Results 1 to 9 of 9
  1. #1
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,089

    Default multiple chrome.exe*32 in taskmanager

    installed v8 of google chrome and thought i'd open up taskmanager.

    only one window of chrome is open but in taskmanager there's 5 entries
    http://www.imagef1.net.nz/files/chrome1287282776.jpg

    this normal??
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    43,000

    Default Re: multiple chrome.exe*32 in taskmanager

    Probably makes it faster somehow

  3. #3
    Just visiting this planet SoniKalien's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2010
    Posts
    497

    Default Re: multiple chrome.exe*32 in taskmanager

    with a V8 shouldn't there be 8 entries?
    DefCom - NZ Deaf Community
    SoniKalien Creative (and destructive)

  4. #4
    Forgot my login from 1962 jareemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Central Australia
    Posts
    1,162

    Default Re: multiple chrome.exe*32 in taskmanager

    your recycle bin icon is tiny!
    i7 3770K // GTX680 // Intel 520 // Colossus White // Ultrasharp U2711 // SP-2500 // Mamba

  5. #5
    Forgot my login from 1962 jareemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Central Australia
    Posts
    1,162

    Default Re: multiple chrome.exe*32 in taskmanager

    The reason for multiple Chrome.exe processes being listed in the task manager is that each Chrome tab is treated as it's own individual process for safety reasons etc, and therefore, is treated as such.
    (source http://www.google.com/support/forum/...7c5ac9db&hl=en )
    Im guessing the other threads may be reserved for when you do open new tabs, just a theory though
    i7 3770K // GTX680 // Intel 520 // Colossus White // Ultrasharp U2711 // SP-2500 // Mamba

  6. #6
    Senior Member GameJunkie's Avatar
    Join Date
    Oct 2008
    Location
    64 Bitville
    Posts
    5,089

    Default Re: multiple chrome.exe*32 in taskmanager

    Quote Originally Posted by jareemon View Post
    your recycle bin icon is tiny!
    Yeah, its the only icon on my screen.

    i like to keep it simplistic
    Speed has never killed anyone, suddenly becoming stationary... That's what gets you.


    JOIN THE FREE FORUMS!!!!!!

  7. #7
    Crossmember feersumendjinn's Avatar
    Join Date
    Feb 2007
    Location
    J'ville
    Posts
    2,513

    Default Re: multiple chrome.exe*32 in taskmanager

    Quote Originally Posted by jareemon View Post
    your recycle bin icon is tiny!
    To get that effect, select any desktop icon, press CTRL and roll your mouse scroll wheel (works in Vista and 7, not XP though).
    "...anyone who expects a source of power from the transformation
    of these atoms is talking moonshine..."
    - Ernest Rutherford (1871-1937)

    --------------------------

    Heck is a place for people who don't believe in gosh.

  8. #8
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    16,278

    Default Re: multiple chrome.exe*32 in taskmanager

    jareemon is right, but it also includes plugins such as Flash
    My tech blog with How-To's, product reviews and general ravings!

    My thoughts on routers and reliability

    Before you ask a question, or before you get upset by a response, see here:
    http://www.catb.org/~esr/faqs/smart-...ons.html#intro

    For an ISP that's dedicated to Naked VDSL2 & UFB, flat-rate, at an affordable price, check out www.whiteice.co.nz

  9. #9
    Forgot my login from 1962 jareemon's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2005
    Location
    Central Australia
    Posts
    1,162

    Default Re: multiple chrome.exe*32 in taskmanager

    Quote Originally Posted by feersumendjinn View Post
    To get that effect, select any desktop icon, press CTRL and roll your mouse scroll wheel (works in Vista and 7, not XP though).
    wow, thanks for that, now my recycle bin is taking up a quarter of the screen
    i7 3770K // GTX680 // Intel 520 // Colossus White // Ultrasharp U2711 // SP-2500 // Mamba

Similar Threads

  1. Shortut Key for Taskmanager
    By berryb in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 20-01-2010, 10:50 PM
  2. Replies: 6
    Last Post: 26-04-2009, 06:09 PM
  3. GoogleUpdate.ex in my taskmanager
    By lightfoot500 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 20
    Last Post: 20-02-2009, 08:40 PM
  4. help weeding out taskmanager entries
    By Morgenmuffel in forum PressF1
    Replies: 6
    Last Post: 24-06-2005, 05:45 PM
  5. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 14-12-2002, 04:56 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •