S8A.tmp" /EF "HKLM"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CAP2ON] C:\WINDOWS\system32\Spool\Drivers\w32x86\3\CAP2ONN .EXE
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [MSC] "c:\Program Files\Microsoft Security Client\msseces.exe" -hide -runkey
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [LWS] C:\Program Files\Logitech\LWS\Webcam Software\LWS.exe -hide
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SSBkgdUpdate] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Scansoft Shared\SSBkgdUpdate\SSBkgdupdate.exe" -Embedding -boot
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [OpwareSE4] "C:\Program Files\ScanSoft\OmniPageSE4\OpwareSE4.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CanonSolutionMenu] C:\Program Files\Canon\SolutionMenu\CNSLMAIN.exe /logon
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CanonMyPrinter] C:\Program Files\Canon\MyPrinter\BJMyPrt.exe /logon
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Java Update\jusched.exe"
    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [Adobe ARM] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Adobe\ARM\1.0\AdobeARM.exe"
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Google Update] "C:\Documents and Settings\Kate and Len\Local Settings\Application Data\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe" /c
    O4 - HKCU\..\Run: [Logitech Vid] "C:\Program Files\Logitech\Vid HD\Vid.exe" -bootmode
    O4 - HKUS\S-1-5-18\..\RunOnce: [RunNarrator] Narrator.exe (User 'SYSTEM')
    O4 - HKUS\.DEFAULT\..\RunOnce: [RunNarrator] Narrator.exe (User 'Default user')
    O4 - Global Startup: Canon LASER SHOT LBP-1210 Status Window.LNK = C:\WINDOWS\system32\spool\drivers\w32x86\3\CAP2LAK .EXE
    O9 - Extra button: Skype Click to Call - {898EA8C8-E7FF-479B-8935-AEC46303B9E5} - C:\Program Files\Skype\Toolbars\Internet Explorer\skypeieplugin.dll
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: Skype Click to Call - {898EA8C8-E7FF-479B-8935-AEC46303B9E5} - C:\Program Files\Skype\Toolbars\Internet Explorer\skypeieplugin.dll
    O9 - Extra button: (no name) - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O9 - Extra 'Tools' menuitem: @xpsp3res.dll,-20001 - {e2e2dd38-d088-4134-82b7-f2ba38496583} - C:\WINDOWS\Network Diagnostic\xpnetdiag.exe
    O16 - DPF: {4ED9DDF0-7479-4BBE-9335-5A1EDB1D8A21} - http://download.mcafee.com/molbin/sh...1/mcinsctl.cab
    O16 - DPF: {6414512B-B978-451D-A0D8-FCFDF33E833C} (WUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/microsof...?1261114986750
    O16 - DPF: {6E32070A-766D-4EE6-879C-DC1FA91D2FC3} (MUWebControl Class) - http://update.microsoft.com/microsof...?1261114968484
    O16 - DPF: {83A4D5A6-E2C1-4EDD-AD48-1A1C50BD06EF} (Image Uploader Control) - http://www.frogprints.co.nz/order/ImageUploader6.cab
    O18 - Protocol: skype-ie-addon-data - {91774881-D725-4E58-B298-07617B9B86A8} - C:\Program Files\Skype\Toolbars\Internet Explorer\skypeieplugin.dll
    O18 - Protocol: skype4com - {FFC8B962-9B40-4DFF-9458-1830C7DD7F5D} - C:\PROGRA~1\COMMON~1\Skype\SKYPE4~1.DLL
    O23 - Service: ArcSoft Connect Daemon (ACDaemon) - Unknown owner - C:\Program Files\Common Files\ArcSoft\Connection Service\Bin\ACService.exe (file missing)
    O23 - Service: Google Update Service (gupdate1c9f1528c1e71ac) (gupdate1c9f1528c1e71ac) - Google Inc. - C:\Program Files\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe
    O23 - Service: Google Update Service (gupdatem) (gupdatem) - Google Inc. - C:\Program Files\Google\Update\GoogleUpdate.exe
    O23 - Service: Google Updater Service (gusvc) - Google - C:\Program Files\Google\Common\Google Updater\GoogleUpdaterService.exe
    O23 - Service: Java Quick Starter (JavaQuickStarterService) - Sun Microsystems, Inc. - C:\Program Files\Java\jre6\bin\jqs.exe
    O23 - Service: Process Monitor (LVPrcSrv) - Logitech Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\Logishrd\LVMVFM\LVPrcSrv.exe
    O23 - Service: Intel NCS NetService (NetSvc) - Intel(R) Corporation - C:\Program Files\Intel\PROSetWired\NCS\Sync\NetSvc.exe
    O23 - Service: Skype Updater (SkypeUpdate) - Skype Technologies - C:\Program Files\Skype\Updater\Updater.exe
    O23 - Service: TuneUp Drive Defrag Service (TuneUp.Defrag) - TuneUp Software - C:\WINDOWS\System32\TuneUpDefragService.exe
    O23 - Service: TuneUp Program Statistics Service (TuneUp.ProgramStatisticsSvc) - TuneUp Software - C:\WINDOWS\System32\TUProgSt.exe
    O23 - Service: UMVPFSrv - Logitech Inc. - C:\Program Files\Common Files\logishrd\LVMVFM\UMVPFSrv.exe

    --
    End of file - 7012 bytes
    AND
    From Piriform Speccy.
    Wins XP Home 32-bit SP3
    CPU_Intel Pentium 4
    RAM - 1.0GB Dual Channel DDR@ 166MHz
    Motherboard-Dell OWF887
    Graphics - Dell-E196FP@1024x768. Intel 82865G
    Hard Drive 156.25GB-Maxtor 6l160PO(IDE) 23C
    Optical Drive-HL-DT-ST CDRW/DVD GCC4482

  2. #2
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    22,014

    Default Re: Slow to Start

    How old is it? How long has the same Windows install been on it?

    IS it faster in Safe Mode or not a whole lot?
    Eventually all the cleanups don't help a lot and it comes time to do a fresh install of Windows.

    I'd ditch the Tuneup thing you have running there, nothing else especially bad....but cluttered is all.
    wipe your paws.

  3. #3
    Senior member Iantech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2011
    Location
    Christchurch
    Posts
    1,622

    Default Re: Slow to Start

    By the specs, its pretty old, I dont think you would get much improvement out of it. Years of just Windows Updates in XP would be enough to make it run doggy with those specs. Even a fresh install after getting it back up-to-date (all XP updates) would just about put it back to square one. You may get a little more out of it by putting a bit more Ram in it if you can get some that old but probably not worth it either as there is to many other restricting items that are also slowing it down. CPU speed, Ram speed, Hard Drive speed, graphics capibility etc etc (and its a Dell). Sorry, but its reached old age, if it were me, I would thank it for its many years of service and get it put down.
    Time to look at a new one !!

    Good luck.
    My opinion only.
    Intel Water Cooled i7 3770k, ,Z77X UB5, 30Gb mSATA SSD, 16Gb XPG DDR3 1600 Ram, 2x 1Tb HDD, GTX 670, Blu-Ray RW, Enermax NAXN 750W, CM HAF 912 Advanced Case.

  4. #4
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    43,147

    Default Re: Slow to Start

    These dont have to be in startup

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SSBkgdUpdate] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Scansoft Shared\SSBkgdUpdate\SSBkgdupdate.exe" -Embedding -boot

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CanonSolutionMenu] C:\Program Files\Canon\SolutionMenu\CNSLMAIN.exe /logon

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [CanonMyPrinter] C:\Program Files\Canon\MyPrinter\BJMyPrt.exe /logon

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [NeroFilterCheck] C:\WINDOWS\system32\NeroCheck.exe

    O4 - HKLM\..\Run: [SunJavaUpdateSched] "C:\Program Files\Common Files\Java\Java Update\jusched.exe"

    Uninstall java then update it if its under 6 update 33. Which has just come out

  5. #5
    Member katharinem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Otematata
    Posts
    134

    Default Re: Slow to Start

    Thanks for your replies. Sad to think that six years is considered old, but not really surprised.

  6. #6
    Senior Member pctek's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    In the Wild West
    Posts
    22,014

    Default Re: Slow to Start

    6 years is old for a PC, however it doesn't mean throw it out.
    If it does what you need it to do, then no need for a new one or an upgrade.

    However, It should have a fresh install of Windows every now and then. How often? Depends how often you change things on it. Not often, 3 or 4 years maybe?

    But eventually bloat wins and it should be done.

    Hardware - well, when it becomes a problem, then you worry about that, that's another matter altogether.
    wipe your paws.

  7. #7
    Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,995

    Default Re: Slow to Start

    What is the CPU? We have old PC here, it's a 3.0Ghz dual core. 1GB Ram as well. Has Windows XP with all latest updates. Windows was installed recently though. Starts up within a minute or two... Maybe uninstall a lot of the software that may start up taking up the RAM. We have like Windows itself, Open Office for the time being, no antivirus yet and no other security software, the printer software and that's about it. Firefox web browser.

    Also got a laptop running Windows 7 32bit with a dual core 1.6Ghz maybe, 4GB Ram. Decent too...
    Last edited by Nomad; 14-06-2012 at 07:08 PM.

  8. #8
    Member katharinem's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Otematata
    Posts
    134

    Default Re: Slow to Start

    Reread my original post and what I actually meant is that some browser links and the browser itself is slow to open - the whole computer usually starts up and gets into gear in a reasonably acceptable time. Can't reinstall the OS as I haven't got the disc. I want to stick with XP as long as possible although I could possibly get a Windows 7 disc. I'll have to stick with what I have for a while-am getting older and with that comes more necessary expenditure on some of my failing body hardware. I also understand bloat - I have a daily battle with my own personal supply!

    Here's CPU info from Speccy plus installation date.

    >MS Windows XP Home 32-bit SP3</data>
    ">Installation Date: 21 April 2006, 17:24

    <mainsection title="CPU">
    <section title="Intel Pentium 4">
    <data title="Cores">1</data>
    <data title="Threads">1</data>
    <data title="Name">Intel Pentium 4</data>
    <data title="Code Name">Prescott</data>
    <data title="Package">Socket 478 mPGA</data>
    <data title="Technology">90nm</data>
    <data title="Specification">Intel(R) Pentium(R) 4 CPU 2.80GHz</data>
    <data title="Family">F</data>
    <data title="Extended Family">F</data>
    <data title="Model">4</data>
    <data title="Extended Model">4</data>
    <data title="Stepping">1</data>
    <data title="Revision">E0</data>
    <data title="Instructions">MMX, SSE, SSE2, SSE3</data>
    <data title="Bus Speed">133.0 MHz</data>
    <data title="Rated Bus Speed">532.0 MHz</data>
    <data title="Stock Core Speed">2800 MHz</data>
    <data title="Stock Bus Speed">133 MHz</data>
    <section title="Caches">
    <data title="L1 Data Cache Size">16 KBytes</data>
    <data title="L1 trace cache">12 Kuops</data>
    <data title="L2 Unified Cache Size">1024 KBytes</data>
    </section>
    <section title="Core 0">
    <data title="Core Speed">2792.9 MHz</data>
    <data title="Multiplier">x 21.0</data>
    <data title="Bus Speed">133.0 MHz</data>
    <data title="Rated Bus Speed">532.0 MHz</data>
    <section title="Thread 1">
    <data title="APIC ID">0</data>

  9. #9
    Senior Member Slankydudl's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2012
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    851

    Default Re: Slow to Start

    the last thing you want to do with that computer is install a more resource demanding operating system.

  10. #10
    Wanderer
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    6,995

    Default Re: Slow to Start

    So it is a 2.8Ghz single core Intel.

    Once you have the browser opened up. Right click the taskbar and to go task manager and then into performance, how much RAM do you have left while the browser is running?

    Is it also slow with Internet Explorer and or Firefox?
    Have you use a software called CCleaner?

Similar Threads

  1. XP pro slow start up
    By sarum in forum PressF1
    Replies: 7
    Last Post: 28-12-2006, 08:13 PM
  2. XP slow start
    By Colpol in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 21-11-2002, 10:35 AM
  3. PC Slow to start
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 24-01-2002, 08:37 PM
  4. slow start up
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 20-01-2002, 11:36 PM
  5. slow start up
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 20-12-2001, 10:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •