Results 1 to 7 of 7

Hybrid View

  1. #1
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,061

    Question How do I use SD Card for swap file?

    I have a shortage of space on my Asus 701 with a 4 gb ssd.
    I have a 8 gb SD Card which I wish to move the swap file to, this would also save the SSD from wear & tear.

    How can I persuade Windows (xp or W7) to use a "removable drive". It accepts the setting but reverts as soon as it is rebooted.

    I have considered compressing the drive, but a bit hesitant in doing this to a SSD.

    Any suggestions?

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,624

    Default Re: How do I use SD Card for swap file?

    One reason why its not a good idea

    http://wiki.answers.com/Q/Can_you_us...ile_on_windows

  3. #3
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,124

    Default Re: How do I use SD Card for swap file?

    I wouldn't bother, it's not worth it. Turn it off or use a smaller one if you need the HDD space.

    Read this, from Sandisk:
    http://www.sandisk.com/Assets/File/O...rLevelv1.0.pdf

  4. #4
    Forgot my login from 1962 jareemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Central Australia
    Posts
    1,162

    Default Re: How do I use SD Card for swap file?

    I read somewhere that it shouldnt really be turned off because some apps actually look specifically for the swap file?
    i7 3770K // GTX680 // Intel 520 // Colossus White // Ultrasharp U2711 // SP-2500 // Mamba

  5. #5
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,124

    Default Re: How do I use SD Card for swap file?

    Yeah AFAIK Photoshop does for example. Running Photoshop on a Netbook may not be the brightest move, but each to their own.

    Make it something like 5MB, then there's a registry setting that you can set somewhere to tell it not to ***** and moan every 5 minutes in the Systray about it wanting to grow the file.

    Performance impact: TBA!

  6. #6
    Short Member pcuser42's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2006
    Location
    Papakura
    Posts
    9,833

    Default Re: How do I use SD Card for swap file?

    I maxed out the RAM in my Eee (to 2GB) before turning off the swap file altogether, this way Windows still has plenty of RAM to use before it chokes.

    Seeing the free space increase from ~500MB to 2.5GB is brilliant
    "He who resorts to personal insults hath lost the argument."

    Twitter

  7. #7
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Posts
    2,061

    Smile Re: How do I use SD Card for swap file?

    The XP works fine with no swap file & 1gb RAM.
    I will try the W7 (pruned) with 2gb RAM when I have some spare cash to waste.

    I have been trying Puppeee Linux 4.2. Very fast but the sound driver is not
    too good. The Microphone is weak, also Skype is very old version.

Similar Threads

  1. Swap 2 gig micro sd card for 512 mb
    By Ferg in forum PC World Chat
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 07-09-2008, 05:46 PM
  2. swap file
    By yingxuan in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 12-10-2003, 06:16 PM
  3. swap file
    By yingxuan in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 17-09-2003, 12:29 PM
  4. Swap FIle
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 15-03-2001, 08:48 PM
  5. Swap file
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 07-12-1998, 10:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •