Results 1 to 8 of 8
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    2,672

    Default Webcam resolution for Skype

    For Skype usage, is there any point in going higher than vga res? For another $15 you can get an 'HD' version but all I have ever seen on Skype is terrible pixellated crap which I put down to the low ADSL upload speed.

    Is this pixellation inevitable or is it that I don't know how to set it up properly?

    TIA for your enlightenment.

  2. #2
    Generic Member The Error Guy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2008
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    3,601

    Default Re: Webcam resolution for Skype

    Skype will automatically set your resolution based on speed so if your line gets busy and can't support the ammount of bandwith for HD, you're screwed.

    try somewhere with "blazing fast" internet (if you can) and see if quality improves. if it doesn't get better than maybe you could try a better webcam.

    For nice smooth video get something with a high framerate, that way you won't blur or have choppy video, somthing that will give a good framerate and nice pic quality is the PS3 eye running with the CL Eye drivers from http://codelaboratories.com/downloads/ the PS3 eye is also good for making multi touch tables but you don't want that
    The Master Of Deception


    >~~ i7 Sandy Bridge 2630QM 2.0GHz ~~ 4GB RAM ~~ATI 6770M 1Gb~~ 640gb Pri HDD 1tb Secnd~~<

  3. #3
    Senior Member mark1978's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jun 2008
    Location
    Bay of Plenty
    Posts
    546

    Default Re: Webcam resolution for Skype

    I have a 1.3 mega pixel Logitech one, works perfectly, picture is crystal clear :-) Hope this helps

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    2,672

    Default Re: Webcam resolution for Skype

    Thanks, guys. Looks like I need to do some testing with another Skype user to get a better idea about pic quality. I thought my bad experiences were because of up bandwidth. Yours sounds good, Mark.

  5. #5
    Junior Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    539

    Default Re: Webcam resolution for Skype

    Quote Originally Posted by linw View Post
    Thanks, guys. Looks like I need to do some testing with another Skype user to get a better idea about pic quality. I thought my bad experiences were because of up bandwidth. Yours sounds good, Mark.
    Hello linw. I use Skype here with a Logitech camera. As you say, u/l speed is very important.

    Would you like to do a test?

  6. #6

    Default Re: Webcam resolution for Skype

    Quote Originally Posted by mark1978 View Post
    I have a 1.3 mega pixel Logitech one, works perfectly, picture is crystal clear :-) Hope this helps
    What model please?

    TIA

  7. #7
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2007
    Posts
    735

    Default Re: Webcam resolution for Skype

    Mind you, Your webcam won't make any difference to the picture you recieve!!

  8. #8
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Jan 2005
    Location
    Plimmerton
    Posts
    2,672

    Default Re: Webcam resolution for Skype

    Quote Originally Posted by PPp View Post
    Mind you, Your webcam won't make any difference to the picture you recieve!!
    Very true!! In my case, a 'vaselined' image is to be recommended, anyway!

Similar Threads

  1. Webcam for Skype
    By John Robb in forum PressF1
    Replies: 17
    Last Post: 28-05-2010, 07:41 PM
  2. Webcam for Skype
    By learning in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 19-10-2009, 04:33 PM
  3. Webcam and Skype
    By henzel in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 30-04-2009, 04:18 PM
  4. Webcam for Skype
    By arjay in forum PressF1
    Replies: 5
    Last Post: 10-01-2009, 07:56 AM
  5. Skype with webcam
    By Woody in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 17-11-2008, 11:10 AM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •