Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    5,176

    Default Re: Virtualdub/Xvid file size issues

    Handbrake won't output Xvid or avi they abandoned it for MP4 or MKV which are better anyway but not as universally compatible.
    i7 3770, 8Gb RAM, 256Gb SSD, Gigabyte GTX980

  2. #12
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    11,557

    Default Re: Virtualdub/Xvid file size issues

    Yeah - also the editing side of things in VD is very useful. I would normally be very happy to use .mkv but the video needs to be playable on several devices that don't support it - .avi is the easiest for this particular application.

    Just had a thought - don't know why I hadn't thought of this before. I'll try doing the same thing on another PC, and see if I get the same results.
    Last edited by wratterus; 18-04-2012 at 08:47 AM.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  3. #13
    Senior Member BBCmicro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    828

    Default Re: Virtualdub/Xvid file size issues

    I use the free Streamclip for simple editing like topping and tailing, chopping out ads, and repairing the timecode.(even though I've got CS5.5 and Pinnacle14).

    I save the Streamclip output as mpg and later convert to x264 in XmediaRecode. But apparently Streamclip can save as x264, as this Google screenshot shows:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Streamclip.jpg 
Views:	19 
Size:	46.4 KB 
ID:	3739  
    Reality is so important to us that if it didn't exist we would make it up. And we have.

  4. #14
    pcsourcepoint
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Otara, Auckland
    Posts
    2,290

    Default Re: Virtualdub/Xvid file size issues

    There is also virtualdubmod a upgrade, where it incorporated utilities/add-ons. It added more formats, scripts, etc, without users needing to add them for video editing. AviSyth was used a a lot with Virtualdub and also for TMPGEnc. I never used the new mod, but I would think would be easier, faster for editing, than when I used to add manual scripts with Avisyth.
    Last edited by kahawai chaser; 18-04-2012 at 10:27 AM.
    Computer Tech Links (My Tutorials & Reviews)| Free MP3 Software Reviews (My Reviews)

  5. #15
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    11,557

    Default Re: Virtualdub/Xvid file size issues

    Thanks everyone - got plenty to try. I'll report back when I've spent a bit of time with it.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

Similar Threads

  1. Xvid File - No Sound
    By Winston001 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 27-04-2011, 11:48 PM
  2. VirtualDub, Windows 7 x64 and Xvid Codec
    By wratterus in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13-03-2010, 01:49 PM
  3. File Size
    By Brucem in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-08-2008, 12:18 PM
  4. Jpg file size
    By Bryden in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30-03-2005, 09:14 PM
  5. VIrtualDub
    By Synchronised_Thoughts in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 09-12-2002, 11:22 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •