Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

Default No Local Area Connection Showing in Network Connections

OK Here goes I am new to these things so see if I can work it out. I have looked through 100's of threads on helping me out and finding fixing all to no avail yet.
    I have a Compaq CQ61 Laptop (more specs are available if you want them). I want to connect directly to my modem via Ethernet cable but when I plug the cable into the modem and laptop no lights blink no connections come up nothing. I know it's a working connection because I can connect with another laptop. Under Network Connections there is no Local Area Connection showing. Now I have done 100 things to get it to show up but it doesn't seem to work. I suppose my question is am I able to connect this way or not? On the Compaq support page specs say network card is 10 /100 integrated. I am at my wits end! Is the network card stuffed or what.
    Also running Windows 7 Home Premium

Any help or suggestions would be greatly appreciated. Many Thanks in advance

Default Re: No Local Area Connection Showing in Network Connections

Is it enabled in device manager?

No shows no sign of it only shows Atheros AR9285 802.11b/g/n WiFi Adapter which i connect through with a wireless connection no problems.

If its not in device manager, its either not enabled in the BIOS. Or the drivers may not be installed properly. Or its dead
    Last edited by Speedy Gonzales; 11-02-2012 at 05:43 PM.

I have enabled what it says as network card in the BIOS will check exactly what it says and re post, I have re installed the drivers from HP and the Realtek RTL8102E/8103E Family NIC Driver last time from memory I think said it could not find the device. How do I find out if it's dead can I open it up and look? and what would I be looking for? Thanks

Just checked BIOS and it only had Under Boot Options Internal Network Adapter Boot I enabled this still no luck.
    Last edited by missa; 11-02-2012 at 05:58 PM.