Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    May 2011
    Posts
    1

    Default Connect Thomson and Netcomm wireless modem/routers

    Hi,

    I have a telecom Thomson wireless modem router that cuts out and resets the internet connection intermittantly (1-4 times daily) but provides a great wireless signal, and a Netcomm NB6plus4 that seems great as a modem but hopeless on the wireless side of things....So is it possible to link these so that the netcomm does the modem side of things and the Thomson does the wireless??? No doubt something simple but I haven't yet been able to achieve it - thanks in advance,


    Koru

  2. #2
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    13,365

    Default Re: Connect Thomson and Netcomm wireless modem/routers

    Maybe, maybe not. In this case I doubt it.

    Devices like these are all connected internally to the inbuilt ADSL modem and have no provision for an external WAN connection and nor is the firmware likely to support anything like that either.

    What would work is your router + a standalone WiFi AP


    However your problems may be solved by upgrading the firmware on your router(s) and\or upgrading your WiFi card drivers.
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  3. #3
    Got vtec? Alex B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    1,274

    Default Re: Connect Thomson and Netcomm wireless modem/routers

    I see no reason why it wouldn't work. Turn off DHCP on one of the devices and give it a static address in the same address range as the other device. I personally would make the DSL device your DHCP server also.

  4. #4
    amateur expert dugimodo's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2005
    Posts
    4,399

    Default Re: Connect Thomson and Netcomm wireless modem/routers

    I thought the NB6plus4 range were supposed to be good for wireless as well as DSL, perhaps you could attach a better Aerial to it. Although the Thompson is Wireless N and the Netcomm is probably only wireless G.

    No one will officially admit to it but it seems this is a common problem with the Thompsons, mine is now sitting on a shelf as a backup for much the same reason. Some forums suggest standing it on it's end to help with airflow makes it more stable.
    The ITX game machine; Bitfenix prodigy, 550W PSU, i7 3770, 8Gb RAM, 256Gb SSD, R9 290

  5. #5
    Computer "Specialist" Agent_24's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    13,365

    Default Re: Connect Thomson and Netcomm wireless modem/routers

    Quote Originally Posted by Alex B View Post
    I see no reason why it wouldn't work. Turn off DHCP on one of the devices and give it a static address in the same address range as the other device. I personally would make the DSL device your DHCP server also.
    But that would assume the inbuilt switch and WiFi AP will accept and forward DHCP from an external server and not just its internal one

    Quote Originally Posted by dugimodo View Post
    No one will officially admit to it but it seems this is a common problem with the Thompsons, mine is now sitting on a shelf as a backup for much the same reason. Some forums suggest standing it on it's end to help with airflow makes it more stable.
    Maybe bad capacitors? Anyone want to donate one? For science?
    Non-system disk or disk error. Replace and strike any key when ready.

  6. #6
    Old guy
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    1,149

    Default Re: Connect Thomson and Netcomm wireless modem/routers

    I am using a NB6plus4 here with no problem whatever. Maybe yours is faulty. As already suggested try putting the latest firmware on it.

  7. #7
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    16,207

    Default Re: Connect Thomson and Netcomm wireless modem/routers

    Yeah just change the wireless settings, it's *bound* to be one of the options that's set which is killing performance / range. The NB6Plus4Wn has usually pretty darn good range. Better than the Thomson in all my experience at least
    My tech blog with How-To's, product reviews and general ravings!

    My thoughts on routers and reliability

    Before you ask a question, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

    For an ISP that's dedicated to Naked VDSL2 & UFB, flat-rate, at an affordable price, check out www.whiteice.co.nz

  8. #8
    Office Goddess ollieogg's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Dunners
    Posts
    189

    Default Re: Connect Thomson and Netcomm wireless modem/routers

    I have a thompson one as well and it has started to boot me off on a regular basis. When its going it is great.. I would love to know why it plays up tho
    Chance is the path God takes when he wishes to remain anonymous.
    Albert Einstein.

  9. #9
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    16,207

    Default Re: Connect Thomson and Netcomm wireless modem/routers

    Unfortunately they're just crap pieces of hardware....
    My tech blog with How-To's, product reviews and general ravings!

    My thoughts on routers and reliability

    Before you ask a question, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

    For an ISP that's dedicated to Naked VDSL2 & UFB, flat-rate, at an affordable price, check out www.whiteice.co.nz

Similar Threads

  1. Thomson wireless modem
    By accountant in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 23-02-2010, 08:55 PM
  2. Connect 2 Wireless Routers?
    By Curbd in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 07-09-2008, 05:33 PM
  3. Replies: 5
    Last Post: 13-08-2008, 01:35 PM
  4. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 06-05-2008, 11:30 PM
  5. Wireless modem routers.
    By Timbo in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 21-10-2007, 11:09 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •