Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
Results 11 to 15 of 15
  1. #11
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4,576

    Default Re: Virtualdub/Xvid file size issues

    Handbrake won't output Xvid or avi they abandoned it for MP4 or MKV which are better anyway but not as universally compatible.
    The ITX game machine; Bitfenix prodigy, 550W PSU, i7 3770, 8Gb RAM, 256Gb SSD, R9 290

  2. #12
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    11,474

    Default Re: Virtualdub/Xvid file size issues

    Yeah - also the editing side of things in VD is very useful. I would normally be very happy to use .mkv but the video needs to be playable on several devices that don't support it - .avi is the easiest for this particular application.

    Just had a thought - don't know why I hadn't thought of this before. I'll try doing the same thing on another PC, and see if I get the same results.
    Last edited by wratterus; 18-04-2012 at 09:47 AM.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  3. #13
    Senior Member BBCmicro's Avatar
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    735

    Default Re: Virtualdub/Xvid file size issues

    I use the free Streamclip for simple editing like topping and tailing, chopping out ads, and repairing the timecode.(even though I've got CS5.5 and Pinnacle14).

    I save the Streamclip output as mpg and later convert to x264 in XmediaRecode. But apparently Streamclip can save as x264, as this Google screenshot shows:
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	Streamclip.jpg 
Views:	15 
Size:	46.4 KB 
ID:	3739  
    I might not always be here. - not Dr Piers Crispin

  4. #14
    pcsourcepoint
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Otara, Auckland
    Posts
    2,211

    Default Re: Virtualdub/Xvid file size issues

    There is also virtualdubmod a upgrade, where it incorporated utilities/add-ons. It added more formats, scripts, etc, without users needing to add them for video editing. AviSyth was used a a lot with Virtualdub and also for TMPGEnc. I never used the new mod, but I would think would be easier, faster for editing, than when I used to add manual scripts with Avisyth.
    Last edited by kahawai chaser; 18-04-2012 at 11:27 AM.
    Computer Tech Links (My Tutorials & Reviews)| Free MP3 Software Reviews (My Reviews)

  5. #15
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    11,474

    Default Re: Virtualdub/Xvid file size issues

    Thanks everyone - got plenty to try. I'll report back when I've spent a bit of time with it.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

Similar Threads

  1. Xvid File - No Sound
    By Winston001 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 28-04-2011, 12:48 AM
  2. VirtualDub, Windows 7 x64 and Xvid Codec
    By wratterus in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 13-03-2010, 02:49 PM
  3. File Size
    By Brucem in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 22-08-2008, 01:18 PM
  4. Jpg file size
    By Bryden in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 30-03-2005, 10:14 PM
  5. VIrtualDub
    By Synchronised_Thoughts in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 10-12-2002, 12:22 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •