Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
Results 1 to 10 of 13
  1. #1
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,725

    Default How can I enable GPU acceleration in Media Player Classic?

    I used to have it working fine - played 1080p with no trouble, but I had to reinstall windows and now I can't remember how I did it! I've spent the last hour on google and had no luck and I tried the latest VLC beta but didnt seem to work too well.

    Any help would be greatly appreciated!

  2. #2
    Member
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    NZ
    Posts
    44,643

    Default Re: How can I enable GPU acceleration in Media Player Classic?

    Did you install the chipset and video drivers?

  3. #3
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Aug 2009
    Posts
    1,725

    Default Re: How can I enable GPU acceleration in Media Player Classic?

    Yep installed the ATI catalyst drivers before.

    Are they the ones you mean?

  4. #4
    Senior Member
    Join Date
    Nov 2006
    Posts
    1,108

    Default Re: How can I enable GPU acceleration in Media Player Classic?

    Don't use VLC, it can't be hardware accelerated. It carries all of its codecs internally.

    Are you using XP or Win 7?
    I think for XP, you select VMR9 renderless
    I think for Vista (and win 7), select EVR custom renderer

  5. #5
    Unknown Device wratterus's Avatar
    Join Date
    Apr 2007
    Location
    Top of the South
    Posts
    12,107

    Default Re: How can I enable GPU acceleration in Media Player Classic?

    Quote Originally Posted by utopian201 View Post
    Don't use VLC, it can't be hardware accelerated. It carries all of its codecs internally.

    Are you using XP or Win 7?
    I think for XP, you select VMR9 renderless
    I think for Vista (and win 7), select EVR custom renderer
    The new VLC beta does. It's a bit hit and miss at this point, but it will improve.
    Microsoft: "You've got questions. We've got dancing paperclips."

  6. #6
    Boulful Sallad goodiesguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    2,855

    Default Re: How can I enable GPU acceleration in Media Player Classic?

    i prefer vlc to media player classic. i like vlc's simplicity but i wish i could add codecs as the klite codec pack would do it nicely
    PC: Intel® Core™ i5-650 3.20 GHz | Intel® Desktop Board DQ57TM | 8GB DDR3 RAM | Radeon HD 4870 | Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

  7. #7
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,126

    Default Re: How can I enable GPU acceleration in Media Player Classic?

    Why? What codecs do you use that VLC doesn't support that the K-Lite Codec Pac does?

    I personally fail to see how VLC is more "simple" than MPC-HC too?

    http://benchmarkreviews.com/index.ph...=407&Itemid=23

  8. #8
    Boulful Sallad goodiesguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    2,855

    Default Re: How can I enable GPU acceleration in Media Player Classic?

    i just prefer vlc's interface. it runs quicker for me too. it plays my dvds fine (after deinterlace---bob)
    PC: Intel® Core™ i5-650 3.20 GHz | Intel® Desktop Board DQ57TM | 8GB DDR3 RAM | Radeon HD 4870 | Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

  9. #9
    Where is Metla these days Chilling_Silence's Avatar
    Join Date
    Dec 2004
    Location
    Auckland
    Posts
    17,126

    Default Re: How can I enable GPU acceleration in Media Player Classic?

    As a personal preference sure, I can understand that, but that still didn't answer how it's simpler, or what codecs K-Lite supports that VLC doesn't support, which you actually use ...

    Both interfaces look almost identical really :-/
    Attached Thumbnails Attached Thumbnails Click image for larger version. 

Name:	MPC-HC vs VLC.jpg 
Views:	653 
Size:	44.1 KB 
ID:	1425  

  10. #10
    Boulful Sallad goodiesguy's Avatar
    Join Date
    Mar 2010
    Location
    Dunedin
    Posts
    2,855

    Default Re: How can I enable GPU acceleration in Media Player Classic?

    i use vlc 0.8.6e as the new one refuses to play my dvds properly. when i play a dvd in the new one it has **** loads of digital artifiactas and literally wont play
    PC: Intel® Core™ i5-650 3.20 GHz | Intel® Desktop Board DQ57TM | 8GB DDR3 RAM | Radeon HD 4870 | Windows 10 Pro 64-Bit

Similar Threads

  1. Replies: 3
    Last Post: 23-03-2009, 08:31 AM
  2. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 29-09-2008, 05:22 PM
  3. media player which can do everything
    By jason_f90 in forum PressF1
    Replies: 1
    Last Post: 19-01-2006, 05:02 PM
  4. Media Player Classic
    By Cicero in forum PressF1
    Replies: 26
    Last Post: 04-05-2005, 02:24 PM
  5. Replies: 2
    Last Post: 01-06-2004, 03:31 PM

Posting Permissions

  • You may not post new threads
  • You may not post replies
  • You may not post attachments
  • You may not edit your posts
  •