Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 16
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    270

    Default Windows cant communicate with DNS server

    Randomly, i will lose my ability to browse the web because windows decides it cant communicate with the DNS server(set to automatic configuration).

    Ive tried :

    -Restarting my modem

    -Restarting the adapter under device manager

    -Doing ipconfig /release, flushdns, renew in command prompt

    -Manually selecting a DNS server, both opendns ones and the one my ISP uses

    But nothing actually fixes it unless i restart my PC, at which point i get ability to browse the web again.

    What is going on?

  2. #2
    Computer Technician wainuitech's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    19,826

    Default Re: Windows cant communicate with DNS server

    Sounds, esp from the last comment
    But nothing actually fixes it unless i restart my PC
    The PC possibly may be losing the connection to the router.

    Can you access the router settings when you lose the Internet without restarting the PC ?
    MURPHIES LAW THOUGH ILLOGICAL as per NORMAL IS ACTUALLY THE MOST LOGICAL SOLUTION OF ALL.

    New Forum

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    270

    Default Re: Windows cant communicate with DNS server

    I do not have a router.

  4. #4
    mikebartnz
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Wairarapa
    Posts
    5,554

    Default Re: Windows cant communicate with DNS server

    Are you on dialup?
    Computers are like Air Conditioners, they stop working when you open Windows.

  5. #5
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    May 2010
    Posts
    270

    Default Re: Windows cant communicate with DNS server

    No, im using cable.

    Im not actually losing internet entirely. I can do stuff like chat on MSN messenger and IRC, but i cant browse the web, because DNS is unavailable.

  6. #6
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    42,883

    Default Re: Windows cant communicate with DNS server

    Could be a firewall prob if youre using one.

  7. #7
    Junior Member WarNox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2005
    Posts
    663

    Default Re: Windows cant communicate with DNS server

    If you do 'ipconfig /all' and get the IP address of the DNS server, can you ping the dns server?

    Alternatively, go into your connection settings and set the DNS server manually, if you're with Orcon you can use 60.234.1.1 or ...2.2.
    OS: Win7 x64 CPU: Intel Q9550 Motherboard: GA-X48-DS5 Memory: 8gb Video: Gigabyte 560ti Monitor: BenQ E2200HD

  8. #8
    Network Engineer SolMiester's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Napier
    Posts
    8,169

    Default Re: Windows cant communicate with DNS server

    Open DNS
    * 208.67.222.222
    * 208.67.220.220
    HOME-LianLi PC-9F,ASRock P67Pro3, i5 2500k @4Ghz, 8Gb HyperX, ASUS GTX660 OC, Corsair Force 120 SSD, HP zIPS22", HOME SERVER HP ML110G6 HOST-Plex\Ubuntu\8

  9. #9
    IT Contractor
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Posts
    2,497

    Default Re: Windows cant communicate with DNS server

    Quote Originally Posted by Question View Post
    Ive tried :

    -Manually selecting a DNS server, both opendns ones and the one my ISP uses
    When you have the issue, can you run "nslookup" from a command prompt and see what results you get from looking up, say, google.co.nz or other common domains?
    Windows 7 x64 // i5-3570K // 16GB DDR3-1600 // GTX660Ti 2GB // Samsung 830 120GB SSD // OCZ Agility4 120GB SSD
    Windows 7 x64 // Phenom II 955 // 8GB DDR3-1333 // GTX460 1GB // Corsair Force3 120GB SSD
    Samsung Galaxy S4 GT-I9505

  10. #10
    Got vtec? Alex B's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    1,291

    Default Re: Windows cant communicate with DNS server

    Quote Originally Posted by SolMiester View Post
    Open DNS
    * 208.67.222.222
    * 208.67.220.220

    Yeap try set your own DNS. I prefer google because I can remember it:
    8.8.8.8 and 8.8.4.4

Similar Threads

  1. Windows Server
    By AZ1 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 13-05-2010, 04:24 PM
  2. Logitech Communicate STX and Ubuntu
    By aidanmaz in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24-06-2008, 05:56 PM
  3. HELP. Windows server 2003 + Terminal Server
    By cityhunter2000 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 12-08-2005, 12:36 PM
  4. Getting two ADSL Routers to communicate?
    By Azrael in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-10-2003, 03:55 PM
  5. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17-09-2003, 08:42 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •