Results 1 to 7 of 7
  1. #1
    Correct my English!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cycling somewhere
    Posts
    6,236

    Default How to auto-update "figure number" as more figures are added (Word)

    Hey all,

    On a Microsoft Word document, I have got several figures placed in them. Each of the figures has been labeled with a caption "Figure X: ____" using the "Insert Caption" feature under "References". "X" is a number that is auto-generated by Microsoft Word, which is "X + 1" of the previous figure.

    The problem that I am facing right now is that when a figure is removed, Microsoft Word doesn't automatically reupdate "X". Using an example to illustrate the situation better:

    Figures: 1, 2, 3, 4, 5, 6
    When figure 3 has been removed, Microsoft Word doesn't push up figure 4 to 3 --> i.e.

    Figures: 1, 2, 4, 5, 6
    IT'S BUGGING ME!

    Free, 24/7 telephone health advice service | Healthline - 0800 611 116

    Smoking KILLS. Don't let your life be ruled by cigarettes. | Quitline - 0800 778 778 ‎

    Join the unofficial PressF1 WCG team!



  2. #2
    Pedantic & Cynical Member Snorkbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tokoroa, NZ
    Posts
    4,438

    Default Re: How to auto-update "figure number" as more figures are added (Word)

    Which version of Word and is this a numbered list like bulleted except numbered or what?

  3. #3
    Human
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: How to auto-update "figure number" as more figures are added (Word)

    From the Microsoft Word Help:

    "By default, Word automatically updates fields when a document is opened. That way, information stays up to date.

    To manually update all the fields in the main body of a document, press CTRL+A, and then press F9. Fields in headers, footers, or text boxes must be updated separately. Click within the header, footer, or text box, press CTRL+A, and then press F9."

  4. #4
    Correct my English!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cycling somewhere
    Posts
    6,236

    Default Re: How to auto-update "figure number" as more figures are added (Word)

    That sounds like a solution that I am looking for, stevie_boy. Thanks

    Snorkbox: Word 2007, with auto numbering generated at the front page (i.e "List of Figures")

    Free, 24/7 telephone health advice service | Healthline - 0800 611 116

    Smoking KILLS. Don't let your life be ruled by cigarettes. | Quitline - 0800 778 778 ‎

    Join the unofficial PressF1 WCG team!



  5. #5
    pcsourcepoint
    Join Date
    May 2006
    Location
    Otara, Auckland
    Posts
    2,203

    Default Re: How to auto-update "figure number" as more figures are added (Word)

    The above mentioned should work; Another way might be to insert a cross reference (to a reference type - including bookmarked text/items), in some situations. Bit tricky to explain - but maybe worth looking up.
    Computer Tech Links (My Tutorials & Reviews)| Free MP3 Software Reviews (My Reviews)

  6. #6
    Correct my English!
    Join Date
    Feb 2005
    Location
    Cycling somewhere
    Posts
    6,236

    Default Re: How to auto-update "figure number" as more figures are added (Word)

    Quote Originally Posted by stevie_boy View Post
    From the Microsoft Word Help:

    "By default, Word automatically updates fields when a document is opened. That way, information stays up to date.

    To manually update all the fields in the main body of a document, press CTRL+A, and then press F9. Fields in headers, footers, or text boxes must be updated separately. Click within the header, footer, or text box, press CTRL+A, and then press F9."
    Thanks, that works. Back to my dissertation.

    Free, 24/7 telephone health advice service | Healthline - 0800 611 116

    Smoking KILLS. Don't let your life be ruled by cigarettes. | Quitline - 0800 778 778 ‎

    Join the unofficial PressF1 WCG team!



  7. #7
    Human
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    20

    Default Re: How to auto-update "figure number" as more figures are added (Word)

    Quote Originally Posted by Jamuz View Post
    Thanks, that works. Back to my dissertation.
    No worries. Good luck

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 8
    Last Post: 01-06-2009, 06:58 PM
  2. Failure of daily auto "System Restore" point
    By mccurdy552 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 3
    Last Post: 29-11-2008, 12:08 AM
  3. Replies: 10
    Last Post: 07-12-2006, 10:17 PM
  4. Replies: 1
    Last Post: 24-05-2005, 10:17 PM
  5. ASUS mobo "PCB Revision number"
    By Tony in forum PressF1
    Replies: 2
    Last Post: 09-05-2005, 05:36 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •