Results 1 to 6 of 6
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2007
    Posts
    115

    Smile Resetting DVD burner

    Is it possible to reset the DVD Region on CD/DVD burner? It is on Region 4 and isn't working.

  2. #2
    Soaring like an Eagle gary67's Avatar
    Join Date
    Aug 2007
    Location
    Surounded by Turkeys
    Posts
    11,843

    Default Re: Resetting DVD burner

    Can you try using a free video program such as VLC or Media player classic?
    If it is not broke, don't make it broker by trying to make it better. (This applies specifically to PJ)

    Brook Waimarama sanctuary
    3D printing

  3. #3
    Pedantic & Cynical Member Snorkbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tokoroa, NZ
    Posts
    4,438

    Default Re: Resetting DVD burner

    You may be able to get updated firmware. What make and model is it?

  4. #4
    Pedantic & Cynical Member Snorkbox's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2010
    Location
    Tokoroa, NZ
    Posts
    4,438

    Default Re: Resetting DVD burner

    Missed the edit period but I was able to change the firmware on mine and it went to Region 2 and I can change it back to 4 which it was locked at before I did the upgrade. It should work on 4 anyway if you are playing Reg 4 videos or region free videos.

  5. #5
    Yup. That IS a typo. 8ftmetalhaed's Avatar
    Join Date
    Jan 2009
    Location
    Te Atatu South, Auckland
    Posts
    1,264

    Default Re: Resetting DVD burner

    On my dvd burner in my pc I flashed the firmware in my pc and it let me change the region up to 4 or 5 times but then I could reset the counter using the alternative flash utility. I believe I left it alone after a few times because apparently it can break the drive sometimes, but meh. It's about 40 bucks for a dvd drive.

    The only reason I did it was because believe it or not, I bought 2 nz dvd's and they had different region codes. (one was region two....)
    pc: i5 750 8GB ddr3 xfx 5770 Gbyte UD4P55 1TB WD Green, OCZ Vertex 4 64g SSD CoolMast Glad 600 case w/500 W PSU
    Laptop: Gateway i5 430M 4GB DDR3 ATI 5470 512mb 750gb HDD 15" 768p LED panel

  6. #6
    Button Poker
    Join Date
    Jul 2008
    Location
    Wellington
    Posts
    233

    Default Re: Resetting DVD burner

    Posts by me should be treated as ideas,Not instructions. Thanks.

Similar Threads

  1. Windows keeps resetting itself!!!!
    By systm in forum PressF1
    Replies: 10
    Last Post: 28-04-2007, 01:59 PM
  2. Resetting my IE settings.
    By nomad in forum PressF1
    Replies: 27
    Last Post: 03-11-2004, 10:10 PM
  3. resetting desktop
    By geepee in forum PressF1
    Replies: 9
    Last Post: 26-02-2003, 09:49 AM
  4. Muntiple resetting
    By Bill Munden in forum PressF1
    Replies: 4
    Last Post: 05-07-2002, 11:34 PM
  5. resetting twins
    By in forum PressF1
    Replies: 0
    Last Post: 21-06-1999, 08:12 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •