Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 14
  1. #1
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18

    Default Blocking Websites from Router/Modem

    I have a Dynalink RTA1025W Modem - which enables Wireless Broadband...

    Am wanting to block certain websites - youtube for one - but I cannot figure out how to block it on the router - so all computers cannot access youtube.

    I found IP Filtering on the Router Settings - and entered all IP addresses I knew of youtube which was 74.125.224.170 to 175 as well as 74.125.224.160 to 169 inclusive...

    But that didnt work and its starting to drive me INSANE!!...

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    43,064

    Default Re: Blocking Websites from Router/Modem

    See if theres a url filtering / domain option in the router

  3. #3
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Blocking Websites from Router/Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by Speedy Gonzales View Post
    See if theres a url filtering / domain option in the router
    it doesnt - i cant find anything...

    google brings up sites that says my modem has URL filtering OPTIONAL....but for the life of me - i cant figure out what that means or anything...

  4. #4
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Blocking Websites from Router/Modem

    update - i've managed to find more IP addresses of youtube...and managed to get it blocked on 2 computers - just got 1 more to go apparently each computer uses a different IP address to access youtube..
    so had to go to cmd. and do a ping www.youtube.com
    found that 1 computer was using 74.125.237.71 and one was using 74.125.237.70 so i've blocked the 70 to 75 range and when other laptop comes back hopefully that was using one of these ranges otherwise will do a ping
    so think i have got it sorted!

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Blocking Websites from Router/Modem

    hmm i spoke way too soon - just had to reboot other computer - and unfortunately youtube can now load - its found another IP address

    this is not gonna work if i have to reenter IP addresses forever...

    anyone got any alternatives?

  6. #6
    Senior Member pine-o-cleen's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,269

    Default Re: Blocking Websites from Router/Modem

    You could modify the hosts file on each computer to redirect from youtube to google for example.

  7. #7
    Misc. User of PressF1 somebody's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    5,198

    Default Re: Blocking Websites from Router/Modem

    For large sites like Youtube it is difficult to use your approach.

    Does the modem/router you're using allow you to create DNS entries which override the records for youtube.com from your ISP's DNS server? If not, try something like http://www.opendns.com/
    Any views expressed here are my own and do not necessarily represent the views of my employer or any affiliated 3rd party.

  8. #8
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Apr 2011
    Posts
    18

    Default Re: Blocking Websites from Router/Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by pine-o-cleen View Post
    You could modify the hosts file on each computer to redirect from youtube to google for example.
    that was my 1st option but unfortunately its not possible - due to restricted access to those computers - so cannot do that..

    Would prefer to do it on the router so i know its non-changeable without my authorisation

  9. #9
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    43,064

    Default Re: Blocking Websites from Router/Modem

    Unless its got the option in the router, you may have to buy another modem / router with the url filtering option on / in it

  10. #10
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Jun 2006
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    445

    Default Re: Blocking Websites from Router/Modem

    Quote Originally Posted by sportsboy83 View Post
    that was my 1st option but unfortunately its not possible - due to restricted access to those computers - so cannot do that..

    Would prefer to do it on the router so i know its non-changeable without my authorisation
    get a new router, or try new firmware ROM on your current router

Similar Threads

  1. Blocking websites
    By deno240 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 31
    Last Post: 23-08-2010, 02:09 PM
  2. TelstraClear blocking users from certain websites
    By shermo in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 8
    Last Post: 10-07-2008, 06:16 PM
  3. Blocking websites....
    By KiwiMR2 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 13
    Last Post: 05-11-2006, 08:55 AM
  4. Telecom Blocking Websites
    By Reevey in forum PressF1
    Replies: 11
    Last Post: 20-07-2004, 04:36 PM
  5. Blocking websites
    By vrx22 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 30-10-2003, 03:33 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •